142 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This carrot cake is like the one my grandmother used to make. It is delicious and worth the effort of dealing with all those carrots! Also loved the cream cheese frosting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb G February 19, 2013

Wonderful recipe! I wish I would have used less sugar on the icing because it was a little too sweet for me but otherwise delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oldham2006 January 02, 2013

Tried this since I love Carrot cake, cake was too oily, did not stay together when taken out of pans, tasted oily. Sorry to say this cake ended in the trash, no one would eat it after the first bite.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mzmanners December 02, 2012

This is an amazing cake recipe. I add just a bit of nutmeg to give it a flavor boost. The simplicity of the cake is what makes it amazing and delicious. It's always very moist and a great hit when I bake it. Thank you for this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenn Da Bean November 22, 2012

This is a very good recipe!! I made mine in a 9x13 pan and also put a little into a mini loaf pan (I am making this to give to someone else but wanted to be sure I was happy with the results!! ) Very moist, flavorful cake. I did follow the advice from other reviewers to decrease the oil to 1 cup and I also added about 1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce. I also decreased the sugar to 1.5 cups and added a little extra cinnamon, ground nutmeg and some vanilla extract. I also stirred in some chopped walnuts because I love them! The frosting is also very flavorful and adds a lot to the cake. Thanks for the recipe Kym!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisanne73 September 11, 2012

This recipe is EXCELLENT! I can see why you won a blue ribbon for this. A co-worker asked me to make a carrot cake for him for his birthday. I hadn't made one in YEARS. I didn't even have a recipe. I came on here and chose this one. I read the reviews and reduced the oil to 1 1/4, added a little nutmeg, and it came out PERFECT!! Everyone at work RAVED about it. I only got one slice. Lol. I made another one 3 days later for my family and it was just as delicious. This is definitely my "go to" carrot cake recipe. Thank you for submitting it!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Browny826 August 08, 2012

I make this cake for my husband's birthday every year. The only thing I change is cutting the powdered sugar (I make the icing by taste so I don't know how much sugar I add each time).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bekah Balmer March 18, 2012

Easy and delicious. As others recommended, I used 1 cup of oil, 1.5 cups of sugar, 1/2 tsp of nutmeg, and it turned out beautifully, and not at all oily. Also used 1/2 lb of icing sugar and tsp of vanilla in the icing. Now that I know how easy carrot cake is, I will use this recipe again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eileen H. December 28, 2011

Moist, not too sweet, easily to put together cake. I also like the simplicity of the flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YungB December 24, 2011

Very moist and flavourful cake! I used two teaspoons cinnamon and 1/4 nutmeg and baked it in one large tin. Everyone loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Flowerfairy November 15, 2011
Carrot Cake