44 Reviews

These were very good. I did take a few liberties based on what I read in reviews and just on our personal tastes. I used 1/2 cup sugar and about another 1/4 cup brown sugar. I subbed half the oil for applesauce, and I used half wheat flour in place of the all purpose flour. They looked and tasted great, and the cook time and temp were spot on. I appreciate that these are a fairly healthy snack and one that even my picky son enjoyed.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CulinaryExplorer March 22, 2011

I had some leftover canned pineapple, so I decided to give this recipe a try. The muffins are super good and both my husband and I said that these should definitely be made again. I used 1/2 c. Equal (I'm a diabetic) and 1/2 c. brown sugar instead of the 1 c. of sugar. Everything else remained the same. I filled my muffin tins to the top and got 10 beautiful, moist, and yummy muffins. The 20 minute cooking time was right on the money.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mintara January 06, 2013

Carrots and kids do not usually go together, but when my daughter first tasted these, she yelled out, Yum! and proceeded to eat almost two whole muffins in one sitting!! I made a few changes such as adding raisins and using half dark brown sugar. I also topped mine with almonds for some crunch. I was able to make 20 muffins with the changes to recipe, which, from my calculation, came out to about 140 calories per muffin. I froze the extras for snacking in the future. For more info. on what I did and for pictures, visit my blog.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katy Confidential February 08, 2012

To all the confused out there the word "drained" means use a can of crushed pineapple, although it may seem brilliant to use a fresh pineapple - you are making a bitter disaster! As the pineapple in its raw form is not only bitter when baking but the baking soda then causes the muffin to sort of explode upon itself this is not true when using canned syrup-pineapple. You will find the tops separating, and the structure of the muffin - for lack of a better word - implodes upon itself. However the flaw in this muffin is how sweet it is. CulinaryExplorer has provided some useful hints, though.

Thanks to her!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SiaraKitty September 27, 2011

These muffins really disappointed me. My boyfriend still ate them, but they didn't resemble what we expected based on all of the great reviews. They puffed up and then fell flat. I used a greased non-stick muffin pan. Several people said they didn't fill the cups more than 2/3-3/4. No one I read said why. I figured the cups overflowed a bit or the tops were puffier than desired. What I got was a flat cookie-like muffin top that came right off, and uncovered a bottom of muffin ruins. No cohesive muffin shape at all. I have crumbs. I squeezed all of the liquid from fresh finely chopped pineapple. The recipe doesn't say canned, so I used fresh. There were not nearly enough carrots for us. It was as though carrots were just an ingredient, not that they were carrot muffins. I agree with the sugar reduction. I reduced to 3/4 cup and could go less next time. I would use some whole wheat flour next time as it lacked heartiness. Think I would go for some raisins and walnuts next time too... then again, maybe I'll just use a different recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spy Girl July 10, 2010

Lovely muffin. I made the following subs to make them healthier: Replaced half the oil with 1/3 cup apple sauce. Used half the sugar Sub 1/2 cup wholewheat flour and 1 cup all purpose flour for the flour in the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chillibite December 26, 2009

Added nuts to the mix and they were to die for good! Wouldn't change a thing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dottie Doodles August 26, 2009

These were amazing. I (as many others) altered the recipe to make it healthier. I used 1/2 C applesauce (and then added oil to total the 2/3 C called for), I used 1/2 C sugar and 1/2 C stevia (to total the 1 C called for), and used 1/4 C plain protein powder and 1/4 C Whole Wheat flour. I baked them for 18 mins, but I should have let them go longer - they are so moist that they were hard to remove from the muffin pan. SO DELISH though!!! (and they came out to less than 150 calories per muffin , and I ended up getting 15 muffins from the recipe - maybe because of some of my substitutions)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennycooks April 30, 2015

Forgot to give it the stars - Definitely a 5 star recipe!
Enjoy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon from San Diego October 03, 2010

These are wonderful! They are a little sweet (reduce sugar by 1/4 c.) and very moist. They turned out beautifully and were a great addition to our Tuna-Quinoa salad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fab.butcher June 30, 2010
Carrot Pineapple Muffins