21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe is wonderful! I have made it twice and my husband made a variation of it once when we had no onion. He decided to add pineapple to the recipe which was okay, but nowhere near as good as the original recipe. The onion makes it great!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leeloo78 April 20, 2002

I followed the instructions for leftover steamed rice and lo..! I had lovely dish sitting on my dinner table which vanished as expected. Very good. Mini

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mini Ravindran June 13, 2002

I had this this afternoon for lunch. I used 2 3/4 cups water, 3/4 tsp salt and 1/8 tsp pepper. I used about 1 medium-sized carrot. Instead of the butter, I used cooking oil. I liked this recipe except for the peanuts. What I found was that even a pinch of the powdered roasted peanuts imparted a very strong peanut taste to the rice(rather TOO strong for me and my parents). Hence, I omitted the peanuts. I find this rice perfect without them. The fact that it is low cal is simply great! Thanks, Anu!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani May 13, 2002

Excellent recipe! Easy, tasty and a great way to use up left over rice. Easy to make a large quantity for a large gathering. Thank you!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JF April 18, 2002

Easy to make, great flavor, and healthy. Thanks! -Chris

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christine Farrar January 17, 2002

I served this with Mean Chef's General Tso's Chicken, #52488 -- and WOW!! The two recipes together were amazing!!! Absolutely incredible blending of flavors. I must say that all by itself I probably would have given this rice a 4* rating -- mostly because as another reviewer said, the peanuts do impart a very strong flavor to the rice. Next time, I would add fewer peanuts to this dish to mellow the taste a little. I also stirred in some butter to the end result, and that helped to smooth it out. It was delicious! Thanks for sharing this recipe! Dianne

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pianolady January 03, 2005

I took Pianolady's advise and made this with Mean Chef's General Tso's Chicken, #52488... OMG! Dinner was a SMASHING SUCCESS!! My family thanks you for posting!! :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Markeyan February 19, 2012

It wasn't what I was hoping for... I found it a little bit dry. I ended up adding both peanut butter and soy sauce. Although, the grated carrots are a great idea for any fried rice type dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chesska February 07, 2011
Carrot Rice with Peanuts