Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Catfish in Wine With Broiled Scallion Butter Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Catfish in Wine With Broiled Scallion Butter Sauce

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on April 27, 2014

      Great recipe, 4got butter and paprika, but the mayo, worcestershire, hot sauce (oh yeah and I used hot sauce instead) combo was excellent. I believe I overcooked the fish b/c it just completely broke apart, other than that love this recipe!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2011

      I had some catfish in the fridge that I needed to cook tonight and I wanted to make something different than the usual fried or baked. This recipe sounded interesting so I thought I'd give it a try. I"m so glad I did. It was like eating restaurant food.

      I served it with mashed potatoes (got that from another reviewer) and steamed snap peas. I used 1.5 times the amount of wine so that we would have extra sauce. We used the sauce on the potatoes. This was really good. I'm going to put this one in my special recipe file. Thank you so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2011

      Great recipe!... but found I needed to reduce the wine after baking. Fortunately, I had baked the fish in a broiler/oven/stovetop safe pan and was able to just put the skillet on the stove for a few minutes on high to reduce the wine to nearly nothing. Perhaps the recipe imagines that we'll remove the fish fillets from the pan before broiling, but in my case I was not going to... consequently I didn't want that much liquid leftover before adding the mayo topping. Next time I'll try baking without covering and see how that goes.

      The only change I made to the topping was that I substituted Sriracha sauce for the Tabasco. I'm not a fan of the vinegar taste of Tabasco and Sriracha is commonly used with mayo to make Dynamite sauce for sushi. So it's a natural combo. I served it over brown rice and there was plenty of buttery sauce leftover in the pan after broiling to spoon over the fish and rice.

      This was absolutely delicious. A great recipe to turn a nice healthy catfish fillet into something smothered in mayo and butter. How can you go wrong with that? Hubby and I were om-nom-nom over this and I'll be cooking this a lot in the future. Thanks for the fantastic recipe. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2008

      This was a very good and my husband and I definitely enjoyed it. We felt that there was just a bit too much sauce for our 4 fillets. I did enjoy the sauce on top of my baked potatoe, but there was still too much on the fish. I'll definitely make this again, but will cut the mayo and butter in half. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2006

      Mmmm, mmmm, mmmm GOOD STUFF! What a wonderful recipe! I made this the other night after looking over several recipes in an attempt to find a different twist for one of our favorite fish... Catfish. What a pleasant surprise. My wife especially enjoyed it. She said it was one of, if not the best variations to catfish that I had come across. The combination of butter and mayonnaise makes for a very rich yet light touch.... I followed the recipe as written and it now resides in my seafood cookbook and will be sharing it with other family members. Thank you for a great recipe. OUTSTANDING!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2006

      This did not taste like it had mayo in it. I was skeptical, but you won me over. I didn't have scallions (they had gone bad), so I used 2 small sweet yellow onions. I omitted the paprika due to an allergy and so I added a little thyme for flavor. I had leftover butter sauce, so I used it on a roll with dinner. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2006

      We made this with halibut and doubled the sauce (which we thickened as well) to serve with mashed potatoes and asparagus. What an exceptional meal! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2006

      Being on a low-carb diet I am always looking for new low-carb dishes, I was not sure if I would like catfish with out the breading, since I'm a true southern gal at heart and the mayo in the spread was scary too. But I gave it a shot; I used catfish nuggets, and a semi-dry white wine. Was leery when I bought it out of the oven, not sure if I was suppose to put the sauce on the fish in the baking dish or put the fish on my broiler pan then put it under the broiler. I opted to put it on the broiler pan, I did not have any scallions and I forgot the paprika, some cook I am huh? Anyway, I broiled it for a few minutes then turned each piece over and broiled them some more. And all I can say is WOW!! My DS said that the catfish was to die for! He savored each piece while making pleasure noises, and wants it made again as soon as possible. My DH was very impressed as well, he loved the fact that I was not covering up the flavor of the fish with a breading. Over all I would say this is the best tasting and tenderest catfish I have had that was not breaded.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2006

      I agree, this IS an elegant way to prepare catfish. I prefer my fish without a breadcrumb coating and broiled or baked not fried, so this was a perfect recipe for me. Very easy and tasty. I added some garlic, otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I'll be making this again, and I'll try it with other white fish. Thanx for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2005

      This was ok. I usually saute or fry fish so I have been looking for baking substitutes. I don't like baked fish that much cause you don't get the crunch, I chose this recipe cause you put it under the broiler. That made it crunchier and better than other baked fish with mayo topping recipes that I have tried. The fish has a great flavor, it's just my personal tastebuds wanting the crunch, not the recipes fault. It is a very good recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Catfish in Wine With Broiled Scallion Butter Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (251 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 404.0
     
    Calories from Fat 250
    61%
    Total Fat 27.7 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 10.5 g
    52%
    Cholesterol 139.2 mg
    46%
    Sodium 413.4 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.2 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 29.6 g
    59%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites