27 Reviews

VERY good carrot cake recipe, even though the two 9-inch layers did not rise much for me (you did not say anything in your recipe about the pan size, so I had to guess). I frosted the cake with a wonderful cream cheese frosting which consisted of one 8-oz cream cheese, 1/4 lb. of butter, 1 tsp. vanilla, and one pound of confectioner's sugar. Thanks for sharing a wonderful recipe.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
-Patrish September 25, 2009

Very moist, light and fluffy. I was so glad it wasn't heavy with oil.Absolutely delicious...The only thing I added was a bit of nutmeg for some extra spice. I baked it in a 9x13 pan for about 45 minutes.This was a hit today for Mother's Day diner. Thank you so much for this recipe, it's a keeper!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zaprudrr May 11, 2008

I just hate it when someone rates a recipe that they've changed, sometimes EXTENSIVELY, so when I am weighing whether I want to make something, I can't decide if I like the recipe or not from the review. That said (!), I made muffins with this recipe, and, after reading up on other carrot cake recipes before deciding on this one, added a little nutmeg with the cinnamon. Mmmmmmmmm. Good. I've never made carrot cake or muffins before, and these were a HIT. I brought them with my kids to a friends, and all kids gobbled these up as well as the adults. Without any icing -- just accompanied by milk. This is a definite "make again" recipe. Easy and delish. Thanks for posting.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef AprilAllYear April 23, 2006

Very good! Instead of cream cheese frosting I used Orange Icing and would love to try with caramel frosting, too. Really enjoyed a carrot cake with no raisins or pineapple. Baked in a 13x9 pan about 40 minutes. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama April 11, 2010

This was very good, very moist and yummy. I halved the recipe and used a 9 inch cake pan and cooked for 45 minutes. I did add some nutmeg as other reviewers had and also walnuts and golden raisins. Very good and will for sure make again. Doesn't even need frosting!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LaurelGon June 08, 2008

I added walnuts & a teaspoon of mixed spice then made it into cupcakes. I can't remember the cooking time. Topped them with passionfruit cream cheese frosting and they were a hit! None were left for the next day, my friends polished them all off.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suzi Q in oz January 31, 2011

I used this recipe to make carrot cake muffins which we really enjoyed. Did frost them but hubby said he thought they would be good without. I added pecans in and replaced over half the oil with apple sauce - also added nutmeg as reviews suggested.
Asked to repeat them - soon! Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ssinspain January 24, 2012

Thank you SO much for posting this - and noting in the explanation there were no raisins or pineapple! My neighbor gave me a ton of carrots and I didn't know what to do with them. Thought I'd try a cake - and it was the BEST cake I ever made!!!! The only thing different was I used buttercream icing instead of cream cheese. Used a 9x13 pan. This really made my day. First time I've ever enjoyed carrots! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nranger7 December 13, 2011

I added
1/2 cup chopped walnuts
1/2 cup shredded sweetened coconut
Baked at 350f in THREE 8 inch round pans for 30 minutes

After adding the nuts & coconut it's moved up to 5 stars !!

Of course finished off with cream cheese icing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anna's Mama April 21, 2011

Perfect! I added shredded coconut, cardamom and ground ginger.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sartreana November 24, 2010
Carrot Cake