Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    How-To: Tackle Turkey Intimidation
    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    Apple, Pumpkin & Pecan Pie: Oh My!
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Carrot Souffle Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Carrot Souffle

    Average Rating:

    60 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 60

    Sort by:

    • on May 21, 2003

      I've made this twice so far and will definitely be making it occasionally in the future. Both times, it was a winner in my house, once for DH and myself, and once with a guest. It's quick and easy and makes a great variation for a breakfast 'main' dish! Thank you for sharing this recipe Angela!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2004

      I made this exactly as the recipe was written and my results were nothing to rave about like the other reviewers had written. It was so-so, being that out of a family of five only my DH and son said it was ok. Personally I don't care for pumpkin pie and I thought this recipe had somewhat the same consistency. Sorry this recipe just doesn't fit our tastes, so I won't be making it again, but I don't doubt others would like it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2004

      Yummy!! A great alternative as a vegetable side dish. I too recommend using about half the sugar recommended in the recipe - its plenty sweet with this alteration. As a time saver, I will prepare the carrots early in the day to make the actual souffle preparation even quicker. I also lightly greased my baking pan although the directions didn't indicate it was necessary, I think it probably helps a bit. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2003

      What a great surprise!!! When you suggested this recipe I was reluctant to try it as I had never eaten or attempted to make anything quite like this before. Wow! I actually halfed the recipe not knowing how my family would take this new dish, but to my surprise it was absolutely delish! My kids, all three of them, fought for the last piece, which I might add, was only moments after we said grace!! My son kept asking "more carrots, muhlease(please)!" I will undoubtably make this again and I am truly glad that I have broadened my horizons and tried somthing out of our usual foods. Thank you so much for suggesting this recipe. I plan to make it again soon, and this time I will make the full recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2007

      This was wonderful! I didn't use the cinnamon or nutmeg because we like the the custardy carrot taste and that's exactly what we got but this exceeded our expectations. Thanks for sharing will make often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2003

      This was an amazing recipe! We only used 1/4 C sugar (because we don't eat alot of sweets) but it was more than sweet enough and very delicious! And my co-workers ate all the left overs the next day when I brought it in to work! My DH kept saying it almost tasted like "Sweet Pototoe Pie" You must try this. It is incredible!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2010

      I actually have a similar recipe to this, and I serve it as a side dish. I make a crumble top of Grape Nuts cereal, brown sugar, cinnamon and butter and cover the top with the mixture as it bakes. It carmelizes and is a nice crunchy topping!! I even eat this cold!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2006

      Like several reviewers, I used my handy immersion blender for this & halved the sugar to get a version less dessert-like & more vegetable in taste. It was still sweet, but more pleasantly so as a vegetable side dish to our roast duck dinner on Christmas Eve that combined a variety of flavors. As a veggie, you could prob reduce the sugar further. As a dessert, adding some crushed pineapple to the mix would likely take it to a new level. It is such a great recipe & makes you want to find as many ways as poss to use it. Thx for sharing it w/us.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2006

      This was a huge hit at Christmas brunch and I've made it again since. My grandson is a veggie-phobe, but loves pumpkin pie. He therefore also adores this stuff, as do the rest of us. I just put all ingredients into my food processor and pulsed until the steamed carrots were finely minced, no need to mash first. I also used raw sugar and whole wheat flour. Thanks for a scrumptious, easy, and healthy way to get carrots into an 8 year old boy (and his mother!).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2005

      What a great recipe! My 3 year old especially loved this dish. UPDATE to 4/2/05 review: I made this souffle for my Passover seder this year and people thought it was the best food I served. This time I used an equal amount of cake meal instead of flour. I left out baking powder because I couldn't get any. Instead I separated the eggs and whipped the whites with a mixer until they were stiff peaks. I tripled the recipe and poured into a baking pan.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2004

      I have prepared this recipe three times. Each time I have received great reviews. Everyone who has eaten the Carrot Souffle loved it. My grandkids do not like carrots, but they love the souffle. Thanks, it delicous Gloria Chapman

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2004

      I thoroughly enjoyed this and, frankly, would have no trouble eating this for dessert. The only change I made was a dash of salt, otherwise, followed the recipe and it worked perfectly. Nuked the carrots in the microwave (11 minutes at high - then let them 'sit' for another 20 minutes or so as I went about doing other things). We got a delectable souffle that I called a 'pudding' and we all enjoyed for dessert...is that too bizarre? Hey, if I can get my kids to eat carrots for dessert, I'm happy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2004

      I really enjoyed this carrot souffle. It had a wonderful texture and flavor and was very easy to prepare. I cut back on the sugar and added a pinch of salt. Thanks for posting this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2004

      This is a wonderful recipe. My husband usually turns his nose up at carrots when I make them. I didn't tell him what this was and he ate two servings and took the rest in his lunch the next day. It tastes similar to a sweet potato casserole that my mother makes but it's not quite as sweet which I like better. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2003

      ABSOLUTELY EXCELLENT is the only way to describe this dish. I used to have a recipe for carrot souffle and could no longer find it, so I consulted the web and compared several recipes and thought this would be the best of them all...and I was right! I used the food processor to puree the carrots first and then added everything else to finish the task making it fast and simple. Without a test run, I made the recipe for guests AND doubled it and had to share the recipe with one of my guests before they left. I realized long after the souffle and guests were gone that I forgot to double the eggs and it still tasted good. Next time, I'll use the correct amount of eggs but try egg beaters instead. I've also added this to my permanent recipe file as I know I'll be making it again and don't want to lose this one...it's a keeper! Thanks for sharing it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2003

      Excellent dish! Like some other reviewers, I used only 1/4 c. sugar and it was plenty sweet enough. I would like to try it with less butter to see how it affects the flavor. Also, you may want to double the recipe, as this did not go very far!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2003

      My DH and I are another satisfied reviewer, giving this wonderful recipe the full 5*****. I cut the sugar down by several tablespoons, but will put just less then 1/4 cup next time I make this. I cheated a little bit, by putting the hot drained carrots into my food processor, and then adding the rest of the ingredients on top. It pureed everything perfectly with no work on my part. I loved the texture of this souffle...so light and fluffy. I just can't wait to make it for my grandaughters. I'm so happy that I tried this great recipe, Love4Culinary...thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2003

      we all loved this for the holidays. i always like to makw sweet dishes and this one was perfect! it sliced up really nice into serving peices and the taste was delicious. the only thing wrong with this was that i didn't make enough for everyone to have seconds, so next time i'll be doubling this

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2013

    • on May 19, 2013

      I've made this recipe a few times for potluck events and it always turns out well. It is a nice alternative to all the other sweet potato casseroles in the line-up. I cut up and steam the carrots in the steam insert of my rice cooker, then process them to pulp in my food processor before combining with the other ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Carrot Souffle

    Serving Size: 1 (142 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 285.6
     
    Calories from Fat 162
    56%
    Total Fat 18.0 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 10.5 g
    52%
    Cholesterol 133.6 mg
    44%
    Sodium 283.6 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.8 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 20.4 g
    81%
    Protein 4.4 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes