66 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I needed a recipe for some frozen catfish fillets. I didn't expect much but these were great! If they do this well with frozen fillets, I can't wait to try them with fresh. Thanks for a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvinlif2k March 03, 2009

I had never made or even eaten catfish before I tried this recipe. I am happy to say that my results were excellent. The breading was very tasty and the meat did not taste dull and fishy. I did two things differently from how the recipe specifies. First, I did not melt my butter beforehand. Instead I cut it into chunks whilst still cold and strategically placed the chunks on top of the fish. The taste was not overly buttery, so this might be a good alternative. Second, instead of just placing the fish in a greased pan I chose to line the pan with aluminum foil and spray the foil with cooking spray. I did have a problem with fish sticking to the foil, but it was manageable and worth the trouble. Our baking pans are old and gritty and I'm sure the fish would have been a nightmare to scrape off had I not used the foil instead. All said and done, I highly recommend this recipe to everyone interested, including people who are new to cooking such as myself.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vcnielson February 18, 2009

We really liked this! I left off the butter and it was still plenty rich with the cheese in the batter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Doozer October 18, 2008

I was looking to do something different, but familiar for when my girlfriend visited me. Glad I came across this. Super easy; super good. Definitely saved this one to my cookbook. "Ooh Ohh!" lol

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef-Boyar-E September 22, 2008

I've mad this twice now, and both times my family has eaten it all up. my VERY PICKY 8 year old ate 2 fillets by himself. Catfish is not normally my favorite fish, but it's great this way! To save on fat, I eliminate the melted butter and instead coat the tops liberally with olive oil cooking spray. It's very easy, and catfish remains a relatively inexpensive and safe (especially US farmed) fish to eat. This recipe is now a staple for us. Oh, adding a squeeze of lemon juice over the final dish puts it over the edge good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nanners August 23, 2008

This is absolutely the best. I bought fresh Catfish at Costco and cooked the entire (large) package - then flash froze it on a cookie sheet and "Food Saver" froze it the next day. To reheat I only put a little butter in a non-stick skillet and it tasted just as good as the fresh. I figures if Mrs. Paul's can do it -- so can I but with a high quality and GREAT FLAVOR. I tried it the next week with chicken and it got rave reviews. Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Masters August 22, 2008

I used this recipe with both catfish and tilapia--delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jbillywbeverly February 01, 2008

WOW! This was truly wonderful! My husband LOVES catfish, I only sorta like it, but after I had this recipe I've made it for anybody who will come over to the house! It was amazing! Thank you for such a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dardus November 26, 2007

First time I tried baked catfish and it was delicious. My wife and I ate 4 large pieces and could have eaten more. Ha! I buy the frozen catfish filets from Sam's Club. You will not lose trying this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Racingman October 27, 2007

Wow! Had to admit, I was skeptical but this proved me wrong. As much as I love eating fried fish out, I hate to make it at home. Now I don't have to! This was delicious and even DH said "you can make THIS again". Huge compliment from the picky-eater of the universe! I made the recipe exactly as posted except to add just a tiny bit of cornmeal (maybe a teaspoon) for no reason but that we like it. I'm sure it would be tasty either way. Served with mashed taters and gravy and peas. Thanks for a great one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KeyWee September 02, 2007
Catfish Parmesan