Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Catfish Gumbo Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Catfish Gumbo

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on March 26, 2003

      My family and I have developed an appreciation of catfish and I am always looking for new and interesting ways to cook with it. This gumbo was delicious. So easy to put all the ingredients together. We thought the flavor was just right meaning it was not too hot for our tastes but was definitely seasoned. Lots cheaper than using shrimp or seafood--if you catch your own that is. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2002

      The family and I thought this was excellent gumbo. The catfish has a mild flavor that was enhanced by all the seasonings. Very easy to make. Love it when I find something we all enjoy. Thanks Nurse Di :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      I first prepared this delicious gumbo on 6/28/92, after finding the recipe in a magazine. Don't remember which one, but It was submitted by Sybil Arant, Sunflower, Mississippi. DH/I have enjoyed it often since and have shared the recipe with many family members and friends. Instead of fillets, I use catfish nuggets (cheaper and already cut into chunks). I omit salt, but add 1/2 t. Creole seasoning, 1 t. or less liquid crab boil, and more garlic; 1 lb. of okra - not 10-oz. At the very end, I add 1 t. file' powder, then serve it over white or yellow or brown rice. We're having a cold snap in coastal N.E. Florida, so I'm thawing catfish nuggets to have this great dish tonight, along with hushpuppies or cornbread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2008

      I Loved It.. I made it with yellow rice, stuffed shrimp jalapenos wrap in bacon with sweet bread to pick up the gumbo sauce. It Was The Best Catfish Food I"ve eaten.. for a person who don't love seafood, now I do. I Have left over gumbo so i'll make it with pasta today.... Thank You

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2004

      We didn't enjoy this gumbo as much as some of the others we've tried. I made it looking for a different way to use the catfish. I feel the catfish is too delicate for the gumbo base. I don't think I'll try this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2003

      As my boyfriend said, "Mmm...Mmm! This is GOOD! Mmmmm....!" I agree. This was fabulous. Very filling, too. I made a few minor changes- used only 1.5 lbs of catfish (which is plenty), used 4 cups of beef broth made from boullion, used about 3/4 of a 28 oz. can of diced tomatoes, added about 1/2 cup of corn (when the tomatoes are added), used chili powder rather than cayenne, and added a little basil because I didn't have a bay leaf (don't know why I decided to sub that, but whatever). I also simmered it uncovered because I wanted it to reduce (as 4 cups of beef broth is more than 2 cans.) Yum yum yum yum yum!!! My BF has told me at least 4 times now to review this and tell you how much we like it, so I am. It's great. I HIGHLY recommend this- great flavor, super easy, and filling. I served this over brown rice. EXCELLENT!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2002

      This is a really good recipe even without okra.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2002

      I made this at a Scout Camporee and, as one of the Scouts said, "This is awesome!" Great flavor, easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Catfish Gumbo

    Serving Size: 1 (260 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 277.7
     
    Calories from Fat 141
    50%
    Total Fat 15.6 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 53.2 mg
    17%
    Sodium 947.7 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.1 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    11%
    Sugars 3.7 g
    14%
    Protein 24.2 g
    48%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes