142 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

thank you!!! moist and tasty. my family loves it:-)...however i read the reviews after making one and found that by adding nutmeg, clove and replacing half a cup of oil for apple sauce it was the best carrot cake ever!!!...oh i also threw in a hand full of raisins.
one proplem i have is that once cut the layers slide of to side which spoils the look!!! but not the taste......any tips for making it stay together.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
paularankin November 09, 2011

Loved this recipe! It was easy and it was my first time making carrot cake. I haven't tried it but it was a hit at my house. Will make again! Would taste great as cupcakes too

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YG5 June 20, 2011

I replace half the oil with applesauce and it still tasted pretty oily. I can't image making the recipe as is. As a side note, I'd add more cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves. It didn't seem like it had much flavor.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Impatient Chef February 11, 2011

Being a creature of habit, it took me a long time to switch Carrot Cake recipes. This one's even better than my best.

For the cake, I reduced the Cinnamon by a teaspoon and Sugar to 1 Cup. I added 3/4 Cup of crushed Walnuts and boy did it turn out nice, spongy, soft, moist and delightful!

For Icing, I added half tsp of Cinnamon into the Icing Sugar and grated 1 lemon's zest into the mixture. I also added a tsp of Vanilla. Made the cake uber heavenly!

My staff at work loved it so much they are requesting for it to be an "incentive" to doing better.
Great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jacqui T May 05, 2011

Had an overabundance of carrots so was looking for a good carrot cake recipe as DH loves it and I also needed to make cupcakes for 2 church functions. Nice taste, but found 1 1/2 C of oil way too much. Made first batch as is according to the recipe, the cupcakes fell after coming out of the oven...and DH thought they were underdone, so baked next pan longer-same thing... Made a 2nd batch with only 1 C of oil, and also didn't pack the grated carrot. Perfect! Big difference between the 1st & 2nd batch. They raised up nicely and didn't fall, better texture, didn't taste underdone, DH gave his approval on the 2nd batch.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NIcmic March 19, 2011

I'm a little CCC, carrot cake crazy, so this is what i did to make this extra special carrot cake even more "over the top." 1. used walnut oil 2. added chopped walnuts to the batter 3. sprinkled frosted cake with diced walnuts....Enjoy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
naturerules November 27, 2012

Cant believe i'm just now rating this recipe. I've made at least 2 times and wasn't disappointed at the least bit. My go to Carrot Cake recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
javonsnanna August 31, 2011

Yum!!!!! I made this in two 9" cake pans, sprayed with Baking spray. I also decorated the sides of the cake with glazed walnuts.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 August 29, 2011

This was great! I already had my own carrot cake recipe and have been making it for the past 15 years, but it was crumbly and wasn't quite satisfied with it. And then I found this recipe and am VERY happy. Thank you so much! I reduced sugar to 1 1/2 and reduced the amount of oil as well. I find most recipes way too sweet soreducing the sugar made it perfect.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Naoko V April 15, 2011

This was good, but I have had better. I found it a little blah. It definitely needs more spices. The frosting is delicious, but really, how can you go wrong with cream cheese and butter ;)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hunny bunny April 13, 2011
Carrot Cake