12 Reviews

What a find! Being a diabetic prevents me from having potato latkes. These hit the spot. We added more scallion and garlic and baked them as per other reviewers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook D April 26, 2008

We quite liked this, but thought it could benefit from some extra seasonings. I should have added some herbs. Still quite nice, and I will make it again with this revision in mind.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eatrealfood December 03, 2007

Oh my, these were quite delicious! I like finding different ways of preparing vegetables so that boredom does not set in cooking or eating them! Thanks Nan, will definitely make these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bokenpop aka Madeleine December 30, 2005

We enjoyed these, but I probably under seasoned them. I think we also missed out by not having them with sour cream (I was in a bit of a rush, we were going out that evening). However now that I've seen the other reviews (especially Toni's - Cardamom Applesauce, mmmm) has made me want to try these again. I also think these would be good with a little lime juice sprinkled over.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs B November 07, 2005

One word--YUMMY! Since my family isn't Jewish and keeping Kosher isn't important, I used crushed cracker and bread crumbs (half & half) instead of matzo. I also used an onion instead of scallions since I didn't have any on hand. These were quite delicious, but I will have to wait until I get my food processor fixed to make these a second time. Grating the carrots by hand is both painful (arthritis :() and time consuming. Still, I'm not letting this one get lost somewhere in the endless recipe folder!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenSmith October 14, 2005

These were truly fantastic! I loved these so much I could have eaten a whole plate of them! I found I needed more meal than the recipe stated to get my latkes to the desired consistency - I halved the recipe for the two of us but used 3 cloves of garlic, not too much at all! Served with sour cream and much drooling!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
currybunny October 10, 2005

These were easy, delicious, & fun to eat. A great way to get veggies into kids. We all loved them make a double batch!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elmotoo October 07, 2005

What a fun way to sneak another vegetable onto the supper table. Since we wanted these both savory (sour cream & scallions) and sweet (sour cream & applesauce), I replaced the scallion with a few teaspoons of finely chopped shallots. (For the applesauce, I used Cardamom Applesauce Cardamom Applesauce). I also used the baked latke method (see baked latkes Baked Latkes) with a total baking time of 22 minutes. Just yummy. Thanks PanNan.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni October 02, 2005

These were a big hit at dinner tonight. I did add 2 cloves of garlic and used breadcrumbs in place of the matzo meal - I also reduced the amount of oil to just a couple of tablespoons. This was my first try at latkes and it won't be my last. A great tasty and different way to serve carrots. Thanks PanNan!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fairy Nuff September 15, 2005
Carrot Latkes