Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Carrot Orzo Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Carrot Orzo

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on March 15, 2010

      I liked it very much, my husband thought it was a litle bland though...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2011

      Veggies and carbs...the perfect balance of foods for thought.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2010

      Quite by accident I pre-cooked (boiled) half of the orzo before reading that it was to be sauteed, but I liked the variation in the textures between the two when combined. Also added red pepper just because it was around and getting soft, extra garlic because I'm conditioned by now to do so, and some extra fresh herbs. This is a definite repeater! Note: If you decide to do the split cooking method (boil half/saute half) remember to keep the cooking water to replace the water in the saute method portion for extra starchiness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

      This was very good. We love orzo and enjoyed this flavor. I added parsley and basil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2009

      Very nice recipe, I agreed with another reviewer and threw my my green onions in with the carrots as well. Everything turned out nicely and it made a nice side dish. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2009

      Delicious and easy. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      Sometimes you can just look at a recipe and know you are going to love it and that was exactly the case with this recipe. I have eyed this up for months and finally gave it a try and boy am I glad I did. I only made two changes. The first was to use low fat margarine instead of butter and that worked wonderfully well and cut a lot of fat. The second was with the green onions. I don't like raw onions at all. So, I put them in at the stage where the carrots and orzo were added and they ended up being beautifully done and really added to the taste. I loved this dish and it will be in my regular rotation. Made for Cookbook Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2008

      Great recipe that will call for repeats. Very easy to make but great flavor. Served with chicken and a salad, made for a great meal. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2008

      I was looking to use up some orzo, and it just so happened that I had every ingredient available at home so I picked this recipe! Was I pleased with the way it turned out. It had a mild and slightly sweet taste. I recently threw out my food processer so I used a mandoline to julienne the carrots. I used less butter and subbed vegetable broth for the chicken broth since we are vegetarians. Thank you for this contribution to a delicious dinner:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2008

      I used shredded carrots and left out the garlic and cheese. Added about 4 tablespoons green onion. I didn't have fresh Rosemary so I added a little of dried. Thanks for posting the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      This was wonderful - very refreshing, can't wait to serve it again when the weather gets hot! I used homemade chicken stock in place of the broth, otherwise left the recipe exactly as written. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2007

      Deliciously simple! I had to omit the rosemary as my kids don't care for it, but I believe it would have certainly been an enhancement if I had added it. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2007

      Yum. I increased the garlic, green onions, and added the rosemary to the broth while it was cooking; used chicken broth and white wine, Kosher salt and plenty of fresh ground pepper and it was divine! Thanks for the posting Juenessa.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2007

      This is certainly a good alternative to pasta or rice. The next time I would omit the rosemary as it just didn't appeal to my taste. I may even try adding chopped peppers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2007

      This was very good; perfect blend of flavors with the carrots adding nice color. I made this really easy, using pre-shredded carrots. I served this wonderful side dish with grilled fish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2007

      Wonderful recipe! I didn't use baby carrots, though. So getting out the food processor for 2 carrots seemed kinda silly to me. :) I hand grated in about the same amount of time it would have taken me to process it. Tasted so fabulous! Everyone (including picky picky DD) loved it. I loved that it went together fast, and my husband didn't cover it in salt. :) Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2007

      Great recipe, I browned the orzo with onions and garlic, I did increase the garlic and used all chicken broth, what a nice change from rice, thanks for sharing hon!...Kitten:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2007

      We really enjoyed this as a side dish with Spiced Maple Glazed Salmon and Baked Asparagus. This will be a keeper for us as a side to many fish and chicken dishes throughout the summer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2007

      Perfect, easy side dish - we loved it! Goes well with shrimp, fish, or chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2007

      This is a real keeper! What a nice blend of flavors, and the colors are so great. Went very well with salmon steaks. Thanks for posting this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Carrot Orzo

    Serving Size: 1 (266 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 263.0
     
    Calories from Fat 78
    29%
    Total Fat 8.7 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 5.0 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 20.7 mg
    6%
    Sodium 207.7 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.5 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    10%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 9.8 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites