Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cashew Catfish Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cashew Catfish

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on February 08, 2007

      This was fantastic. DH said, "This is definitely a 'keeper'." The only change I made to the recipe was to use Lawrey's Tabasco seasoned salt. I forgot the lemon wedges at the end and it was still fabulous--I'll try that next time. It seemed to take more time to prepare than I expected, but it was well worth it. I served this with rice pilaf (Parmesan Rice and Pasta Pilaf) and green beans. Terrific. I will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2005

      This fish was very good. I felt the recipe was easy to make. I would of liked a little more flavor. Next time I will increase the basil and pepper in the flour mixture. Loved the unique flavor the cashews gave it. Not owning a non-stick pan, I used a cast oron pan. I don't know if this effected the outcome or not.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2005

    • on March 19, 2005

    • on March 18, 2005

      Well now.... I wanted a light supper and got one. This recipe is quick, simple, is just what it says and does not "dress to impress". Chef says it all: "Buttery, Crisp and Delicious". Perfect in its simplicity, easy in its preparation and tastes good too. Served with home fries a small lettuce salad, and a glass of chilled Chardonnay, life just does not get any better. Thank you Chef, for this uncomplicated approach to food preparation... I will keep this one!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2005

      I am sorry, but this dish did not turn out well for me. I followed the recipe exactly to the letter. The crust was very bland, and we could not taste the cashews flavor at all. I bought 2 fillets that weighed .77 pounds and cooked the first over medium high heat for 4 min on each side. The crust was burned and the fish was not done. So I cooked the second over med heat, and the same thing happened. Could it have been the powdered milk that caused it to brown too quickly? Also the cashews (chopped fairly fine) were too chewy. The poor result may have been something I did wrong, but I did follow instructions exactly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2005

      What a great recipe. It was easy and delicious. I didn't change a thing. Thanks for this creation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2005

      I made this recipe earlier this week, and wanted to get my reiew in for the contest... This was easy to prepare, and just delicious...The fillets have great flavor, and I loved the lemon squirted over the top before serving... Thanks for sharing such a delightful recipe with us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2005

      The cashews I chopped in the blended so I had some fine and some rough size. I did like that some was fine because it coated the fillets nicely. I added the remaining flour to the cashews which I did need to coat the 2 fillets.I browned stove top, flipped then place in a 400 degree oven for 10 minutes. And came out perfect!I did this because the nuts started to cook to fast on the one side and I knew it would not cooked through if I left it to cook stove top. I seasoned the fish after coming out of the oven with salt and pepper. This could use a little cayenne pepper as well.I garnished with lemon slices and fresh herbs. Pretty good dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2005

      I really liked the chopped cashews on this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2005

      I loved this! Very easy to do and with great results! The cashew crust is crisp and the fish moist and flakey. I didn’t need the whole amount of flour, so would decrease it slightly next time, leaving the seasonings as written. While I had extra flour , it took all of the cashews to coat the fish. I wasn’t sure how far to go in chopping the nuts. I used an electric chopper and got them about grape nut size. These worked fine, but I will chop them a little finer next time. This is a recipe I will use again! Great use of contest ingredients!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cashew Catfish

    Serving Size: 1 (293 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 769.2
     
    Calories from Fat 486
    63%
    Total Fat 54.0 g
    83%
    Saturated Fat 14.4 g
    72%
    Cholesterol 208.6 mg
    69%
    Sodium 1106.5 mg
    46%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.2 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 5.8 g
    23%
    Protein 41.2 g
    82%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites