Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Carrot Latkes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Carrot Latkes

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on July 10, 2008

    • on April 26, 2008

      What a find! Being a diabetic prevents me from having potato latkes. These hit the spot. We added more scallion and garlic and baked them as per other reviewers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2007

      We quite liked this, but thought it could benefit from some extra seasonings. I should have added some herbs. Still quite nice, and I will make it again with this revision in mind.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2005

      Oh my, these were quite delicious! I like finding different ways of preparing vegetables so that boredom does not set in cooking or eating them! Thanks Nan, will definitely make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2005

      We enjoyed these, but I probably under seasoned them. I think we also missed out by not having them with sour cream (I was in a bit of a rush, we were going out that evening). However now that I've seen the other reviews (especially Toni's - Cardamom Applesauce, mmmm) has made me want to try these again. I also think these would be good with a little lime juice sprinkled over.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2005

      One word--YUMMY! Since my family isn't Jewish and keeping Kosher isn't important, I used crushed cracker and bread crumbs (half & half) instead of matzo. I also used an onion instead of scallions since I didn't have any on hand. These were quite delicious, but I will have to wait until I get my food processor fixed to make these a second time. Grating the carrots by hand is both painful (arthritis :() and time consuming. Still, I'm not letting this one get lost somewhere in the endless recipe folder!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2005

      These were truly fantastic! I loved these so much I could have eaten a whole plate of them! I found I needed more meal than the recipe stated to get my latkes to the desired consistency - I halved the recipe for the two of us but used 3 cloves of garlic, not too much at all! Served with sour cream and much drooling!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2005

      These were easy, delicious, & fun to eat. A great way to get veggies into kids. We all loved them make a double batch!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2005

      What a fun way to sneak another vegetable onto the supper table. Since we wanted these both savory (sour cream & scallions) and sweet (sour cream & applesauce), I replaced the scallion with a few teaspoons of finely chopped shallots. (For the applesauce, I used Cardamom Applesauce Cardamom Applesauce). I also used the baked latke method (see baked latkes Baked Latkes) with a total baking time of 22 minutes. Just yummy. Thanks PanNan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2005

      These were a big hit at dinner tonight. I did add 2 cloves of garlic and used breadcrumbs in place of the matzo meal - I also reduced the amount of oil to just a couple of tablespoons. This was my first try at latkes and it won't be my last. A great tasty and different way to serve carrots. Thanks PanNan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2005

      Thank you for posting this recipe, PanNan. I hadn’t made carrot latkes before, but when I read through the ingredients this recipe really appealed to me, and I was not disappointed. I made the latkes with some deliciously sweet baby carrots, and I added 4 cloves of garlic, minced, instead of the ½ clove. Next time I make these, I’ll probably double the garlic. I didn’t have any matzo meal on hand, so I used wheat germ, which worked out fine. In order to reduce the fat content, I followed chia’s instructions – for baked latkes Baked Latkes – and baked the latkes in the oven. And then everyone enjoyed them with sour cream – also reduced fat. Absolutely delicious! I’ve been asked to make them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2005

      These are very good!! I cut the recipe in half..too be honest..I wanted it...to take a picture (unable to figure out how) lol. So instead I have sat down to eat!! The only changes I made...I used a whole garlic clove. I will make these again real soon so DH can try them fresh!! Thank you for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Carrot Latkes

    Serving Size: 1 (219 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 444.6
     
    Calories from Fat 326
    73%
    Total Fat 36.3 g
    55%
    Saturated Fat 8.1 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 118.4 mg
    39%
    Sodium 134.4 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.8 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 5.6 g
    22%
    Protein 6.6 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites