17 Reviews

I made this according to the recipe, with no substitutions. The cake tested done and looked beautiful out of the oven, but it turned out much too moist for us. It's almost a pudding. I think this is a factor of the comparatively large amount of oil in the batter. Out of curiosity, I checked out some other carrot cake recipes on Zaar, and found that some popular cakes have an even greater proportion of oil. These cakes have been praised by their reviewers as being moist. So I guess it's just us. The cake also didn't seem to be spicy enough. I think this is just proof that we are all different. Thank you for giving me a chance to define my preferences.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mianbao November 08, 2003

Great recipe, I made just a few minor changes. Increased the carrots to 4 cups (grated) and used nutmeg and allspice in addition to the cinnamon. I had a crazy idea and cooked the batter in my WAFFLE IRON. It turned out wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
t. arnold g. April 09, 2016

this recipe works time and time again perfectly for me, i often make a double recipe, mixed together in a giant bowl, half it by eye for baking then freeze the 2nd one. i drop the oil quantity a little if i'm trying to be healthy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sea chef April 23, 2010

This is me again, just to say that muffins will NOT work with this dough. Mine have just came out of the oven - completely flat, at places burnt and they don't smell very nice. Oh dear. It looks like the dough has been too watery, maybe I should have added flour. I think the proportions had to be changed but being a beginner at baking I don't really know how and what to change. Luckily I still have some dough left so I'm going to use it to make a small cake. Coz yesterday's cake already gone! I give your recipe 5 stars because the cake is even tastier the day after and it freezes well (but how long can I keep it in the freezer?). Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eva_anita April 19, 2010

I think you have just made me an awesome baker in the eyes of my very skeptical fiance(who believed I couldn't bake). this was so perfect. It was such a hit with my family- even those who don't like cake, took seconds. It was just the right amount of sweet for them(though it could have been a tad bit sweeter for me). Also, I added walnuts to complete this cake...wonderful addition- about a cup and a half would be a great addition.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wannabecook@21 March 12, 2010

SUCH a great cake. So moist it almost looked uncooked when I took it out of the oven. My son adores it. I made it to freeze for school, and the cake was so lovely and sweet I saw no reason to bother icing it. The only negative was that the directions to make frosting seemed a little incomplete - but like I said, it really didn't need it. I had to use olive oil instead of veg oil, but the cake was perfect anyway. Thank you. Will be making this one on quite a regular basis

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dexter&Liz February 09, 2010

This is a very good recipe! I substituted half the oil with applesauce, and I wish it would have been just a little more moist, next time I'll use just the oil. I also cheated on the frosting due to lack of time :) and used the package stuff. Still good. Everyone enjoyed it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DaniRoze October 11, 2009

Wonderful cake! I baked mine in a tube pan and used my usual cream cheese icing and it turned out great. This is a very moist, flavorful cake. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Northern Star September 15, 2009

Delicious! I halved the recipe to make cupcakes for a quick dessert for my preschoolers. I replaced much of the oil with applesauce and used more carrots than it called for, and the results were amazing. My (picky) husband came home couldn't stop eating them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
a chef's wife September 14, 2009

I'm a newbie at baking so when I saw how simple this recipe was, I had to try it. I didn't have a bundt so i just used a square pan. I'm not sure how it would turn out so i used half portions of the ingredients, except for the icing though! Hahaha! It was soft and moist and really tasty! My husband said it tasted really great considering it was my first time to bake! Looking forward to more simple recipes! =)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DoctorChef August 08, 2009
Carrot Cake