29 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This soup was EXCELLENT!! I've been curious for a long time now wondering what Carrot Soup tasted like, and now I know! I'll most definately be making this again...and again! It really is yummy!! I made some very nice dinner rolls to have with it! My husband and I both had a second helping each!!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karin... April 03, 2002

This soup is delicious! I love the combination of lemon, carrot, and ginger. I used chicken stock instead of vegetable and it turned out great. Served with a green salad and shepherd's pie. Another great recipe Mirj, thanks.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miraklegirl March 05, 2003

This soup was very enjoyable and I will definitely be making it again. I think the ginger really sets off the flavour of the carrots.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zoe January 05, 2003

I made this WONDERFUL soup several weeks ago, and frozen the leftovers. It's sublime. While preparing the soup I found two parsnips hiding in the crisper of the fridge so I grated and added them to the mix. I think they might have given the soup a "rounder" flavour. Will consider having this again at Christmas time at the family buffet.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Muddycat November 18, 2009

This soup is great! I sautéed the carrots, ginger and garlic in butter, then put the mixture in a crock pot. I reduced the vegetable stock to 2.5 cups since I used canned diced tomatoes in juice. I added the lemon zest, 1 T of curry powder, and 1 tsp of salt -- then cooked it on high for 6 hours. I only used 2 tsp of lemon juice, which was just right for my family. Thank you for a wonderful soup!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
valentine0202 October 10, 2013

I really like the ginger with the carrots but I didn't like the tomatoes with the rest of the soup. To me, it tasted pretty bad and I had to throw the soup out. The carrots took over 40 min to get soft, so you really need to cut them up small.Sorry for a negative review!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen in Victoria, BC December 10, 2012

Okay, I was prepared not to rate this because I have a personal vendetta against cooked carrots and I didn't want to take it out on the recipe. But, oh my word, this made a believer out of me! I will never again let our carrots from our CSA box go to waste in our fridge. This recipe is fantastic and I can't wait to make it for company as a first course to a fancy meal. Thank you so much for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wildeyeris June 05, 2010

This soup is OUTSTANDING! I have prepared it several times now. The last time I made it I added just a pinch of cayenne pepper and course ground pepper while the carrots were cooking. It gave it a little extra kick and the results were amazing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RioFrio January 23, 2010

Delicious. Very easy weeknight soup. I used frozen diced onions, fresh carrots and canned tomatoes and may decrease the amount of tomatoes to 1 cup. The soup blended beautifully in my fancy blender, perfectly creamy without and added cream! Would definitely serve to company.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MSMD310 November 20, 2014

Your dinner guest was right on the money in saying it's a beautiful soup. I've just finished making a pot and even without adding the sour cream (which I will do), it's absolutely delicious with all of the flavours complementing each other so well. A new favourite I will make again for sure. Thanks for sharing, Mirj!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Soobeeoz December 15, 2013
Carrot Soup with Ginger and Lemon