Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cauliflower Kugel Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cauliflower Kugel

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on February 15, 2003

      Caryn this is a very tasty way to serve cauliflower - I used fresh and only steamed it to a crisp stage and then fine chopped it instead of mashing it - followed the rest of the recipe and the result was a cauliflower kugel that still had some crunch. Thanks for a recipe that I will do again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2003

      This was very tasty! Easy to prepare and a very unique way to serve cauliflower. My daughter especially enjoyed this - she loves cauliflower and she also loves kugels, so I knew we couldn't go wrong with this recipe. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2003

      I fixed this using half a head of cauliflower and 1 Tbsp. soup mix and it was good but almost too strongly flavored. Will use a bit less soup mix next time. I also baked it in a muffin tin (made 6 "muffins")to make portion control easier... I froze three of them. This is very good cold, BTW.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2003

      Wow, Caryn, no wonder you hang out with Mirj, you two must be some dynamic duo in the kitchen! We just loved this! I used two packages of frozen cauliflower and reduced fat mayo. It smelled great when it was cooking, and the whole family just gobbled it. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2003

      This was a great substitute for starch if you want low carb!! I ate it as a meal. I used fat free mayo and it turned out great. Cooking the cauli in the microwave didn't require draining any excess liquid. Fast, easy, healthy and guilt free!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2003

      This kugel was absolutely wonderful. I made a couple of kugels that I didn't care for and I almost didn't try this recipe. I am so glad I did. This was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2003

    • on July 13, 2003

      Made this for dinner the other night. It was so easy to make and we thought it was deliciious. I used fresh cauliflower that I steamed until it was somewhat tender. I mashed it slightly like you suggested and used the full 2 tablespoons onion soup mix. Had great flavor and made a wonderful side dish. Thanks Caryn.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2010

      Wonderful dish! I didn;t have any onion soup mix, so i substituted Ranch mix. It is a great option!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2004

      I've never made a kugel before, so I wasn't sure what to expect. When it came out of the oven, it looked a little like scrambled eggs and cauliflower. But then I tasted it! Wow! Was it tasty! The texture was a tad odd (but I might have done something wrong...), but the flavor was good. Can't go wrong with onion soup mix. Also...a note to future makers: 2 Tablespoons of soup mix is one packet of Lipton brand onion soup mix, just so you know.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2004

      This was a great low carb side dish for our dinner on friday. I cooked the cauliflower in the microwave and I found it ended up a little dry. I think the added moisture from steaming or boiling might added to the kugel's texture. The flavour was very good. Thanks Caryn!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2003

      This was a delicious recipe! I used fresh cauliflower which I microwaved and it was so easy and a really lovely sidedish. It could be made ahead too for one less thing to fiddle with while company was visiting. Thank you for posting Caryn. This will be a family favorite. Cheers. Bet

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2003

      Delicious! A great side for us low-carbers!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2010

      Delicious side dish! I did add some caramelized onions and a crumb topping from another recipe, but the essence is right here in this recipe. I tried to leave half chunkier, and half softer/mashed. We all like cauliflower, but I can see where detractors might really enjoy this anyway. Many thanks for the recipe; I am off to make another one for a potluck!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2010

      This reminds me of my cauliflower patties, and that is why I like it so much. I especially like the creaminess the mayonnaise gave to the recipe, as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      Not bad, especially for a low carb dish. I think next time I won't cook the cauliflower as long as some others wrote and it will have some bite to it then.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      Wonderful recipe. My family loved this and I love anything to spruce up veggies and get the kids to want more. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2006

      Even though this has been a popular recipe amongst zaarists, it certainly will not be a repeat recipe for us, I am sorry to say. This was the first experience of kugels, so wasn't sure what to expect. I made it to the letter, but we felt it was dry, tasteless and rather messy looking mash.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2006

      I made this with frozen cauliflower I cooked in the microwave and used 1 1/2 T of the onion soup mix. Wonderful flavor and it was easy too! I sprinkled a little cheddar cheese over my serving and served with 4 minute spicy shrimp.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2006

      Caryn, this was great and so easy! I understand where the 'mushy' comment would come from, but I would call the texture 'melt in your mouth' instead, just like a cauliflower kugel should be. We all enjoyed this very much, including my DH, never touches cooked cauliflower. He requested that I make this again, so that is saying a lot. I will - thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cauliflower Kugel

    Serving Size: 1 (94 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 64.9
     
    Calories from Fat 33
    52%
    Total Fat 3.7 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 54.7 mg
    18%
    Sodium 91.2 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.6 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    9%
    Protein 3.0 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites