27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This cake is really delicious! It is big, but the three of us gobbled it up in just one day, there was only a tiny piece left for next day's breakfast. I was in a hurry when making it and accidentally mixed sugar with other dry ingredients instead of beating it with eggs, but the cake still turned out well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nat L September 22, 2010

I actually made this several months ago and it was fabulous. It was gobbled right up.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Littlemotherhaywood May 15, 2010

This cake actually needs 10 stars, because apart from being loved by both me and husband (2 stars), cheap (third star), idiotproof (fourth star) and survives the most primitive oven (fifth star), my toddler loves it - it is the only cake she has ever been known to eat - which is an extra four stars - plus it has given me a reputation in the neighborhood for being a great baker, and neighbors are always inviting me round for tea and dropping hints about me bringing some of that cake along. Ten stars in total. Seriously - I am the world's worst baker. This recipe makes people think I'm a natural born cake-r.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tigrrboxer January 04, 2010

Thanks for a great recipe. I baked it in a tube pan, and also added some nutmeg to the batter!!!! So yummy, with or without cream cheese frosting!Thanks once again,

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
azoresgal May 09, 2007

Taste great. I can't imagine I can cook this wonderful cake so very easily. But the calories are high so even I love eating it, I won't make it always.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
keivin41 May 04, 2007

This cake is really tasty. I halved the recipe and baked it in a 2lb loaf pan and was done after about 55 minutes. It was browning quite a bit after 30mins so had to cover it with foil for the rest of the cooking time. I will be making this again! Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
laranina September 15, 2006

A perfect 9X13 fit, right to the top, rose well, smells great, and looks fabulous... Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pamela Joyce Ochsner November 02, 2013

This is the absolute best carrot cake I have ever made or eaten, and I've had lots of people ask me for the recipe. It's perfectly moist and delicious! I used to ice it with cream cheese icing, but I can't eat icing sugar any more, so I made an icing from mascarpone cheese, simple syrup and the juice of one lemon. Honestly though, this cake is sweet and moist enough that you could eat it as a muffin.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sameveel July 22, 2013

I made some changes - used whole wheat flour, substituted apple butter for about half of the oil, added 1 cup of chopped walnuts, and some nutmeg. Not super moist but lighter in texture and very tasty. Cooked in 2 pans (8 inch I think) for 45 mins

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Red Jenny December 08, 2012
Carrot Cake