142 Reviews

Let me preface this review by saying I normally hate cauliflower. I've never served it to my kids, and this is the first time in 16 years of marriage that I've made it for my DH.

That said, if it were only me ranking this, I'd give 5 stars. DH said 3, one DS said 4, the others weren't sold on it. I cut them into small bites - definitely smaller than ping pong balls - and let them go the full hour. I also liked the very small (burnt?) pieces that were crunchy. I like that the small pieces lost their texture (which is a big problem I have with cauliflower), and had the dark, roasted flavor. I also salted after roasting - in addition to the salt in the oil. I tried without, and it definitely needed it - and I don't usually salt food.

Be warned - they shrink A LOT! Started out with a very full pan, ended up with less than half when they were done. So have I extracted any bit of nutrition by cutting them small and baking till dark and mostly crunchy? Possibly, but I hope not. I can definitely see me making this again for myself. And I can guarantee this is the only way cauliflower will be served in our house. Yum!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MichMom May 06, 2012

Delicious! I was scared they were burnt, but they tasted delicious. Next time I will reduce the cooking time a bit, and reduce the amount of salt....maybe just adding it at serving. But I have been reducing salt in my diet and am probably overly sensitive. I agree with earlier posters....do not cut the cauliflower into small sizes.....maybe a little larger than ping pong balls.....they really shrink up! The smaller ones dry up. Made for Best of 2010 Tag game! Congrats on being a Best of 2010 Recipe!!! Thanks for sharing.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom February 02, 2011

Like others have posted, I over-coked mine. They still tasted great and I will repost after I make it again. My kids even eat them without complaint (a major victory in our house). One tip for those who are making this for the first time...... do not cut the florets too small. The long cook time will soften the bigger pieces and if they are too small they will dry out..

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
matt_maples September 19, 2010

What a great cooking alternative for cauliflower! I have a daughter with a dairy allergy, so we are a non-cheese sauce family - the usual preferred method to eat cauliflower it seems. This roasted cauliflower was tasty and sweet. My cooking time was a little less, maybe I made my pieces smaller? So easy to make, definitely will make it again

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gretchen_4500452 August 03, 2010

I cannot get enough of this cauliflower. The flavor is very reminiscent of the battered, fried variety my mother used to make back in the day when frying wasn't a no-no. I actually go out of my way to make sure I overcook it a bit, I prefer the flavor when the cauliflower begins to be a very dark brown color and is a bit crispy. This is delicious as is, but once in a great while, I will sprinkle bread crumbs lightly over the cauliflower prior to roasting. Thank you so much for giving me this very healthy option to an old favorite!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PetesNina March 15, 2011

Absolutely fabulous! I've given this recipe out many times. You'll be surprised at how much the cauliflower cooks down. My husband and I can eat a whole head of cauliflower cooked this way because of the shrinkage. I'd recommend making two full heads to feed a family. This is INCREDIBLE tasting. The cooking is spot on. I sometimes add some crushed red pepper or a shake or two of garlic powder...but it's perfect just as it is. A very requested veggie in my house.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedVinoGirl January 18, 2011

Delicious. Lacked a little flavor, so I added garlic powder and ancho chille powder. Then a LIGHT sprinkle of brown sugar half way through cooking. It was amazing. This is a great base recipe.. you can add whatever flavors your family likes!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amanda Jane July 19, 2010

Wonderful! I put a little garlic powder on it, and maybe half of the olive oil that the recipe called for. My husband even liked it, and he is not a vegetable lover!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tara_richmond July 06, 2010

This was a hit at our house! I cut my florets smaller than ping pong ball--but also roasted at 450 and cut the time to about 30 minutes. I salted per the directions and did not need to add extra (and I do like salt). I will definitely be making this again--though maybe a double batch on two jelly roll pans as we all would've enjoyed having more!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dwynnie September 08, 2014

Just made this and wow is this good. It won't last long. I added some Italian seasoning.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Helgaf May 06, 2012
Cauliflower Popcorn - Roasted Cauliflower