Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cauliflower Popcorn - Roasted Cauliflower Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cauliflower Popcorn - Roasted Cauliflower

    Average Rating:

    136 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 136

    Sort by:

    • on May 06, 2012

      Let me preface this review by saying I normally hate cauliflower. I've never served it to my kids, and this is the first time in 16 years of marriage that I've made it for my DH.

      That said, if it were only me ranking this, I'd give 5 stars. DH said 3, one DS said 4, the others weren't sold on it. I cut them into small bites - definitely smaller than ping pong balls - and let them go the full hour. I also liked the very small (burnt?) pieces that were crunchy. I like that the small pieces lost their texture (which is a big problem I have with cauliflower), and had the dark, roasted flavor. I also salted after roasting - in addition to the salt in the oil. I tried without, and it definitely needed it - and I don't usually salt food.

      Be warned - they shrink A LOT! Started out with a very full pan, ended up with less than half when they were done. So have I extracted any bit of nutrition by cutting them small and baking till dark and mostly crunchy? Possibly, but I hope not. I can definitely see me making this again for myself. And I can guarantee this is the only way cauliflower will be served in our house. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2011

      Delicious! I was scared they were burnt, but they tasted delicious. Next time I will reduce the cooking time a bit, and reduce the amount of salt....maybe just adding it at serving. But I have been reducing salt in my diet and am probably overly sensitive. I agree with earlier posters....do not cut the cauliflower into small sizes.....maybe a little larger than ping pong balls.....they really shrink up! The smaller ones dry up. Made for Best of 2010 Tag game! Congrats on being a Best of 2010 Recipe!!! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2010

      Like others have posted, I over-coked mine. They still tasted great and I will repost after I make it again. My kids even eat them without complaint (a major victory in our house). One tip for those who are making this for the first time...... do not cut the florets too small. The long cook time will soften the bigger pieces and if they are too small they will dry out..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2010

      Delicious. Lacked a little flavor, so I added garlic powder and ancho chille powder. Then a LIGHT sprinkle of brown sugar half way through cooking. It was amazing. This is a great base recipe.. you can add whatever flavors your family likes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2012

      Just made this and wow is this good. It won't last long. I added some Italian seasoning.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2011

      Excellent recipe! My husband and I gobbled up the whole batch ourselves! My favorite parts were the smaller crispier, almost burnt parts. Next time I'll cut the pieces smaller so that the whole batch is crispy. I'm also going to look for a popcorn seasoning mix to blend with the olive oil next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2011

      This was awesome. It's my new favorite way to eat Cauliflower & my new favorite snack. I used garlic salt but I can't wait to try other flavored salts. I also put parmesan cheese on 1/2 the last 10 minutes. AWESOME

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2011

      I cannot get enough of this cauliflower. The flavor is very reminiscent of the battered, fried variety my mother used to make back in the day when frying wasn't a no-no. I actually go out of my way to make sure I overcook it a bit, I prefer the flavor when the cauliflower begins to be a very dark brown color and is a bit crispy. This is delicious as is, but once in a great while, I will sprinkle bread crumbs lightly over the cauliflower prior to roasting. Thank you so much for giving me this very healthy option to an old favorite!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2011

      WOW - we don't ever eat cauliflower but this was fabulous! Must make this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2011

      Absolutely fabulous! I've given this recipe out many times. You'll be surprised at how much the cauliflower cooks down. My husband and I can eat a whole head of cauliflower cooked this way because of the shrinkage. I'd recommend making two full heads to feed a family. This is INCREDIBLE tasting. The cooking is spot on. I sometimes add some crushed red pepper or a shake or two of garlic powder...but it's perfect just as it is. A very requested veggie in my house.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2010

      I love the taste this gives the cauliflower. We're having it again tonight! I added some carrots and onions in with it and added garlic powder and chile powder and used half the oil. Yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2010

      What a great cooking alternative for cauliflower! I have a daughter with a dairy allergy, so we are a non-cheese sauce family - the usual preferred method to eat cauliflower it seems. This roasted cauliflower was tasty and sweet. My cooking time was a little less, maybe I made my pieces smaller? So easy to make, definitely will make it again

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      Wonderful! I put a little garlic powder on it, and maybe half of the olive oil that the recipe called for. My husband even liked it, and he is not a vegetable lover!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2010

      Finally tried it and it was yummy. Very interesting I have to say and 1 head only fed 3 adults, it really does shrink up. I will be playnig with this idea now, thanks for sharing! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2014

      This was a hit at our house! I cut my florets smaller than ping pong ball--but also roasted at 450 and cut the time to about 30 minutes. I salted per the directions and did not need to add extra (and I do like salt). I will definitely be making this again--though maybe a double batch on two jelly roll pans as we all would've enjoyed having more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2014

      Yum! Simple recipe - roasted cauliflower - but a great reminder of how delicious this veggie can be.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2014

      I followed the receipe, but was sadly disappointed. If you like the taste of burnt food, this is your snack. What they forgot to tell you is that it will stink up the entire house. So if you are doing it for the first time, use a grill outside. I am not a chef, but do like to try new foods.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2013

      Oh wow, the differences in ovens! I am not recording stars because mine would be two stars at best, for an hour at 425. But I account that to ovens. Mine were almost charred. So know your oven! <br/><br/>With my oven, another recipe I have tried, that worked for me, required only 20-30 minutes at 400 degrees F.<br/><br/>I repeat...KNOW YOUR OVEN. (Mine allegedly is true to temperature.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2013

      This is my favorite way to have cauliflower! I can eat a whole head of this by myself--it is that good! I definitely prefer it more overcooked than not. Makes the house smell, but it's worth it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2013

      Thank you for my new FAVORITE cauliflower recipe! I'd give more than 5 stars if I could. Enough said!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cauliflower Popcorn - Roasted Cauliflower

    Serving Size: 1 (162 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 156.0
     
    Calories from Fat 125
    80%
    Total Fat 13.9 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 625.7 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.3 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites