Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Casserole With Black-Eyed Peas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Casserole With Black-Eyed Peas

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on February 27, 2003

      This is really good! I changed a few things around but the basic idea remained the same. I omitted the ground beef, making this a vegetarian side dish. I used 2 cans of regular (not ranch style) black eyed peas, I used brown rice and I used mozzarella cheese instead of cheddar. The result was a tasty, savory, cheesy casserole that was spiced nicely with the garlic (I used 2 cloves of garlic) and had a tangy zip of the canned tomatoes. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2003

      This very good. I added 1 can whole kernnel corn, 1 can mushroom soup, 1/2 cup water & only used 1 can black eyed peas. I also seasoned the meat with the pepper & garlic salt, instead of using a glove of garlic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2014

      This northerner living in the south had never made black eyed peas before. Glad i started with this recipe. Made it pretty much as is, used 4 cloves of garlic cuz I love lots of garlic, and the family raved! Used the slow cooker method & it came out perfect. Definitely will be making again. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2013

      This is SO GOOD! My whole family loved it. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2012

      DELICIOUS! My DH is not a casserole lover and frowned when he saw the dish, but ate seconds and said he really liked it. I used 2 cloves of garlic and 1/2 cup onion and cooked along with beef. I used mild Rotel instead of regular tomatos, brown rice and when I pulled out of the oven, I sprinkled with a light layer of cheese which melted immediately. Baking time was perfect. NEW YEARS DAY will always see this casserole - great to serve at a party. Thanks PanNan

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2011

      This is similar to a stovetop variation I do with elbows, black eyes, italian diced tomatoes, and mozzarella--if DH is home we add ground beef.

      I did this one as an oven rice casserole (oven rice: 1part long-grain rice, 2parts liquid; 350* for 1hr) using 2 cans beef broth and a half cup water. It came out all right this way, but seemed a little on the dry side. Possibilities for next time include adding another can of italian diced tomatoes, covering the dish for part of the bake time, starting the oven rice and adding the other ingredients half-way through, adding more cheese, or doing half the rice (adjusting the liquid accordingly). My first vote is more tomatoes and more cheese.

      It's very tasty as a serving topped with more cheese and then eaten with tortilla chips like a naked burrito. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2011

      My family loved this! The only changes I made were to use 2 15 oz. cans of black-eyed peas (without jalapenos), and a can of diced tomatoes with green chiles. I am not usually a fan of casseroles, but this one is exceptional.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2010

      Super easy, and really delicious. I substituted ground turkey for the beef, 2 cans regular black-eyed peas, brown rice, and mozzarella cheese. It won over the men by having the word casserole in the title, it won over the kids cause it was a big pile of mixed up foods, and it won me over because it was very easy to make, and even easier to clean up after. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      This was excellent! I made this for New Years and we really enjoyed this recipe. Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      I found out it is traditional to eat black eyed peas on New Years, but I haven't liked anything I have done with them in the past. This year I found this recipe and figured either I'll hate it like every other year or I might like it... I LOVE IT!! I didn't have the jalepenos peas, so I used a can of diced tomoatoes with chilies - stupendous! I recomend this for anyone who hasn't found black eyed pea recipe worth repeating!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      Love it! i used regular black eyed peas and had had some jalapenos on the side for those that wanted it. its great with the jalapenos but i have a 1 year old. i also added more cheese! and my husband liked it with a lil bit of seasoned salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      Used turkey burger and it was lovely!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2009

      I used this recipe for New Years Eve and am I glad I found it!!!! Loved it!!! What used to be a once a year dish has been prepared quite a bit since then. My son supprisingly liked it. So much that he was asking for some after school as a snack. Geez...getting kids to eat black eyed peas takes some doing but with this recipe it was no trouble at all. Yum!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      I was serving this as a side dish so I did not use the meat in it. The only other change I made was using a can of Rotel tomatoes rather than the plain tomatoes and the jalapenos. It made a for a delicious side dish. Thanks for sharing your recipe with us PanNan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2008

      It's not just peas!! I didn't change anything! I used this recipe for a new years day dish, and haven't stopped using it yet!! My family & I don't really favor black-eyed peas, but we like this dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2008

      We loved this, especially my DH who loves black-eyed peas. I couldn't find any peas with jalepeno so I used a can of tomato with jalepeno. Also only had 3 15-oz cans of peas on hand. Eveything worked out great. We'll definitely be making this again. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2007

      here i am going through all my cookbooks and i realized i never reviewed this! i distinctly remember making this in february for my mom and dh the night before i went into labor!! (probably why i forgot to review;)) however, there's no forgetting a dish like this! this is a true comfort food for a gal originally from oklahoma! i wasn't able to find black eyed peas with japs, so i just added 2 minced serrano peppers for heat. i did season the meat with salt, pepper, cayenne and garlic powder while browning. i also topped casserole with another cup of cheese! thanks for another amazing keeper, pannan!!! sorry it took so long to review!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2007

      I won't rate this, because as it is written, it was just too bland for me and my family. HOWEVER, I made this again and subbed Ro-tel for the tomatoes and added in a can of diced green chiles. I also thought it needed more seasoning, so I like to add either cajun seasoning or creole seasoning to taste. When made this way, my family and I love it, and the recipe deserves 5 stars just for being such and easy and nutritious weeknight meal. And it's especially quick if you're using leftover rice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2006

      Sorry we found this a little bland. However it did make a lot and was okay reheated.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2006

      My husband and I loved this which is why I'm rating it a 5. Would even be good on tortillas with salsa. The kids didn't care for it but they just aren't used to eating casseroles. The only change I made was adding some butter after it baked. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Casserole With Black-Eyed Peas

    Serving Size: 1 (182 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 345.1
     
    Calories from Fat 96
    28%
    Total Fat 10.7 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 5.3 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 51.6 mg
    17%
    Sodium 419.4 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.7 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    7%
    Protein 18.6 g
    37%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    black-eyed peas with jalapenos

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes