8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We made two, one for my son and one for my daughter. It was one of those days when we needed to stay home and not run around town. What a fun project for children! We used Icing-in-the-Cake Cake and it came out beautiful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ihvhope August 28, 2008

Thank you for posting this wonderful and fun idea. My son loved his cake and everyone was amazed that I was able to produce such a lovely caterpillar. I used sour strips for the stripes and mouth and marshmallows and M&M's for the eyes. I used a pound cake for the cake mix and it turned out very tasty as well as cute. Thanks again Dawn!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queenkungfu October 14, 2007

This was a real hit at a picnic this summer. I used Colored Coconut Flakes (Colored Coconut Flakes) to make "green grass" and sprinkled it on the base of the serving tray. I also think that Decorator Buttercream Icing (Decorator Buttercream Icing) is fantastic for this type of cake. We used shoelace licorice to make creepy crawly legs on the little insect. my daughter cried when we started to cut into it. it is a GREAT kids cake!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
um-um-good September 07, 2007

I loved how simple yet effective this was. I made it for my son's 4th birthday and everyone thought it must have taken lots of time but it was so straightforward. I decorated it with smarties, some round gummy lollies and some apple strips. My son picked the lollies and chose the colour of the icing. I used the best ever chocolate cake recipe which made enough to fill two ring tins and seeing as he has two birthday parties suited me fine. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brissie girl September 01, 2007

What a creative idea. My 4 year old will love this. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginny S. July 03, 2007

What an amazing way to make a cake! I used a chocolate cake recipe and put it in an Angel Food Cake Pan as I didn't have a bundt. It turned out sooo cute and my 7 year old had a ton of fun making and decorating this for her birthday. Everyone commented on how great it looked. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Leslie~ June 11, 2007

I make several of these cakes every year for a carnival at our church. It's a huge hit with the kids. The cakes turn out so cute and make everyone smile. They're great for birthday parties too. There's so much candy to choose from these days that your imagination can run wild when it comes to decorating. I can't always find black licorice whips but there's other colors always available. Have fun making these. My kids had a blast making them this year! *tip* I make the eyes by cutting a large marshmallow in half and pushing an m&m onto the sticky cut side.The stickiness will hold an m&m without any added "glue".

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather'sKitchen May 17, 2007

I made a garden themed cake for Easter and made the caterpillar crawling up the side of the grass layer part of the cake, it was fabulous! I did cut the cake into smaller pieces to make it curvier, made it lemon flavored and used a couple different shades of green and yellow frostings to decorate it. It looked great and it was really fun, thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kaec May 03, 2007
Caterpillar Cake