Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Casbah Chicken with Orange Infused Basmati Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Casbah Chicken with Orange Infused Basmati Rice

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on January 06, 2004

      Ok, I know this is going to sound like the ultimate white trash review, but here goes. I had all the ingredients for this, was all ready to go, and then realized my husband had taken the last 2 oranges to work. Did we have frozen oj? Nooooo. But we had Sunny Delite. So I put a splash of that in with the rice and tossed in some lemon zest for good measure. Ditto for the sauce, although I left out the brown sugar because Sunny Delite is like 99 percent sugar anyway. Despite all that, the dish was excellent! The picky kindergartener ate a whole plate, which is unheard of, and DH and I loved it, too. I will make it again with real oranges someday, I promise. Or maybe not. Because Sunny Delite chicken was pretty awesome. Thanks, L!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2003

      Absolutely fabulous! The orange and spice combo is just awesome! I made a couple of adjustments...for one, I cubed the chicken and sauteed for a little bit longer, and added a couple of cloves of mashed garlic. The chicken was juicy, tender, and soooo flavorful! The orange rice complimented the chicken beautifully! My whole family loved it! Thank you for a fabulous recipe, Leeannr! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2003

    • on May 26, 2004

      I made this recipe exactly as listed, though I used currants instead of raisins that way I didn't have to chop them up. Still the same thing in my mind. It really was an excellent and beautiful dish. You would think it would be spicy or sugary. It's not. The flavors blended so well together that really the only distinguishable flavor was orange. Five of us ate it (all adults, and two of them picky; one picked off the currants and the other one the onions) I asked them if I should make it again. They all said yeah. Very cool. Thanks for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2004

      I've got to add my 5 stars to this one. I was expecting this to taste like Chinese Orange Chicken but instead it is more like a mild curry. The sauce is superb and I'm trying to come up with other ways to use it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2003

      We rated this a 10 star recipe in our household!!! I used 2 cups homemade chicken stock and added 2 tsp kosher salt (since the stock had no salt). I think I had more chicken than intended for the recipe, since it all wouldn't fit in one large pan. So I doubled the butter and oil, and cut up the pounded thin pieces to fit in the pan better and cooked it the first round in two batches. Fantastic recipe! Thanks leeann!!! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2010

      The recipe is really great. the taste is original, oriental. it reminds me of a great meal i once had in indian restaurant. And it is so easy and quick! i added more cayenne peper and it was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2010

      I didn't like this at all. I am probably not an orange chicken lover - so I didn't add any stars because I don't want to disagree with all the good ratings. Didn't like the rice, the sauce, or anything about this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

      I registered with Recipezaar just to rate this recipe. It's excellent, especially considering how easy it is to make. I cooked the rice in chicken broth instead of water with chicken base. It was so delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      This was awesome! Should have followed advice of making double the sauce (read after made recipe). Think next time (because you will want to make it again) I will cut chicken into strips. I thought was pretty good for spice because all family could enjoy including younger one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2009

      I made this with Almond Coriander Couscous instead of the orange basmati rice because I had a lot of fresh currants and wanted to use them up. This recipe was YUM! I followed it exactly and used fresh currants at the end (next time I'll use dried ones - much easier!) I did thicken the sauce with a little cornstarch. I will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2009

      This was pretty wonderful and it's pretty easy. Make double the sauce because that's the good part. I added a little rice flour (gluten-free) to thinken it more because it was too thin to my liking. I also didn't put any cayenne. I added fresh ginger chopped finely to the onion while cooking to give a bit more spice without the cayenne. You could use any chiken parts too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2007

      This is excellent, I'll eat it for dinner, leftovers for lunch later, and still be thinking about when I'm going to make it again. I'm not a raisin person, so I also use currants as mentioned in the other review. I have also used other cuts of chicken with no problem.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2006

      So far I've actually only had the rice from this dish. I needed directions to cook basmati rice for Exotic and Sweet Moroccan Chicken with Spicy Rice Exotic and Sweet Moroccan Chicken with Spicy Rice; this was the first recipe I came across and it looked perfect for that recipe. It actually was perfect for that recipe and I just noticed when I came back to write the review that this chicken has a sauce, and I was thinking the other recipe needed one, so I'll try that too next time I make the other recipe or just try this altogether. Thanks a lot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2004

      This was very good, but I wouldn't rave about it. I think I was expecting alot more after reading all the reviews. The sauce had a very nice flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2004

      This was probably the easiest and quickest dish I've ever made. My friend actually thought I spent hours making this. This was quite a treat, especially the rice. Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2004

      Awesome stuff! I added a pinch of ground cloves and used fresh oranges and more spice then was recommended. Also added zuchinni, sliced yellow onions and 2 cloves minced garlic. Deglazed pan after frying the chicken with white wine and added 1 tsp. cornstarch with a little bit more white wine to cut the sweetness and create a thicker sauce to cling to the rice. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Casbah Chicken with Orange Infused Basmati Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (376 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 443.0
     
    Calories from Fat 109
    24%
    Total Fat 12.1 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 4.8 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 83.7 mg
    27%
    Sodium 288.0 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.7 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 12.0 g
    48%
    Protein 31.7 g
    63%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites