Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cauliflower and Extra Old Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cauliflower and Extra Old Soup

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on March 25, 2003

      This is a creamy, silky, yummy soup! It's perfect for those of us on a low-carb diet. I used vegetable stock and real full fat cream. Left out the carrot and used two huge onions! I pureed the soup right in the pot with an immersion blender (known in our house as The Stick). Pay close attention to Step #8, do not let the soup boil, it can burn on the bottom of your pot. This reheats beautifully in the microwave. I can't wait to try a version with chopped leeks and maybe a little smoked mozzarella.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2012

      The addition of the mustards is a tasty one. Very nice soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      Delicious!! The only change I made was to add a few broccoli florets because the cauliflower I had was very small. We enjoyed this and I am looking forward to leftovers. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2008

      This is really easy to make. I like the flavours, particularly the dijon, although I only added 1 tablespoon of the dijon as I wanted to see what that would taste like before I considered adding more. I think I'll leave it at the 1 tbsp as that flavour level works for me. I also used skim milk (1/2 a cup) instead of the cream or evaporated milk, and it worked well. How much milk you use would depend on how thick you wanted it. The soup was tasty and I'll make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2007

      I just ran across this recipe in my favorites file, and I can't believe I haven't rated it yet. To date, this has been one of my most frequently served Zaar soups. This is a wonderful soup, and it lends itself well to variations depending on the cheese you may have on hand. It is also a natural for crock pot cooking, so that's another big plus! Thanks for the recipe, Highland Lass. It has become a family favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2007

      I love this soup! It's so simple to make, and well balanced in flavour. I think it is a sophisticated dish even without the stilton or port! Bravo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2006

      This is not any ordinary cauliflower cheese soup. This soup is thick, creamy, and full of flavor! The extra old cheddar and the Dijon really make a great combination, but are not overpowering. I made it just as written and wouldn't change a thing. You can bet that I'll make this again. Thanx for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2004

      My gang didn't like the Dijon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2003

      I love your soup ~ and decided to make enough for an ARMY as usual! The taste is just right and the only different thing I used in it was Seasond Salt instead of regluar Salt ! I think you got it just right !!! Thank for this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cauliflower and Extra Old Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (210 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 226.2
     
    Calories from Fat 145
    64%
    Total Fat 16.1 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 9.9 g
    49%
    Cholesterol 49.5 mg
    16%
    Sodium 306.5 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.2 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 11.8 g
    23%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable stock

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites