26 Reviews

I think I've just died and gone to heaven!!! Dancer, this was outstanding! When I went to the U.S., one of the "special" ingredients I bought was a can of cream of mushroom soup (we don't get it here), and I'm so glad I chose this recipe to use it! The only thing I changed was to use a local brand of crackers instead of saltine crackers. I'll have to wait until I get hold of another can of mushroom soup, and when I do, I'll most certainly make this again!

22 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anu June 02, 2002

This was easy and very good. I find it hard to find good cauliflower recipes and this one is definitely a keeper.

18 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jen rebok June 08, 2002

I agree that it is hard to find a good recipe for cauliflower. This was a good way to jazz up a bland vege. My family liked it a lot. I don't like to see reviews where people change the ingredients or add their own and then rate it, so I made it exactly according to the recipe before I rated it. However, now I'll confess...I made this before, but I didn't have cauliflower, so I used broccoli, and I didn't have saltines, so I used Ritz crackers. It was very good that way, too. I can see where this would be a good base recipe for a lot of veges, or combinations. Five stars from me!!

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
papergoddess June 13, 2002

The "wallflower" of vegetables gets a "starring" role. I microwaved the cauliflower. Instead of onion, I added chopped scallions to the soup cheese mixture (I like to play with color), a dash of hot sauce- and I have to confess, a sprinkle of paprika over the cracker crumbs. Bravo Dancer, it's a keeper !

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorac June 17, 2002

Not bad! I, myself do not like cauliflower but my husband loves it. He said it was great and I have to admit it was pretty good.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cruzzo September 20, 2002

This made a great side dish. I didn't have an entire head of cauliflower, so I had to add in a bit of brocolli too. I really liked it. My only complaint would be that it's a bit on the "liquid-ish" side. Don't know how to change that though. All said and done, I'd make this one again. 2 thumbs up.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise Nachtigal September 04, 2002

This was very good, very tasty and a nice change of taste instead of just steamed cauliflower. I used a mild cheddar cheese and no cracker crumbs but I did put a handful of french fried onions on top the last 5 min. of cooking. Very easy to make and would make an excellent dish to pass around at family get-to-gathers.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catnip46 June 22, 2010

OMG, this dish is WONDERFUL!!! I added some salt, ground black pepper, and garlic powder to the soup mixture. I also used about 10 saltines and 3 Tbsp. of margarine, as I like crunchy toppings. Oh yeah, I also added a bit extra cheese (love it:). I made this as a side dish for chicken breasts, and ended up saving the chicken for lunch the next day and making a meal of this!! The best way I have ever tasted cauliflower so far! Perfect dish for potlucks (except AT LEAST doubled!) Thanks so much Dancer! ~Manda

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Manda January 06, 2004

Delicious way to jazz up cauliflower. Made it exactly as written, except added a little red pepper and it was delicious. Husband loved it too (usually not a cauliflower fan.)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle in Louisiana March 27, 2003

Great! The only change I made was to cook the onion a little without oil in a non-stick skillet. Thanks for posting the recipe. I'll be making it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview February 03, 2015
Cauliflower Casserole