12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made a half recipe tonight. It was very good, and quite filling when served with brown rice. I used low sodium veggie broth in place of water and chipotle powder in place of cayenne. I wasn't sure what kind of mustard seeds to buy, so I got hot yellow mustard seed, ground. The dish was plenty hot for me, and I like it "medium-hot." DH wanted it spicier and added black pepper at the table. DH also missed the juicy "sauce" that is on most curried dishes in Indian restaurants and asked me to make it with more sauce next time. I think I'll increase the spices and add some lite coconut milk, then reserve half of the sauce to pour over the top when serving.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Uprooted Texan August 12, 2009

YUM!! I made this as is except for adding a bit of curry powder and salt. My hubby really liked it!!! Thanks so much for sharing! :O) UPDATE: Made again with some changes: Started off with about 1/4 cup water and two chopped onions. Steamed until turning tender and most of water gone. Sprayed onions with Pam and then threw all the spices in and stirred until fragrant. Followed the rest of the directions except for adding in some baby spinach, curry powder, and extra salt. YUM!! :O)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SPrins April 09, 2010

Good recipe. Made with 1 cauliflower because that's all i had. added chickpeas to make up for it. served with wehani red rice. came together quickly for a mid-week dinner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MargoMart March 10, 2010

I halved this recipe, using only one head of cauliflower, and used canned tomatos - otherwise as written. The spices were nice, though would have been better all around with a thicker 'sauce'

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mgnbos January 31, 2010

We really enjoyed this cauliflower curry recipe. We served it as a side to an Indian rack of lamb recipe that we made and it was very complimentary. Other than halving the recipe to accommodate 1 medium head of cauliflower, we made no alterations and enjoyed the recipe as is. We will definitely make this again. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny December 13, 2009

Awesome and will be entering my weekly rotation! I did tinker though based on what I had in my pantry. I omitted the salt, tumeric, ground ginger, & caynenne. Instead I used about an inch of chopped fresh ginger with one tablespoon Thai Kitchen red curry paste (added with spices). I didn't have any fresh tomatoes so I used diced canned. No need for additional salt, either. [Next time, I might add some heat by adding a fresh diced chili with the peas & cilantro.] Served with a mixed fruit salad of bananas, grapes, and blueberries and a side of steamed brown rice. Just fantastic -- thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dallasdiva January 21, 2009

Pretty good meal. Despite all the spices in the recipe, there isn't a lot of flavor. We may make this again, but will add some other spice or vegetable.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Herb-Cat October 03, 2008

Woowie. The spice blend for this curry is simply marvelous in its complexity and how well the spices work together in perfect harmony. I prepared a reduced fat version using half the stated amount of oil. My other change was accidental when I realized I had frozen peas with baby onions, this turned out quite fine and the little pearls not only absorbed the flavors of the curry but contributed to the textural and taste appeal of the overall dish. .Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni July 24, 2008

this definately deserves 5 stars because i accidentally burned it and it was still tasty! made for ZWT

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
superblondieno2 May 25, 2008

Very good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momof2leos April 30, 2008
Cauliflower Curry