142 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made as written except is Subbed applesauce for all but a little bit of oil.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jane49423 April 20, 2014

Very good! I made a few alterations .... 1 c. brown sugar and 1 c. granulated sugar....1 1/4 c. oil and 1/4 c. melted coconut oil... 1/2 unsweetened coconut.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Iluvmy3monkeys April 05, 2014

I used only the cake recipe without frosting and it's really oily and tasted like bland sugar cookies .. I'm pretty good at baking so I didn't like it much ... will try again with adjustments

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Monasmilesalot February 25, 2014

AMAZING! made it for a roommate's birthday. carrot cake is his favorite and his mom makes a very good carrot cake, so the pressure was on. But this got rave reviews! thanks so much!!!! Years later it's still the best carrot cake I've ever tried. Also I've subbed applesauce for most of the oil several times and no one can ever tell!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TooManyRoommates January 01, 2014

Lovely and moist. I substituted the butter in the icing for Nutella and the kids just went facedown in the plate. I'd submit a photo but there's nowt but crumbs left...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crossmytease November 18, 2013

After reading the reviews I decided to add a 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg. I followed the rest of the directions as stated. Oh I also made it in a 9x13 pan instead of as a layer cake. It was very good, but definitely too oily. I will make this again, but next time I will reduce the oil to 1 cup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Sherry~ September 22, 2013

After reading the reviews with all the additions, subtractions, and substitutions, I decided to follow the recipe to the letter to see how it came out. It came out perfectly! I found it moist and flavourful, and my boyfriend (who adores carrot cake and had been bugging me to make one) ate pretty much the entire thing! <br/>Sure, there can be changes made (more cinnamon or nutmeg, the applesauce substitution), but if you follow the recipe, you will still wind up with a fantastic dessert!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chamberienne August 23, 2013

love this cake !!! its the only one I have been using for a couple years now!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luveyduvey21 April 01, 2013

AWESOME, easy carrot cake! Based on previous reviews I used only ONE cup of oil and reduced sugar to 1 1/2 cup. Just had a piece and it is delicious! For us, we would actually prefer it a bit sweeter so next time I will use 2 cups of sugar and see. I added some grated nutmeg and used only one teaspoon of cinnamon. Moist wise it is perfect! We ate this without icing so I can imagine how much better it will be when i make with icing next time. Thanks for a super easy, super yummy carrot cake recipe, a DEFINITE keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cooking in cairo... March 01, 2013

My family loves this cake... I've made it several times.. I have never been a big fan of carrot cake ,but this is very very good. I've even added chopped walnuts and it was yummy! Very good recipe :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jyenne February 19, 2013
Carrot Cake