Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Carrot Soup with Ginger and Lemon Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Carrot Soup with Ginger and Lemon

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on April 03, 2002

      This soup was EXCELLENT!! I've been curious for a long time now wondering what Carrot Soup tasted like, and now I know! I'll most definately be making this again...and again! It really is yummy!! I made some very nice dinner rolls to have with it! My husband and I both had a second helping each!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2003

      This soup is delicious! I love the combination of lemon, carrot, and ginger. I used chicken stock instead of vegetable and it turned out great. Served with a green salad and shepherd's pie. Another great recipe Mirj, thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2003

      This soup was very enjoyable and I will definitely be making it again. I think the ginger really sets off the flavour of the carrots.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2009

      I made this WONDERFUL soup several weeks ago, and frozen the leftovers. It's sublime. While preparing the soup I found two parsnips hiding in the crisper of the fridge so I grated and added them to the mix. I think they might have given the soup a "rounder" flavour. Will consider having this again at Christmas time at the family buffet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2013

      This soup is great! I sautéed the carrots, ginger and garlic in butter, then put the mixture in a crock pot. I reduced the vegetable stock to 2.5 cups since I used canned diced tomatoes in juice. I added the lemon zest, 1 T of curry powder, and 1 tsp of salt -- then cooked it on high for 6 hours. I only used 2 tsp of lemon juice, which was just right for my family. Thank you for a wonderful soup!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2012

      I really like the ginger with the carrots but I didn't like the tomatoes with the rest of the soup. To me, it tasted pretty bad and I had to throw the soup out. The carrots took over 40 min to get soft, so you really need to cut them up small.Sorry for a negative review!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2010

      Okay, I was prepared not to rate this because I have a personal vendetta against cooked carrots and I didn't want to take it out on the recipe. But, oh my word, this made a believer out of me! I will never again let our carrots from our CSA box go to waste in our fridge. This recipe is fantastic and I can't wait to make it for company as a first course to a fancy meal. Thank you so much for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2010

      This soup is OUTSTANDING! I have prepared it several times now. The last time I made it I added just a pinch of cayenne pepper and course ground pepper while the carrots were cooking. It gave it a little extra kick and the results were amazing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2013

      Your dinner guest was right on the money in saying it's a beautiful soup. I've just finished making a pot and even without adding the sour cream (which I will do), it's absolutely delicious with all of the flavours complementing each other so well. A new favourite I will make again for sure. Thanks for sharing, Mirj!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2012

    • on March 14, 2012

      This was a great recipe - very unusual - but in a good way! I've made it twice now and did use all of the lemon juice suggested and thought it was perfect. The only change I made was to add some cumin and some coriander - just for a little more flavor - and it got lots of ooohs and ahhs at the table both time . .. highly recommended !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2011

      Very easy to make and I can't wait to eat it for lunch tomorrow. I love that it is healthy too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2010

      I quite enjoyed this soup, though I may ease up on the lemon juice a tad next time (personal preference). I liked the thickness of it and the fact that it incorporated tomatoes and not just carrots! Straightforward and simple, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2010

      very easy review .... delicious !!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2010

      This was really good - a nice straightforward soup, with the ginger really setting off the carrot flavor beautifully. The overall flavor was surprisingly sweet! Will probably make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

      Yum yum. Great flavour, and healthy too. Thanks for a real keeper. I've already made it a couple of times!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2010

      Really lovely soup. We had really sweet carrots, so they flavoured the soup amazingly. I left out the tomato as I didn't have it, but otherwise made it exactly to the recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2010

      Wonderful soup! The combination of ingredients resulted in subtle tastes and gorgeous color. I ate bowl after bowl of it and had to convince myself to stop eating. I used fat free sour cream and added a little cayenne as RioFrio suggested. A hand blender made the blending process easier. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

    • on January 10, 2009

      Delicious soup! A brighter flavor than other carrot soups I've tried. The lemon and tomato add awesome layers to the flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Carrot Soup with Ginger and Lemon

    Serving Size: 1 (302 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 150.6
     
    Calories from Fat 51
    34%
    Total Fat 5.7 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 3.2 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 13.5 mg
    4%
    Sodium 146.4 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.3 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 6.2 g
    24%
    Sugars 12.1 g
    48%
    Protein 3.0 g
    6%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable stock

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites