26 Reviews

Love it! i used regular black eyed peas and had had some jalapenos on the side for those that wanted it. its great with the jalapenos but i have a 1 year old. i also added more cheese! and my husband liked it with a lil bit of seasoned salt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amaris mom October 25, 2009

Used turkey burger and it was lovely!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kobi Brock September 21, 2009

I used this recipe for New Years Eve and am I glad I found it!!!! Loved it!!! What used to be a once a year dish has been prepared quite a bit since then. My son supprisingly liked it. So much that he was asking for some after school as a snack. Geez...getting kids to eat black eyed peas takes some doing but with this recipe it was no trouble at all. Yum!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
krysten-marshall April 06, 2009

I was serving this as a side dish so I did not use the meat in it. The only other change I made was using a can of Rotel tomatoes rather than the plain tomatoes and the jalapenos. It made a for a delicious side dish. Thanks for sharing your recipe with us PanNan!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Junebug January 01, 2009

It's not just peas!! I didn't change anything! I used this recipe for a new years day dish, and haven't stopped using it yet!! My family & I don't really favor black-eyed peas, but we like this dish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grace and Rowdy's Mom June 20, 2008

We loved this, especially my DH who loves black-eyed peas. I couldn't find any peas with jalepeno so I used a can of tomato with jalepeno. Also only had 3 15-oz cans of peas on hand. Eveything worked out great. We'll definitely be making this again. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelly Morton February 23, 2008

here i am going through all my cookbooks and i realized i never reviewed this! i distinctly remember making this in february for my mom and dh the night before i went into labor!! (probably why i forgot to review;)) however, there's no forgetting a dish like this! this is a true comfort food for a gal originally from oklahoma! i wasn't able to find black eyed peas with japs, so i just added 2 minced serrano peppers for heat. i did season the meat with salt, pepper, cayenne and garlic powder while browning. i also topped casserole with another cup of cheese! thanks for another amazing keeper, pannan!!! sorry it took so long to review!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KPD October 28, 2007

I won't rate this, because as it is written, it was just too bland for me and my family. HOWEVER, I made this again and subbed Ro-tel for the tomatoes and added in a can of diced green chiles. I also thought it needed more seasoning, so I like to add either cajun seasoning or creole seasoning to taste. When made this way, my family and I love it, and the recipe deserves 5 stars just for being such and easy and nutritious weeknight meal. And it's especially quick if you're using leftover rice!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heaven's Kitchen March 19, 2007

Sorry we found this a little bland. However it did make a lot and was okay reheated.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tbean1 November 25, 2006

My husband and I loved this which is why I'm rating it a 5. Would even be good on tortillas with salsa. The kids didn't care for it but they just aren't used to eating casseroles. The only change I made was adding some butter after it baked. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mia Bella June 16, 2006
Casserole With Black-Eyed Peas