Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Carrot-Orange Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Carrot-Orange Soup

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on February 07, 2002

      Just a hint of orange is all you can taste of the juice. Very nice. I believe I'll use 1/2 cup of onion next time. IT’S A KEEPER.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2001

      This soup is really creamy and hearty. Another keeper to add to my collection. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2012

      I really wanted to like this one. I did enjoy the first couple of bites, having never tasted Carrot soup before the flavor was interesting. But after the first couple of bites the onion got to be overwhelming. I didn't use a full onion and even some out during the last couple of hours of cooking but it was still too much. The last of the orange juice was very mild.

      I won't be making this again. The flavor was just not to my taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2009

      This was easy and tasty. I made some modifications that included: frying the onion in a little butter with some fresh dill and then adding to the crockpot along with the other ingredients. This softens the taste of the onion. I also substituted I cup of the stock with a 1/2 cup of water and a 1/2 cup of white wine. When serving, I swirled some plain yogurt in each bowl along some chopped fresh dill-- both added color and a nice fresh flavor. Dill works very well with carrots, particulalry when it is fresh.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      This is a surprisingly good soup. I am not wild about carrot soup ever -- and the family and I are wild about this!!! I've made it 3 times in the last month and my sweetie has asked me to make double batches. The orange juice is really important (though I once subbed tangerine juice which was great). I also added dried orange peel into the pot (it gets blended so don't worry about the consistency). Instead of cream, I used a cup of plain yogurt -- very yummy, less calories, more tangy. I also used more ginger (2x or 3x as much), a few stalks of celery, and garlic. Dress it up at the end with cinnamon, nutmeg, clove or allspice (or combos), and add some of those to the soup as well (after the blending, near the end). I also serve it with a dollop of yogurt. Such a good winter soup -- a new regular with lots of flavor and lots of health.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2008

      We really liked this recipe. The only change I made was to use evaporated milk instead of cream. Thanx for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      Luscious soup. I made it in a slow cooker in 6-hours. I added a tsp of orange zest and some grated nutmeg. And stirred in sour cream, because I didn't have whipping cream. A dusting of fresh nutmeg in each bowl took this soup almost to gourmet status. This was wonderful. Thanks Mary.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2007

      Sorry, but I found this had too much onion and was still kind of bland for me. I didn't add ginger and used half-and-half plus lemon yogurt for the whipping cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2007

      This was so easy to make, and the end result very good. I was able to make the recipe pretty much as written...for some reason, my cooking time on the carrots was MUCH longer than stated, "on high", but that was no problem as I was using a lazy Saturday to make it...just turned into Sunday soup instead of Saturday soup. I didn't have fresh ginger, so I used powdered in the beginning as well as at the end. Speaking of the end, it defintely needed "something" for us. I added allspice (no nutmeg on hand), more ginger, and a bunch of fresh ground black pepper. Very comforting and VERY carroty! Anyone who doesn't just love the flavor of carrots should move onto another soup. For me, delish, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2005

      This is a very good recipe. although I didn't have a slow coocker I've made it in a regular saucepan, and it came out wonderful. I did add nutmeg as suggested by Kydd.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2005

      Yummy and simple! I added 1/4 tsp of nutmeg and left out the pepper. Substituted whipping cream with plain yogurt...I ate the first bowl without any yogurt and it still tasted yummy. Nice cold soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2005

      I've tried a few recipies, but this one is by far my favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2004

      I have made other carrot soups and this one is by far the best! I use organic carrots because they have a sweeter taste. My kids won't eat it because they call it "baby food" but my guests ate it up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2002

      i thought this soup was very fabulous though my BF wasn't as thrilled. the flavor was mild, very elegant overall. i added some fresh dill as garnish, though i think i'll use green onions next time. substituted half-and-half for the cream and added about 1/2 tsp of sugar w/o incident.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2002

      Fantastic! This is such a wonderful and light meal that is very tasty. I recommend it to everyone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Carrot-Orange Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (222 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 152.6
     
    Calories from Fat 75
    49%
    Total Fat 8.3 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 4.8 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 27.1 mg
    9%
    Sodium 118.1 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.1 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 8.6 g
    34%
    Protein 4.2 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites