13 Reviews

I would call this fast and easy. It needs a bit more taste with some sesame oil and I would add onions next time. Very good though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasha March 30, 2011

This was great and everyone who tried it loved it! To the sauce I added a little sesame oil and red pepper flakes. I also added some baby corn to the mix too. Once it was cooked I added a little Siracha hot sauce for some kick. Next time I may add some bok choy too. So much better than chinese take out.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicky D January 06, 2011

We liked this a lot. I would have liked some sesame oil in the regular oil next time. I used boneless chicken thighs and used bamboo shoots for the water chestnuts and I skipped the green peppers but I added some red pepper flakes for some heat. When it was time to add the cashews, I grabbed my can and realized it was almonds! I skipped the nuts too. It was still very good and I liked that is wasn't too sweet. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oolala January 15, 2009

This was a very delicious recipe. I had to substitute red pepper for the green but I don't think it changed the recipe any. Do try this excellent recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound November 30, 2008

My BF owns a Chinese restaurant, but this Cashew chicken is much better!! I used fresh garlic and ginger and added a touch of sesame oil to the sauce. Also, I stir fried the cashews in oil separately before adding to the dish. Excellent sauce and it looks great too. I will definitely make this recipe again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JOY1998 November 16, 2008

The best recipe on 'zaar. So fresh and filling. Loved it. I used brown rice and broccoli too, but no onions (picky boyfriend). I am planning on sharing this and making it again soon. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xraypinky July 20, 2007

My children do not like green pepper, so I used broccoli instead. I also used 1 1/2 tsp of fresh grated ginger as we have plenty of that. Unanimous raves for this dish. It will be made often at our house. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilovemy4kids May 09, 2007

Everyone loved this one! Nice thick sauce and delightful, sweet taste. Plus i don't agree that it's time consuming, it was done and gone in no time :D Thanks for sharing ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dinu May 06, 2007

I hope I did this right.. I will not give this recipe 5 stars because it Deserves 10 stars plus. Oh my goodness, this reminds me of a dish we had a chinese buffet before they sold.. Looneytunesfan, this is ONE of the Best chinese dishes I have ever tasted.. I doubled everything and if you like alot of spices I would recommend adding a pinch more. Our son who moved out came home to try it and loved it, He is taking some home. Our teenager had more than one helping which is why I recommend doubling this dish lol Thank you for a wonderful wonderful dish.. I would recommend this to everyone.. faith58

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
faith58 August 20, 2006

Really enjoyed this meal and a definite make again for us. Loved the crunch of the water chestnuts and the cashews. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jewelies August 11, 2006
Cashew Chicken