15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Allow me to begin by giving my thanks for an idea from which to start. I was at a complete loss for a vegan, soy free sour cream substitute until I discovered this one. However, I must agree that this recipe, if followed to the letter, does not taste like sour cream at all (more like cashews and lemon). My solution to the problem was as follows: I omitted the lemon all together and increased the apple cider vinegar to two tablespoons. Voila, perfect! For me personally (not the kids) adding a dash of dill and some garlic added a wonderful twist as well. :~)

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vegan4ever December 26, 2010

Love it...make this all the time...like to sometime use rejuvelac and less vinegar...sometimes add mince garlic...love it ww/ me carrots or raw crackers...put it in my raw borscht this past Christmas and thought it was about time I review this gem...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
free-free January 03, 2009

Actually, I found this recipe on a blog. It's become a staple in our house. I do up the salt to 1/2 tsp. and I add 1/2 tsp. onion powder and a tablespoon of dried chives to get rid of that cashew taste. My kids can't get enough of it, and I feel great knowing that it's so healthy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
His daughter November 09, 2008

Loved this recipe. It was easy, the right consistency, and very close in taste to sour cream. I'm going to try it out with some guacamole next. ;-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DBGal July 17, 2007

This makes my vegan heart sing! It's wonderful, and helps me keep my soy intake down.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CirceDoll April 25, 2007

This makes a great basis for add-ins, but would be too plain for me without. I roasted a vidalia onion and a few cloves of garlic to blend in with the cashews. I upped the vinegar, used Bragg's liquid aminos for salt, and didn't use any water at all. Wow, it tasted great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
janeinmia May 19, 2013

This tastes GREAT in the white chili I made. I plan to try it in other dishes, too. Plain, it doesn't really taste like sour cream, but it's hard to tell the difference in the recipe. For those who can't have dairy, or are watching their saturated fat intake, this is a wonderful substitute.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HealthyK March 20, 2013

I used only 1/2 a small lemon (about 1-2 Tbsp), only 1 tsp of apple cider vinegar, added 2 additional Tbsp of water, and soaked the cashews for 2 days. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwenfatfreevegan July 02, 2012

oops think I forgot to rate this on my post... it's a hi 5 for me

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kalegal May 10, 2011
Cashew Sour Cream - Non-Dairy Sour Cream Alternative/Substitute