12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great cake! I made this same cake after finding it on another recipe web site. It is absolutely incredible. The only thing I found different in your recipe is the last step in which you say to "fill with lightly sweetwened cream cheese filling and frost with butter cream frosting". How do you "fill" the cake? Additionally, I left out the raisins, just because I don't care for them and I used an Allspice Cream Cheese frosting. Each time I've made this cake I've had lots of requests for the recipe. It truly is scrumptious.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CCinSC April 30, 2002

Hi CC, the filling is the 'frosting' that goes between the layers.....

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Steve_G April 30, 2002

This cake is OUT of this world for taste and it keeps WELL; I have tried many carrot cake ones;this is the best by far..

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mariep48 September 20, 2008

Phenomenal!!! Just made it tonight - super moist, not too sweet - and everyone loves it! Somehow soaking the carrots in the brown sugar ahead of time made them not so chewy but more soft and yummy. Awesome job!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
paula_rockwell July 01, 2008

Excellent, super moist, carrot cake! I omitted the raisins because I made this for my dad, and he didn't want raisins in it. I also used canola oil, instead of vegetable oil. It turned out GREAT!! I would definitely make this recipe again! Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beckybbop March 13, 2008

This is a wonderful cake! Five stars just isn't enough! I made it last night for a co-workers' birthday today. I baked it in my 12 x 18 x 3 pan for 45 minutes -- it rose nice and high -- cooled it and then frosted it with my cream cheese frosting. It was gone in no time. Everyone asked for the recipe. Thank you for a wonderful recipe that I will definitely make again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sklhczech October 12, 2007

Yum!!!! My family is allergic to nuts, so I substituted a cup of coconut instead. It was fabulous! I am making a big batch today for the bottom layer of a wedding cake. I am sure it will be a hit!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelly McPherson March 26, 2007

The very best carrot cake I have ever eaten. Thanks so much for this recipe. And you are right get use to shredding carrots. With the left over pineapple I added to the frosting and it was delicious.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teairayolanda September 27, 2006

I made this cake for my mother's birthday and everyone raved that this was the best carrot cake ever. I soaked the raisins in the pineapple juice while the carrots were soaking in the brown sugar and frosted the cake with an orange cream cheese frosting. It was wonderful! The only carrot cake recipe I will ever use.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bbruns July 21, 2014

Great moist cake. Made it for my mothers 50th Birthday. I soaked the raisins in hot water while i had the carrot and sugar set aside. Also after setting the carrot aside with the sugar i had a lot of liquid in the btw of the bowl that i removed. Would be using this recipe as my main carrot cake recipe from now on!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hard62 November 26, 2011
Carrot Cake - Large