8 Reviews

On this cool rainy morning I cut the recipe down to 2 servings, served in a large mug just for myself! YUM! I used Splenda for the sugar and this made a creamy, chocolaty treat! Thanks for posting Julie. Made for Recipe Swap #46.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElaineAnn November 25, 2010

I quartered the recipe and enjoyed the smoothness of the hot chocolate! I used a little less cornstarch than called for. Thank you Julie for a breakfast treat! :) Made for the Australian Recipe Swap-Jan. 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 January 15, 2010

Decadent and delicious! I halved the recipe, and followed everything exactly as written. So easy to make this thick creamy chocolate drink, that is a must for all chocoholics. So divine, will be making again for sure Julie. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tisme October 28, 2009

Intensely chocolate!! As other reviewers have stated, this was like drinking a candy bar! Demi-tasse cups would be best for this decadent treat. The children found it too strong but the adults loved it. Thanks Julie B's Hive for an almost sinful beverage. Made for Ali Baba's Babes for ZWT5

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Acerast May 22, 2009

The cornstarch is what sets this hot chocolate recipe apart - it makes it thick and creamy - without having to rely on the fat (and calories) of cream. Neat little trick.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens May 20, 2009

The cornstarch in this drink makes it so thick and delicious. The flavor was intense and just wonderful. Give this a try you won't be disappointed. Thanks Julie for a great recipe. Made for the Dining Daredevils team for ZWT5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SueVM May 18, 2009

Wow CHOCOLATE!!!! I'll be honest, I don't have a huge sweet tooth but hubby does, and he wanted to add extra stars! If you like hot chocolate, try this...you'll never go back to that packaged stuff again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazy gourmet May 18, 2009

WOW! Just what I needed for a pick me up this morning. I never thought corn starch for hot chocolate but hey ya gotta try it. This is great! Almost like a liquid chocolate candy bar. I topped it off with some marshmallow fluff and mmmm mmmm reduced for 2 seevings, simmer time reduced to 7 min. Thank you. Made for ZWT 2009.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef1MOM-Connie May 12, 2009
Castillian Hot Chocolate