Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cauliflower Curry Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cauliflower Curry

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on July 14, 2002

      You have a winning recipe here which I'd recommend to everyone following a low-fat diet, because it has not even a drop of oil and yet tastes like it came from a 5 star hotel! This one makes a great starter served with hot sauce! I made some changes which are as follows: I scaled this recipe down to 2 servings. 1)I did not have cilantro on hand, so I substituted it with parsley. 2) Instead of ginger puree, I used 1/2 tbsp of chopped ginger and some water. 3)I added 2 tbsp. of low-fat yogurt(beaten), 1/4 tsp. salt and 1/2 tsp. of black pepper as well when adding the other masala powders. 4) I used about 12 tbsp. of water + 1 cup to cook the cauliflower(i.e. before covering it with the lid). It took about 15 minutes to cook in my pre-heated Dutch oven. I liked it as it was - somewhat crunchy(3/4th cooked) but with a wonderful blend of the masala powders! Next time I'll add some lemon juice as well once the dish is ready. This makes a great starter and will be a regular at our table! Thank You SO MUCH for this wonderful-flavourful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2010

      Very, very good. Lots of flavor without fat or salt. I was wary about the amount of some of the spices since I am new to Indian cuisine, but it turned out delicious. I used the red cayenne pepper and made the rest of the recipe as posted, but I used a bit more water than the recipe called for. My cauliflower was about done with only 30 minutes of cooking at the final step, then I simply turned off the heat and let it sit covered for the remaining time. I served it with rice. The second time I made this, I added about 1/4 of finely minced onion and 1/4 c of finely minced red bell pepper at the same time I added the cilantro. Next time I make it, I'll throw in some cooked chickpeas to make it an all in one meal. I think the seasoning blend and cooking method would work really well for potatoes as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2002

      What a lovely way to serve cauliflower! I had this with chappatis for lunch in college today, and because it is a "dry" sabzi, it makes a great chappati/tortilla filling, and is really easy to brown bag. The cooking method is really simple... all you need to keep by your side is water to use as and when needed. The lemon juice adds a great zing to it, and the spices compliment each other perfectly, Indian style :-) Thanks for this Sue... this one's for keeps!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2013

      I usually make something like this with a can of cocunut milk, but I really needed a healthier option.. this is flavourfull and satifying. Thanks!
      I did add cabbage, like the other reviewer, and that was really nice. Thanks for that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2011

      We enjoyed this cauliflower curry. I made no modifications to the recipe and thought it came together quickly and was not difficult to make. I served as an accompaniment to Masala Chicken 264890

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2011

      Very good. I made a few adaptations based on what I had in the house, and it turned out very well. We ate it with rice and lentils and peas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

    • on August 11, 2009

      Very good, even if you replace the individual spices for your regular curry mix. And easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2009

      This was a fabulous recipe and I especially liked the healthy preparation. I couldn't help but add some minced garlic to the mix and used slightly more water than called for. Thank you Sue L for sharing another winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2009

      This was an excellent recipe! I made as written and used red chili powder in place of the green chili. I only cooked half a head of cauliflower but used the whole component of spices as we like stronger flavours. This was fantastic and will be made often in this house. Thanks for posting a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      tasty fast recipe :-) Had no ginger purée so I used some ghee as a starter base, also had no cilantro and did not try to substitute. Did not add any salt. Forgot the lemon juice :-/ Also doubled most of the spices as I like my curries strong. Was surprised at how fast it cooked, pretty much the same time as boiling it, or so it seemed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2007

      I used a small cauliflower along with the listed quantity of spices and 2 hot red chillis. The flavour was very good, and we liked that it was low fat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2007

      Easy, healthy and delicious! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2007

      This recipe was fantastic. I didn't have Garam Masala... and really do like my actual "curry" powder so substituted with that and it worked great! I will definitely be preparing this again. Thanks for posting! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2007

      This was just the right item to serve with Dal and rice. Very nice in taste and texture, and even my kids liked it once I got them to try it (normally they won't eat cauliflower).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2005

      This was terrific. I couldn't imagine what cauliflower cooked 45 minutes would be like but it wasn't a mound of mush nor overly spicy. Wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2003

      Really fantastic. I did not, however, use cauliflower (I hate cooked cauliflower!)--but cubed potatoes and some fresh broccoli. I followed the rest of this to the letter. I served this with Char's Tava(Pan) Mushrooms, and Zenith's Creamy Rice Pudding as dessert. (I also had some onion naan on hand and served that as well.) This was a huge hit--perfect blend of spices, not too hot, but very authentic-tasting!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cauliflower Curry

    Serving Size: 1 (204 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 61.0
     
    Calories from Fat 8
    14%
    Total Fat 0.9 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 66.4 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.9 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 4.9 g
    19%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 4.4 g
    8%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ginger puree

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites