Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Carrot Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Carrot Cake

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on November 08, 2003

      I made this according to the recipe, with no substitutions. The cake tested done and looked beautiful out of the oven, but it turned out much too moist for us. It's almost a pudding. I think this is a factor of the comparatively large amount of oil in the batter. Out of curiosity, I checked out some other carrot cake recipes on Zaar, and found that some popular cakes have an even greater proportion of oil. These cakes have been praised by their reviewers as being moist. So I guess it's just us. The cake also didn't seem to be spicy enough. I think this is just proof that we are all different. Thank you for giving me a chance to define my preferences.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2010

      this recipe works time and time again perfectly for me, i often make a double recipe, mixed together in a giant bowl, half it by eye for baking then freeze the 2nd one. i drop the oil quantity a little if i'm trying to be healthy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2010

      This is me again, just to say that muffins will NOT work with this dough. Mine have just came out of the oven - completely flat, at places burnt and they don't smell very nice. Oh dear. It looks like the dough has been too watery, maybe I should have added flour. I think the proportions had to be changed but being a beginner at baking I don't really know how and what to change. Luckily I still have some dough left so I'm going to use it to make a small cake. Coz yesterday's cake already gone! I give your recipe 5 stars because the cake is even tastier the day after and it freezes well (but how long can I keep it in the freezer?). Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2010

      I think you have just made me an awesome baker in the eyes of my very skeptical fiance(who believed I couldn't bake). this was so perfect. It was such a hit with my family- even those who don't like cake, took seconds. It was just the right amount of sweet for them(though it could have been a tad bit sweeter for me). Also, I added walnuts to complete this cake...wonderful addition- about a cup and a half would be a great addition.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

      SUCH a great cake. So moist it almost looked uncooked when I took it out of the oven. My son adores it. I made it to freeze for school, and the cake was so lovely and sweet I saw no reason to bother icing it. The only negative was that the directions to make frosting seemed a little incomplete - but like I said, it really didn't need it. I had to use olive oil instead of veg oil, but the cake was perfect anyway. Thank you. Will be making this one on quite a regular basis

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      This is a very good recipe! I substituted half the oil with applesauce, and I wish it would have been just a little more moist, next time I'll use just the oil. I also cheated on the frosting due to lack of time :) and used the package stuff. Still good. Everyone enjoyed it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2009

      Wonderful cake! I baked mine in a tube pan and used my usual cream cheese icing and it turned out great. This is a very moist, flavorful cake. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2009

      Delicious! I halved the recipe to make cupcakes for a quick dessert for my preschoolers. I replaced much of the oil with applesauce and used more carrots than it called for, and the results were amazing. My (picky) husband came home couldn't stop eating them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2009

      I'm a newbie at baking so when I saw how simple this recipe was, I had to try it. I didn't have a bundt so i just used a square pan. I'm not sure how it would turn out so i used half portions of the ingredients, except for the icing though! Hahaha! It was soft and moist and really tasty! My husband said it tasted really great considering it was my first time to bake! Looking forward to more simple recipes! =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2009

      This is the tastiest carrot cake Ive ever had! I left out the raisins and added peacans. I also halved the recipe - worked like a charm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2009

      better than store bought carrot cake!! for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      Awesome! I made this for my husband's birthday and everyone loved it. I did substitute the raisins for walnuts. Super easy to make too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      Im a 23 year old doctor from india. Im a novice baker ( this being my third cake ever) .I chose this recipe from about a dozen carrot cake recipes , because of its ease and also because husbands are critical judges , and this one passed ! I made a lot of mistakes during the process. For one , i halved the recipe, and then i used a bundt whose size i didnt know, as a result of which i didnt know how long to bake it , but baked it for 40 mins anyway ! my cake ended up looking slightly brown throughout as opposed to orange-ish...obvious signs that it is overbaked :( i am yet to taste it because i want my husband to come home and see it before we can dig in ! i will post on how it turned out .. however , i learnt a lot of important baking lessons from this cake .. and i really want to thank you for that , marg will definitely make this again... only better next time. and i will rate it too , then . Thank you very , very much..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

      Fantastic! I didn't make the glaze, I did a standard cream cheese frosting. The cake was so moist! I'm going to try making cupcakes...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2007

      Must say i am not a big carrot cake fan but my wife tried your recipe and i must say it was good. Thanks .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2006

      Made this up for the Thanksgiving dessert table this year, but instead of using the glaze I made a sour cream/cream cheese frosting. It worked out very well and everyone commented on how delicious and moist this cake was. Will post picture as soon as puter is fixed to accept my camera disc again. Thank You for a wonderful recipe, definately a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Carrot Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (161 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 522.5
     
    Calories from Fat 243
    46%
    Total Fat 27.0 g
    41%
    Saturated Fat 4.9 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 69.8 mg
    23%
    Sodium 534.7 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 67.0 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 47.9 g
    191%
    Protein 4.9 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites