82 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yummmmy!! This is the best cauliflower casserole recipe I've ever come across! Thank you Inez.

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shereen October 06, 2002

Inez, a 5 star plus! You are the Cauliflower Goddess! These lips of mine may never touch cauliflower prepared any other way. :) I wasn't paying attention and added 1/2 cup onion instead of the 1/4 cup called for. No problem, I love onion. I'm also partial to red bell peppers. Other than that, I made this as is. Oh yeah, and I used my gluten-free corn flakes by Glutano. This is a terrific make-ahead dish, too. Thank you!!!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GinnyP September 15, 2002

I am astounded! I have been making my grandfather’s recipe for cauliflower and cheese for years and didn’t expect to deviate until I tried yours! I made it this evening and could not believe how fresh and crisp the flavours were in contrast to the roast beef we enjoyed with it. I did make two minor adjustments: substituted green onions (the cooking onions I had would have been too strong had they not been sautéed first) and passed on the corn flake crumbs. I am always delightfully surprised by the marriage of the simplest ingredients and their clever ability to recreate themselves as something quite new and wonderful. Thank you!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Highland Lass January 26, 2003

Very tasty casserole. I didn't have any corn flakes, so I substituted 3/4 cup buttery cracker crumbs instead. I'll be making this one again!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie in Texas December 16, 2002

This is a great way to use cauliflower. Unfortunately, my store did not have any appetizing heads of cauliflower, so I used a bag of frozen instead and blanched them for several minutes. Otherwise I followed the directions exactly and wouldn't change a thing. Great creamy, cheesy flavor with some nice textures from the green pepper, onion, and corn flakes.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Missyb33 October 30, 2002

Very good casserole and a different way to prepare cauliflower. We enjoyed it paired with the onion. Had to omit the green pepper for DH, otherwise no changes necessary.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KeyWee June 09, 2003

I though it was very good. I have made it several times. I also add red peppers for added taste and color.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teri Marie November 11, 2003

My husband and I really liked this. Good recipe. Next time I will use real onion like stated, instead of minced onions from a jar.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary F December 21, 2012

My husband loved this! Me, not so much. I did make some changes to try and make it a bit healthier. Didn't have corn flakes, so I used 1/4c plain breadcrumbs, no peppers so used half a large zucchini. And nonfat greek yogurt for the sour cream. Steamed all my veggies before adding to the pan. Cut the cheddar and used a small shake of parm on the top. Took a bit longer to bake than expected, but it was my fault as I could have steamed the zucchini a bit longer. I'm not a fan of mushy bread, so the breadcrumbs were what really turned me off this. (Personal preference - this seems to be the way to do it in a lot of recipes, yet i never care for it) My husband actually asked me to make this again just for him lol Thats enough for me to give it the 5 stars!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
papersouls August 29, 2012

This was delicious. I took a few minor liberties; I used frozen cauliflower florets, frozen diced onion and frozen diced green pepper. I didn't pre-cook any of it, just tossed it in frozen. I also substituted Italian seasoned bread crumbs for the cornflakes. We all loved it!
Update: Made again using fresh cauliflower, skipping all the other veggies and the topping. Cut the sour cream in half and just added a dash of onion powder. We STILL loved it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JeannaLW May 29, 2012
Cauliflower Casserole