17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a great carrot cake,it would be great to take to a potluck too as it makes a large pan.I had carrot juice I wanted to use up and this was a great place to use it!The icing was perfect also,not too sweet or sickly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuuvBunny January 24, 2014

With the extra step of juicing carrots for fresh carrot juice, I really wish it would have come through in the flavour more. A great carrot cake though, and I appreciate that it is "healthier" with all the added carrots:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u July 21, 2011

We loved this! Even my children who swear they don't eat carrot cake gobbled it down. Omitted the nuts, otherwise no changes. Cake was moist and stayed lovely for several days in the fridge. I found this recipe when looking to use up some carrot juice, now I have to buy more to make it again! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama July 28, 2010

I thought this was EXCELLENT! I ran out of carrots to make the 3 cups (I only had 2 cups) so instead I added a little more carrot juice (1 full cup) to make up for it. Oh and instead of cream cheese, I used the lower fat version, nueftel (I can't spell), and it turned out fine. Excellent recipe, thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mmmmmmm! June 01, 2010

I've made quite a few carrot cakes on Zaar now, and while this was good - if I had to compare, it did not rank right up there with the best of them. I suppose the juice in place of the extra oil that most other recipes have, gave it a lighter, more fluffy texture instead of the moist, dense texture that I prefer in carrot cake. Still, this was a good, tasty cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eatrealfood September 21, 2009

Flavorful, moist and delicious cake! I rarely eat, and have never made, carrot cake, but this was great! The only reason I made it today was because I purchased some carrot juice that is about to expire and this looked like a fun way to use it up. When I asked DH what he would rate this (and he always rates lower than me), he said, "Five stars, without a doubt". He loved the frosting, too! The only change I made was to add about 1/2 cup less sugar, and we thought it was plenty sweet. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hepcat1 May 03, 2009

This is a great and easy carrot cake recipe, especially if you can buy carrot juice and shreds. I've brought this to work and many people like the fact that it is not an overly sweet cake. This cake also freezes well. Since there are only two in my household it is nice to be able to cut the cake up into individual servings and freeze for later.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Djinni November 14, 2008

So I decided to go with this recipe out of the thousands in recipezaar because I had a huge bag of carrots that I wanted to use up and I thought I would end up using more carrots by being able to juice them. I LOVED this recipe! It ended up looking like the one in the picture. It's not terribly sweet and I used the pulp from making the carrot juice and using it as my grated carrots for the cake. I will definitely be making this one again. My co-workers loved it. It was SO moist!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
janice.omalley July 18, 2008

We LOVE this recipe... we substitute some apple sauce for the oil and use eggbeaters and different flours and it STILL comes out great each time! This is a GREAT recipe...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DancingCandyCane November 27, 2006

You have outdone yourself with this recipe Barb. Everyone said it was the BEST thing I have ever made. Give most of credit to you. live in a small town, did have trouble finding carrot juice. Drove 30 min to bigger city paid almost $3 for the carrot juice. But it was well worth it. The only thing I will change the next time is I wont add that much walnuts in the cake. I did add them to the top of icing also.I know what I'm bring to Thankgiving this year.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Got Milk? September 07, 2006
Carrot Cake With Carrot Juice