10 Reviews

A lovely simple dish we ate along with a chicken curry last night. There was just a nice bite to it, and the coconut milk (I used light) gave it a lovely creamy finish. If the chicken curry hadn't had coriander leaves over it, I think I would have sprinkled a few over this. Too good to keep just for curries though-I am going to have this alongside a chicken breast or a steak soon.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS April 16, 2004

you will be missed , this recipe is awesome im glad you posted it hugs to your family

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dienia B. June 28, 2015

I was keen to try this as Jaffery's recipe has always been a hit in my house and an excellent way to increase the amount of vegetables we're eating. This was flavorful but seemed to be missing something to elevate it to Jafrey's usual 'wow' status. The general reaction at the table was unimpressed and thus the search for interesting vegetarian dishes continues.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mgnbos December 13, 2008

Absolutely delightful! This was easy to make, requiring minimal ingredients and definitely would make this again & again. I had this with some paratha I bought from the supermarket and cleaned up every last drop of the sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Domestic Princess March 23, 2008

This is a recipe worthy of many, many repeats! I loved the flavour, as well as the lovely colour on the plate. The only change I made (of necessity because I have no grinder at the cottage) was to add whole fennel seeds when I cooked the shallots, but I'm sure that did not alter the excellent end result. Thank you for submitting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Baboo September 12, 2007

Not sure if I'll make this again,but overall it was a tasty recipe and a nice accompaniment to an Indian meal. Thanks for posting, chia! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noor.Khalid September 06, 2007

This was totally awesome! I'm serving this with some fried rice. If serving with roti, I suggest dicing the carrots instead of slicing in circles. Now to the changes - I used this recipe as a base to create a curry to suit my taste. I didn't measure either the carrots or the coconut milk. I did dilute the coconut milk however, because I didn't want the dish to end up too sweet. I also didn't stick to the suggested spices - I skipped fennel and added garam masala. Used hot chili powder insead of cayenne, forgot the turmeric and skipped the curry leaves. I'm afraid I also substituted white onions for the shallots as I didn't have any. This is one of those recipes that make me wish there were more stars. Yummy! Thank you chia for the inspiration!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dimpi April 29, 2006

Nice curry! I omitted anything hot and it left the dish a tad sweet for my tastes, so next time I'll experiment with other spices. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandi (From CA) April 19, 2006

Prepared just as stated, including curry leaves---this is a delicious dish. My husband doesn't like carrots, but this got him eating them, and gladly. Served with a simple broiled fish fillet and rice (which was good to soak up the lovely curry liquid); they allowed the carrots to take center stage and deservedly so. Thanks for posting !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FlemishMinx May 16, 2004

This dish is simply fabulous! This was very flavorful; I've never had carrot curry before, but I must say that after having it now, I will probably be having this quite often! I love the addition of coconut milk in this dish. I wouldnt leave the curry leaves out :) but that is my opinion! I added just a bit more cayenne for our tastes, but other than that did everything as stated. I served this with parathas. Thanks for the recipe!!! :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
love4culinary May 14, 2004
carrot curry