Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cauldron Cakes (Spice Cakes from Harry Potter) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cauldron Cakes (Spice Cakes from Harry Potter)

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on November 08, 2007

      When I started off making this, I halved the recipe and added a bit more ginger and cinnamon with some allspice. I got about 6 muffin tins, but I was a little generous with the batter. They tasted so good, I ended up eating two and realized I needed more for my company, so I made more; this time a full batch. I also added cinnamon and sugar on top. After reading the reviews, I opted for a nonstick pan with nonstick spray in each cup. The cakes came out perfectly the second time...and were even better! Yay for cauldron cakes! This is my new fall staple! I love how they remind me of applesauce muffins; I might try adding some applesauce in place of sugar for my next go-round...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2003

      These cakes are very good and I think you will enjoy them whether or not you are a Harry Potter fan. I would say that 25 minutes prep time rather then ten is required and that the recipe makes about 24 cakes which will fill two muffin pans making it necessary to cook only a dozen at a time which of course means you will have the cakes in the oven for about 50 minutes. The recipe is very good and can be followed exactly. But for some additional tips, It might be better to use butter with this recipe and instead of putting the batter directly into the muffin tins you might want to put baking cups into your pan and then pour in the batter to keep the cakes from sticking.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2010

      I made these cakes for the release of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (part 1) for a party before the movie started. I was really apprehensive when I started making them, but the stress was for naught. The recipe is easy to follow, and it ended up making 24 mini cakes (2- 12 cupcake pans), and even then I did not fill the liners full and they rose extravagantly.

      The only thing I did not like was that there was no topping for these cakes, so I whipped up an Orange Crusting Cream Cheese Frosting to top them with. The orange flavor is a beautiful contrast flavor to the spice in the cakes; very refreshing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2010

      Made these for my sister's birthday(she wanted a Harry-potter theme) and not only her, but the whole family loved them! The cakes turned out very nice: fluffy, cinnamon-y, and just a little bit sweet. Just one thing I would like to say is that these don't work too well as ~cauldron~ cakes. Maybe I was just picturing something a little different, but they just didn't look right for the part. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2009

      this is really good and simple i made them and they were gone in a few hours. my son liked them and he wont hardly eat anything. great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2009

      woot woot!! i cant wait to try this!! tankies soooooo much for putting the recipe up!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2008

      ummmm. ick. These cakes were tasteless, dry, and barely manageable only after applying an inch of frosting. I was expecting a moist spice cake, and I got a dry crumbling mess of something with the taste equvilent of cardboard. tehe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      This cakes are great,i think i did put too much batter because i just got 16,i had to omit cinamon and ginger (they are for someone a bit picky)but the taste is very good,and they took only 15 minutes probably cause i got the oven fan on.I also reduced sugar to a cup.Thanks so much for this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2008

      These were awesome, and not real sweet! I made them in mini muffin pans and baked them about 13 mins. The kids couldn't stop eating them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      Quick, easy and YUUUMMMOOOO!!! I reduced the amount of sugar to 1 cup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2007

      I like this recipe a ton! I had to take out the cinnamon, though, as my cousin was allergic to it, but I found if you add on honey or any sort of flavored syrup, they're also good! Thanks for showing me this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2007

      These were very good and about how I imagined them to taste while reading the books. I added just a tad more cinnamon and ginger as well as sprinkling a cinnamon sugar mixture on top of half of the muffins and marbling it into the dough. Also, I used baking cups and they tended to fall apart when they were removed from said cup. I ended up with a batch of 24 with about 10 of them spilling over.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2007

      awesome! perfect for a party to go with the upcoming release of the final book of the series, or just anytime you need a tasty dessert!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2007

      love it!!!!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2006

      Great!!!!! Tasted like I thought these cakes were taste! Thanks so much for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2005

      These were excellent! I added a bit of honey (and a bit less sugar) and it made it a touch more flavourful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2005

      Light, with a sponge cake type texture, these cakes have a nice mild flavor. Living in Denver, once in a great while, I encounter an altitude problem in baking, and I did with this recipe, due to no fault of the recipe. When the first batch fell flatter than Snape's face when he looks at Harry, I added two tablespoons of milk to the rest of the batter, and turned the temperature up to 375 degrees. Next time I make these, I will decrease sugar to 1 and 1/4 cups to also help make the altitude adjustment. Thanks, Michael,for sharing a fun recipe I enjoyed making with my daughters!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2005

      Great recipe! I don't do much baking but this recipe came out great for me. The first time I cooked them in the muffin tin and the second time I cooked them in a loaf pan. Both ways work great. Very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2005

      These cakes were very yummy and easy to make. I used a mixed spice instead of the ginger and cinnamon. The kids loved them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2003

      Simple to make and as non cake maker they came out a treat! Very sweet but the kids absolutely loved them. Great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cauldron Cakes (Spice Cakes from Harry Potter)

    Serving Size: 1 (51 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 21

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 156.2
     
    Calories from Fat 50
    32%
    Total Fat 5.6 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 3.2 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 39.8 mg
    13%
    Sodium 226.0 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.2 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 14.3 g
    57%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites