Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Carrot Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Carrot Cake

    Average Rating:

    141 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 141

    Sort by:

    • on March 07, 2011

      I cut this recipe in half since I live by myself. I also substituted 1/2 of applesauce for part of the oil, and then used 1/4 cup of oil. I followed the rest of the cake recipe as it was written. I didn't even bother with the icing because the cake was so delicious and moist. Incredibly moist! I will definitely be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2011

      This is a wonderful cake...Very very moist.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2011

      This is EXACTLY THE VERY SAME RECIPE I HAVE USED FOR YEARS to make carrot cake, over 30 years now. I got it from my sister-in-law back in the '70s. Funny -- I thought all these years it was her grandmother's recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2011

      I took this to Guadalupe House last week and it was a big hit!
      I added the teaspoon of vanilla to the frosting, but that's all I changed.
      Thank you for publishing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2011

      After making your cake it is obvious how you won a Blue Ribbon. This cake is unbelievably moist and delicious. I made double tier instead of a 3-tier due to the size of my pans. I did not win a ribbon, but I may as well have, as I won rave reviews from my in-laws and my husbands co-workers. Quoting from one -That was the best carrot cake I have ever had. No joke. Stunning!!!! One happy camper!- There was not a crumb left in the end. I could not ask better than that! Thank you so much posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2011

      My fiance made this last night with my assistance because he had been really dying for carrot cake. We added raisins and walnuts. I think it was really good but not great. Definitely calls for more icing/frosting. We also added a tsp of vanilla extract syrup to the frosting. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2011

      Excellent recipe! First time making home made carrot cake and everyone was raving about it! thank you for sharing, this is absolutely a Blue Ribbon recipe! Very simple! I added about 3/4 of a cup of chopped walnuts as suggested by another user, next time I'll reduce that to 1/2 a cup. I also want to try replacing the oil with apple sauce to reduce the calories. Frosting was so fantastic! Whole recipe was very easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2010

    • on December 05, 2010

      My first time making carrot cake and it was awesome! Really moist and flavorful!
      I had to cut the recipe down into thirds so I would only end up with one cake layer since my husband was primarily going to be the only one to eat it. I didn't make the frosting in the recipe but rather used a container of premade cream cheese frosting since that is what my husband prefers (I know, weird!).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2010

      Thank you very much for this recipe. This is the first time I have made a carrot cake and I made this for my husband's birthday. Exceptionally moist and very tasty. The frosting was a bit too sweet for my taste, so I would probably adjust it a bit next time, but all of my "boys" loved this--even my son who eats nothing with vegetables in it. I will definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2010

      This is one of the nicest carrot cakes i've ever made. And the frosting is a nice one too not too sweet - only bad side it ened up on the concrete outside our car when going to visit a friend

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2010

      This was wonder and had great texture. DH says "best carrot cake ever". It was also pretty simple and easy to make. I will be making this again and again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2010

      This is the first time I make a carrot cake (I love carrot cake) and it is definitely the best carrot cake. Everyone who ate it thought that it was awesome, so perfect, moist, delicious. I added some vanilla to the icing and used 1 cup of light brown sugar with 1 cup of regular sugar. Also, I added half teaspoon of nutmeg with the cinnamon and it was great. Maybe the next time I will cut some oil because one I start to eat it, I can not stop.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2010

      I made this carrot cake for my son's first birthday. It was his first time eating cake and I wanted it to be made by me. He LOVED it! And I loved that it was homemade and not covered in store bought icing! :) Everyone at the party thought that it was THE BEST carrot cake they'd ever had. Thanks so much for a wonderful and memorable recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2010

      Perfect! Moist cake with an incredible frosting--and it's very easy to put together. I use my food processor to grate the carrots because it only takes seconds to do and then my kichen aid mixer. It stayed in the refrigerator for several days without decreasing in flavor. Though, do be careful not to overfill the layers beatcause you need a substantial amount for the outside too. I had to really work hard to have enough icing for the outside because I misjudged how much icing I needed on the outside.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2010

      Tastes good, but I wish I'd have selected a recipe calling for crushed pineapple, as I'm sure this would have given the cake more flavor and moistness. Also, it does not say pan should be greased so I didn't because there's a lot of oil in the cake; however, it stuck to the pan, so I had to "glue" it back together with the frosting. The frosting, by the way, is great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      So hard to only eat one piece! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out so moist. As for the icing I added vanilla (personal preference.) Excellent recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      Thank you Kym for sharing such a wonderful and delicious recipe with us! I love this cake, it is medium moist and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      Due to a rerigerator mishap I found myself with big bag of frozen baby carrots! Not being one to waste things, I shredded them and tried them in this recipe...WONDERFUL!!! We will definately be making this again...hopefully with fresh carrots, haha!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      This is SUPER yummy! By FAR, the best carrot cake I have ever had. My only complaint is that the next day it is quite oily, the bottom of the cake pan actually had a small pool of oil in it. I think I'll reduce the oil to just 1 cup next time. Even with all of the oily-ness, it was a superb carrot cake. Thanks SO much!!! UPDATE: I made this again today and I know I already said this, but YUM!!! This time I made the cake with 1 cup of oil and 1/2 cup of applesauce and I could tell no difference in deliciousness. I need to remember to make this more often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Carrot Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (144 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 547.8
     
    Calories from Fat 266
    48%
    Total Fat 29.5 g
    45%
    Saturated Fat 7.6 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 69.7 mg
    23%
    Sodium 273.4 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 68.4 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 54.4 g
    217%
    Protein 4.2 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites