83 Reviews

The cake is very moist but I would prefer if it had more spice added. I found the flavor a little bland.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mshotrod August 24, 2008

The idea of using oil bothered me so I decided to use applesauce as some had suggested in the reviews but I found the texture rubbery and too moist. The icing was very good though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kayla in Montreal July 29, 2008

This is the best! Easy and simple .I substitute applesauce for some of the oil and add coconut and raisins. Excellent,and keeps for days.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oreosherriden May 28, 2008

Carrot cake is my favourite and this is one of the best I've tasted. I made it for my daughter's birthday party and everyone loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yummy_mama January 25, 2008

this is a carrot cake from the top drawer. lovely moist texture offset nicely by the crunchy walnut and pineapple. i halved the recipe since it's just the two of us - and had enough batter to fill a 9" pan + make 6 dainty muffins (which my husband will anyway sneak into his lunchbox). i frosted this using recipe #22932. (12/2/07: Note to self in case I make this again - I made this again using applesauce instead of oil, as suggested by the other reviewers, and the result was more of a pudding than a cake. We had it topped with some whipped cream and I didn't think it would hold up under cream cheese frosting)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eatrealfood December 03, 2007

I have never baked before, this was my first time ever. My husband don't really like sweets, but he does have one weakness, carrot cake. He's very picky so I was a little afraid of the outcome of this cake. It turned out beautifully. It smelled so good coming out of the oven I couldn't wait to taste it. My husband told me it's the best he's ever had ^ ^ I loved it too. Very tasty. I did read previous reviews and took some advice; I used applesauce instead of oil and instead of 2 cups of sugar, I used a little less than 1 1/2 cups of sugar. I also used my own recipe for icing. Thank you Bertha for this recipe, I can say that I know how to bake now ^ ^

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eager cook November 20, 2007

This was my first time making a carrot cake. I made it for my friends shower and everyone loved it! I did use the applesauce instead of oil, and left out a little of the pineapple. It was great! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scooberta November 19, 2007

This turned out very moist and delicious. It was soo easy. I cheated a bit and used the carrot pulp that came out of my juicer. I purpously juiced fast so it would leave some of the moisture in the pulp. I ended up with enough to make this and some carrot muffins and some chocolate carrot/zucchini muffins.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queenofcamping April 28, 2007

I have made this cake numerous times and each time it goes quickly! I made the cake exactly as the recipe states. Thanks for such an easy and wonderfully delicious cake!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Watosa April 25, 2007
Carrot Cake