147 Reviews

I used only the cake recipe without frosting and it's really oily and tasted like bland sugar cookies .. I'm pretty good at baking so I didn't like it much ... will try again with adjustments

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Monasmilesalot February 25, 2014

AMAZING! made it for a roommate's birthday. carrot cake is his favorite and his mom makes a very good carrot cake, so the pressure was on. But this got rave reviews! thanks so much!!!! Years later it's still the best carrot cake I've ever tried. Also I've subbed applesauce for most of the oil several times and no one can ever tell!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TooManyRoommates January 01, 2014

Lovely and moist. I substituted the butter in the icing for Nutella and the kids just went facedown in the plate. I'd submit a photo but there's nowt but crumbs left...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crossmytease November 18, 2013

love this cake !!! its the only one I have been using for a couple years now!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luveyduvey21 April 01, 2013

My family loves this cake... I've made it several times.. I have never been a big fan of carrot cake ,but this is very very good. I've even added chopped walnuts and it was yummy! Very good recipe :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jyenne February 19, 2013

This carrot cake is like the one my grandmother used to make. It is delicious and worth the effort of dealing with all those carrots! Also loved the cream cheese frosting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb G February 19, 2013

Wonderful recipe! I wish I would have used less sugar on the icing because it was a little too sweet for me but otherwise delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oldham2006 January 02, 2013

Tried this since I love Carrot cake, cake was too oily, did not stay together when taken out of pans, tasted oily. Sorry to say this cake ended in the trash, no one would eat it after the first bite.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mzmanners December 02, 2012

This is an amazing cake recipe. I add just a bit of nutmeg to give it a flavor boost. The simplicity of the cake is what makes it amazing and delicious. It's always very moist and a great hit when I bake it. Thank you for this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenn Da Bean November 22, 2012

This is a very good recipe!! I made mine in a 9x13 pan and also put a little into a mini loaf pan (I am making this to give to someone else but wanted to be sure I was happy with the results!! ) Very moist, flavorful cake. I did follow the advice from other reviewers to decrease the oil to 1 cup and I also added about 1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce. I also decreased the sugar to 1.5 cups and added a little extra cinnamon, ground nutmeg and some vanilla extract. I also stirred in some chopped walnuts because I love them! The frosting is also very flavorful and adds a lot to the cake. Thanks for the recipe Kym!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisanne73 September 11, 2012
Carrot Cake