13 Reviews

This is the same carrot recipe I've been making since I received a "Joy of Cooking" as a wedding present (many years ago!) It's the only way my family will eat cooked carrots. I use Smart Balance instead of butter these days, and I've also cut the amount in half, like a previous poster.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PhotoMama February 01, 2010

These were a nice change of pace for carrots. I had a ton in the fridge and didn't want the same old carrots as a side for dinner tonight, so I tried this recipe. I liked the sweet/sour tang from the sugar and lemon... I didn't have fresh chives or parsley, so I omitted the garnish. I had to cook the carrots a little longer than suggested to get them tender (maybe we just like super soft carrots). GNOME-TASTIC recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NELady June 30, 2009

Best carrots I've ever had. Ever. My son, who has never eaten any carrot I've ever served him, asked for seconds!!! I'm still recovering from the shock. Thank you for this easy recipe that's simple enough for a weeknight, but good enough for entertaining. Just wanted to mention that it took me about double the cook time given in the recipe (totally worth it). Made this with Honey Lemon Chicken and Potatoes With Rosemary for ZWT5 Jammin' Java Jivers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KissKiss June 10, 2009

A very enjoyable side. The carrots were baby cut which were halved. They were garnished with fresh garden chivesl. Made for Family Picks during *ZWT 5*

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG June 08, 2009

These tasted really good and were easy to make. I followed the recipe exactly but found that they were drenched in butter even after continuing to cook them for a few minutes after the water evaporated, so next time I'm only going to use one tablespoon of butter instead of two. I served these with Jerk Seasoned Steak and Garlic Herbed Mashed Potatoes (Bahama Breeze's Recipe). Made for ZWT5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Babzy June 04, 2009

Like the other reviewers, I am always looking for new ways to prepare carrots. This recipe rocks. Simple and very good. I used baby carrots, and about a teaspoon of sugar, otherwise followed the recipe. I can't wait to try this with parsnips, or a combination of the two together. Made for ZWT5, for the Hell's Kitchen Angels.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TxGriffLover June 04, 2009

What a nice way to eat carrots. I'm always looking for a way to serve them and this was really good. Thank you for posting! Made for ZWT5 & Dining Daredevils...(I made this dish on recommendation by 2 of my teammates :))

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mami J June 02, 2009

We loved these carrots. Like others I only used a pinch of sugar but otherwise made as written. The glaze from the butter, sugar and lemon juice was outstanding. Thanks for a super tasty side dish. Made for the Dining Daredevils team for ZWT5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SueVM June 02, 2009

These were delicious and looked beautiful with some freshly snipped parsley! I used baby carrots and omitted the sugar, they tasted great! Made for ZWT5, Dining Daredevils.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tomsawyer June 01, 2009

Tasty, and very easy. I used only a pinch of sugar, as we don't like very sugary carrots, and added a dash of garlic and black pepper. I used cold water, and didn't have a problem with its evaporating out before the carrots were cooked. Made for ZWT 5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chocolatl May 30, 2009
Carrots Vichy