Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Carthagenian Flank Steak Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Carthagenian Flank Steak

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on July 09, 2012

      I followed the recipe exactly. I really did not care for this marinade. It tasted oily and did not have much flavor. All I could taste was the lemon. Thumbs down here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2012

      The flavor of this steak was delicious and very balanced! No ingredient over-powered the other, and even with seemingly unrelated ingredients from different cuisines, like soy sauce (Asian), hot sauce (South Western) and turmeric (Indian), they all blended together very harmoniously. I thought of it as a melting pot marinade and wanted to try it just because of the interesting combination. I marinated the steak for about 12 hours and then grilled it for 8 minutes at 375? on the George Foreman indoor grill. I served it with with South African "vetkoek" (Bread Machine Recipe) and Braised Cabbage/Tanzanian and my DH discovered that the 3 recipes together make a delicious sandwich. Thanks for sharing this one, Happy Hippie! Made and enjoyed for the February 2012 African Recipe Tag game. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2011

      This was very good. Can't wait to try it on the grill! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2010

      Made this for dinner tonight and the whole family loved it. I marinated overnight and put it on my george foreman grilled and it was perfect. I can't wait to make when our son comes home from school. Thanks Lori this was awesome.. :) Made for what kids eat tag game on kk's. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2010

      I really like flank steak and this was a great way to cook it. I made the marinade, added the fresh, scored flank steak and put it in the freezer to have at a later time. It turned out great and the 4 minutes a side was great for a very rare steak in the thickest part - just how I like it! We had this with Mashed Potatoes With Corn & Cheese and carrots. Made for Kittencal's Grilling Game. Thanks Lauralie41! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      Great marinade! I was going to grill on bbq, but it rained, so I broiled the flank steak. Turned out great. I have fresh oregano in the garden, and the flavor of that really came through. I am going to use this marinade on a chicken, too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2010

      Excellent!! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2010

      This was delicious. It made the fat on the meat taste so good I wished I hadn't used such a lean cut. I think you could use this to marinate anything you wanted to grill or broil. I think I will!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      We all liked this very much. I did feel that it was a bit too oily but that can easily be cut down next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2009

      Very tasty marinade. It is such a interesting flavor; a bit of heat, but not too hot, a bit of sweet (I thought), but not too sweet. I marinated for about 60 minutes, and cooked it on the stove top (about 15-20 min in a pan). Next time I will probably marinate a little bit longer, and try a different cooking method (grill, bake or broil). I was a bit worried about the huge amount of oregano (and I used dried oregano), but while marinating and cooking, it almost dissolved and dispersed it's flavor. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      Nice marinade. If you marinade the steak longer, the yellow from the turmeric turns more to orange. Unique flavours & a nice change up from the other marinades. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2009

      We really enjoyed this! The blend of flavors is just different enough to be distinctive and a change of pace without being uncomfortably foreign. We had to substitute basil for marjoram, and used the broiler instead of the grill, but otherwise followed the recipe. Made for PRMR, Jan. 08.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2008

      What a tasty way to cook steak. The marinade gave this steak such a stellar taste. I added a bit more hot sauce to the marinade to kick ut up a bit. And also since it is quite chilly here I broiled the steaks instead of grilling. Very good recipe I plan on using much more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2007

      I'm sorry. It wasn't our favorite by any stretch. There is something missing that would turn this from okay to amazing. The turmeric made it a strange orange color that was unappealing. The marinade smelled like carne asada and maybe that is what I was expecting. I also cooked it on a grill pan and it smelled delightful while grilling but just didn't meet expectations when served. I will keep watching because I think with a small tweak it could be really good. I am just not sure what that tweak is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2007

      Wonderful marinade. We grilled this on a stovetop grill pan since it was so cold outside. This is a great way to cook flank steak. Thanks Lauralie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2006

      This recipe is an example of why I save recipes for future use. I really think this is one of the better recipes that I have tried and I'm an accomplished outdoor cook. Excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2006

      Wonderful recipe! I used sirloin tips and marinaded overnight. I served with grilled corn on the cob, a salad, and baked potatoes. A perfect summer dinner. Thank you for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2006

      I went with Annacia and did pork steaks. These were the bomb. I let it marinate most of the day and broiled it. I used stock instead of sherry, that was all I had. I love the change of pace for the pork and will definately make it again. Thanks for the awesome recipe. Jan

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2006

      I didn't have flank steak but I have to tell you that this made some wickedly good pork steaks! Also, I did them under the broiler and they turned out great. I put in 1 tsp of Tabasco and that was quite enough for our house. I served the pork with onion cous cous and peeled and sliced oranges sprinkled lightly with cinnamon and a sparkling apple juice to drink. So yummy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2005

      I was going to grill this, but it was just too cold outside so I roasted it in a 400 degree oven for 45 minutes. The result was very tasty and tender. Next time I will marinate the steak longer as I only marinated it for about 90 minutes. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Carthagenian Flank Steak

    Serving Size: 1 (343 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 652.4
     
    Calories from Fat 414
    63%
    Total Fat 46.0 g
    70%
    Saturated Fat 11.6 g
    57%
    Cholesterol 154.2 mg
    51%
    Sodium 690.8 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.3 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    11%
    Protein 49.9 g
    99%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes