40 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe is excellent. I did make these changes to suit my tastes:
Sub'd 1C White Flour & 1C Almond Flour
Sub'd Brown Sugar for white
Sub'd Buttermilk for OJ
Sub'd Butter for Marg.
Added vanilla, 3/4 tsp Allspice, <1/2 tsp Ground Clove
Sprinkled Brown Sugar mixed w/ cinnamon on top before baking.

Next time I will cut back on the butter by 1/4 C.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nanbiondo May 29, 2012

Excellent recipe. I switched butter for the margarine as I refuse to use chemicals in my cooking. Not to mention butter tastes much better! ;) Used fine grate for carrots and the resulting cupcakes were dense and moist. I sprinkled a little sugar on top before baling to give them a crunchy sheen. Everyone loved them. Will definitely make again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GrumpyIrishLady November 14, 2011

Very moist. Not too sweet. Made as is, but used butter. My son wants me to put chocolate chips in next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mickey in MN May 12, 2014

Yummy! I used only reg flour because that's all I had. Also melted butter instead of marg and used 3/4 sugar after reading some reviews. Turned out perfect!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kles21 April 14, 2014

Great, tasty muffins. I used oil for the margarine and the muffins were so tender and light. I also used a generous 1/2 cup of sugar (because of others saying it wasn't sweet enough) and added some raisins. So easy and quick to make. I'll definitely be making this one again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen in Victoria, BC November 22, 2012

These muffins are delicious!! I used brown sugar and added 1/4 a cup of chopped raisins (used a food processor). I also topped them with a mixture of powder sugar and milk. They turn out really great!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nathaliecooks March 16, 2011

These muffins are pretty good, but I like them a bit sweeter, so next time I'll likely add a bit more - but they're healthier for the kids as is.
My substitutions:
Fresh squeezed orange juice whatever pulp I could get instead of regular OJ
1/2 butter & 1/2 vegetable oil instead of margarine
added about 1/2 cup of raisins (recipe was doubled)
forgot to add the vanilla that someone else recommended, next time...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
llebeer January 14, 2011

Delicious. I used canola oil and brown sugar as a previous rater suggested, and added 1/2 cup each of raisins and chopped walnuts. Will definitely make these again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather in Barrie January 03, 2010

We baked these for an early morning birdwatching stint and everyone loved them. Here's what I did differently: 1/2 cup canola oil vs. margarine; 1/2 cup raisins; and 1/2 cup brown sugar vs. white. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla extract and an extra dash of cinnamon.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PainterCook May 10, 2009

We loved these muffins. They are very moist, have wonderful flavor, and hold very well, getting even better after a day or two. I followed the recipe, except for substituting real butter for the margarine and adding extra cinnamon. Thanks for posting the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GaylaJ March 12, 2006
Carrot Muffins