12 Reviews

Made per the recipe, the night before as directed. Phew - when I opened in the next evening to serve, the smell of the cauliflower was overwhelming. Flavor didn't quite work for us either - celery and cauliflower were not complimentary. Sorry -

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dianegrapegrower March 28, 2010

I liked this salad very much. Good combination of raw vegetables with salty olives. I kept the salad in a gallon ziploc bag in the fridge, and we have been eating off of it all week. We had to adjust the seasonings to suit our tastes at the table. This meant the addition of a little more salt and a couple splashes of vinegar. Next time I make this, I think I will reduce the amount of water in the dressing and add more vinegar. But that's just personal taste. Thanks for sharing this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef-Boy-I-Be Illinois March 23, 2009

I made this as directed breaking up the florets into really small pieces and marinating overnight. I used some feta-stuffed gourmet green olives that I found and Emiril's Bayou Blast as the seasoning salt as recommended by another reviewer. This was a nice salad, not too vinegary and I liked the fact it used raw vegetables. However the Bayou Blast (it was the first time I had made it) didn't suit the salad as well as I had hoped, and the thyme especially was totally wrong for this particular vegetable combination. I feel an Italian or Greek seasoning might have been better. Perhaps dill or fennel might be another appropriate herb?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Perfectionist cook January 20, 2008

I liked this salad- nice combination of tastes especially with the olives. My husband really liked it but I think I would slightly steam the cauliflower next time. Then they would be a little less crunchy and would absorb the dressing better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sparklebaby March 15, 2007

This was a beautiful salad, tasty with a nice crunch to it too. Reminded me of a health salad I used to buy, with a delicious addition of green olives. Since I like tartness, I reduced the water to 2 tablespoons and the oil to 1 teaspoon since I am into low-fat and the olives had enough. I used seasoned salt as it jazzed up the taste nicely. I could see playing with flavored vinegar and additional seasonings, but I really liked it the way it was too. Thanks Mickie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend June 11, 2005

I did not add the season salt so that left out some of the flavor. I cut off the florets by hand then used my pamper chef chopper to chop up the remaining cauliflower, the carrots and celery. I think I'd like to leave out the water next time I make this. The second day I added some Italian Dressing to help jazz it up.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J November 30, 2004

We both loved this salad. I added Emeril's Bayou Blast #97429 for the seasoning salt and really enjoyed the tartness of the dressing. I found the addition of a bit of feta cheese to be the perfect finish. The leftovers are going to make a great lunch tomorrow.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea October 04, 2004

mickie49,After reading the reviews of this recipe I too added more sugar to it,because I am not one for tart salads,but I loved this salad it was soooo gooood!!! It was a real husband pleaser too,mine loved it.We loved the crunch it had to it.Thanks,Darlene

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darlene Summers June 24, 2004

i followed recipe exactly as written. All the ingredients are favorites of ours so I was sure I had a winner. No one in the family liked it and I tossed the whole salad out. It was just too vinegary for our taste. Perhaps a flavored vinegar would help. I will not make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BoxO'Wine May 27, 2004

What a great flavorful salad. I am low carbing and wanted to try something with a little zip to it instead of just the plain old steamed veggies. This is tart and crunchy which is what I have been missing. I also loved the additions of the colors and I added a little red pepper flakes for color and heat. Great recipe. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just Cher February 15, 2004
Cauliflower Salad