Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Carrot Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Carrot Cake

    Average Rating:

    82 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 82

    Sort by:

    • on November 28, 2004

      i cut the recipe in half coz i made it in 12 muffin tins. I must say that this is a very moist cake. This is my very first carrot cake and this is excellent..not too sweet, just the right amount. I didn't do the icing coz i didn't have any cream cheese with me. i put nuts on top

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2004

      I have made this recipe to take to work 2 times now. One guy in the office requested it, when I said I would bake something for our luncheon this week. Everyone raved over it, saying "this is the moistest carrot cake I've ever had". I did cut down on the oil by subsituting 1/2 cup of applesauce for a 1/2 cup of the oil. Still comes out Fantastic!!! Did add walnuts to the icing as well as the cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2004

      Brilliant result on the first try!! I deducted half the oil and it was lovely and moist anyway!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2004

      One word AWESOME!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2004

      I tried this with abt 1 & 1/4 cups dark brown sugar and 3/4 cups caster sugar. The reason for this is so its not too sweet as 2 cups of caster sugar is way too sweet. The crushed pineapples gives it the sweetness. I also think 1 & 1/2 cups of oil is way too much, as the cooking time for the cake was well over 50 mins. However, overall, it was very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2004

      Delicious! Made it and had it for dessert tonight. DH and I both enjoyed it very much. Thank you for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2004

      This is an easy and tasty carrot cake. The Pineapple in the recipe gives it a nice crunch. The frosting is delicious. I've also clubbed this with MizzNezz' Cream Cheese Frosting #52104 (Excellent carrot cake). Thanks Bertha.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2004

      wonderful receipe! even after reducing calories 2/3 by using 1 c sugar/1 c splenda, 1/4 c oil/1 c unsweetened applesauce makes for 325 cal for each serving without frosting (10 servings) a keeper!! for us diabetics

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2004

      This is without a doubt the best carrot cake I've ever made. My sister-in-law said she wanted this cake made for her upcoming birthday. I made it according to the recipe, and it turned out wonderful. The pineapple in it was delicious, all in all a great cake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2004

      I LOVE this cake. It is fabulous and a big hit with the family. I did use mostly applesauce instead of oil, and it came out a bit too sweet, so I will cut down on the sugar next time. I also will increase the baking time, as it turned out runny in the very center. Still, it was extremely good. I also add an extra package of cream cheese to the frosting, since we really like the taste of it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2004

      This was really good. I made the following substitutions to lower the calorie count. 1/2 C. Oil w/1 C. Trader Joe's Chunky Applesause Lowered Sugar to 1 1/4 C. Drained Pinapple. (I might omit it altogether next time) Substituted EggBeaters for eggs Added a dash of cloves and 1 tsp. nutmeg. I never cook. Thanks for the recipe. It turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2004

      Excellent cake! Very moist! I've frozen individually wraps pieces for my DH to take to work this week.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2004

      This is a delicious carrot cake. I made it without the frosting and it is still great. I substituted 1 cup of the flour with whole wheat flour and used chopped pecans. I also reduced the oil to 1 cup and added some applesauce. My kids loved it too. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2004

      Add me to the fans of this cake! This cake was super moist, very dense and just wonderful. I made it in two 8 inch rounds (I havled the recipe) and left out the nuts as the cakes were for a party and I wanted everyone to have some. Everyone loved them! Even the little kids asked for more! Oh, and for future bakers of this cake, 1 cup of shredded carrot is equal to 2 medium carrots. I used three small carrots in this cake (in a half batch) and it was just superb.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2004

      My fiance always talks about how his grandmother made carrot cake and so I decided to make this for his birthday. He loved it! I substituted a little bit: applesauce for the oil, Pampered Chef Cinnamon Plus for the cinnamon, and 1 cup Splenda for 1 cup of the sugar. I also cut down on the powdered sugar by about 1/3 in the icing, but still had enough to frost a three-layer cake. Wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2003

      This was the best cake I have ever tasted! It was so moist and delicious and easy to make. I will definitely be making this again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2003

      Made this as directed and it was fabulous. I did as RecipeWrestler did with adding chopped pecans to the frosting. I'll be making this again. Thanks for the recipe Bertha!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2003

      Very easy to make and SO delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2003

      I must agree with the masses - this cake was wonderful! I used 3 tsps cinnamon, 1 tsp nutmeg & 1/4 tsp cloves. Being a "novice" baker, I found the instructions rather brief. Based on other recipes for carrot cake, I sprayed the pan & lightly dusted with flour. Due to the controversy regarding the icing, I used Cream Cheese Icing instead. Thanx Bertha!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2003

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Carrot Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (239 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 810.0
     
    Calories from Fat 378
    46%
    Total Fat 42.1 g
    64%
    Saturated Fat 8.6 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 67.3 mg
    22%
    Sodium 599.5 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 104.5 g
    34%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 79.3 g
    317%
    Protein 7.8 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites