82 Reviews

Lovely! Though I substituted a handful of sultanas and a handful of ground almonds for the walnuts( which i didn't have in stock) and used rosewater instead of the vanilla (surprisingly good and interesting flavour!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gill clark June 09, 2011

Very good! I used about 2 cups of icing sugar, which I am sure is less than a pound. A pound is just way too much as far as we are concerned.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YnkyGrlDwndr April 27, 2011

I made this carrot cake for a baby shower and it was delicious. I really had to adapt the recipe, though, after reading all of the reviews. I only used 3/4 cup of oil---1 1/2 cups just seemed way excessive. Unlike others, I didn't substitute applesauce---mainly because I didn't have any on-hand. I made it in two eight inch round pans, and had to bake it a bit longer than I anticipated, but don't worry---it'll turn out insanely moist! The only reason I gave it four stars was because I didn't follow the recipe to a "T." I also made my own cream cheese frosting, which consisted of an 8 oz. pkg of cream cheese, a stick of butter, four to five cups of powdered sugar and a bit of vanilla. Next time, I may also add just a sprinkling of cloves to the cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melissafaye_13121366 March 05, 2011

My husband wanted a carrot cake for his birthday yesterday. Found this recipe. I did add one more teaspoon of cinnamon. It was PERFECT!!! I love this cake! I'm just wondering if I could pass it off with a bit less oil. Anyway, thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ashley L. January 01, 2011

This was very good, but the pineapple is a little overwhelming I think. I will use this recipe again, but only add half as much pineapple, and probably crush it to more of a pulp before adding it. I brought it for a family Easter brunch and everyone liked it though. Oh, I also subsituted 1/2 c. applesauce for 1/2 c. oil, as others suggested.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
boomerthepug April 12, 2009

I thought I had to drain the pineapple but you don't. I cooked mine 6 min longer and wish I hadn't. BUT I panicked cause the recipe didn't specify. Also, it was a bit oily tasting for me. I used a cup of oil and 1/2 cup of apple sauce. 1/8 tsp cloves and 1/8 tsp nutmeg. Just a hint of other spices. Plus, I only a 15 oz can of pineapple so that didn't help either, would have been better with more. Plus, I added 3/4 rasians.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sharpei January 28, 2009

This was a fantastic cake! It was very easy to make and the cake was very moist. The icing was wonderful as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lzkt7 December 07, 2008

My friends raved about it when I brought it to our get together. Definitely a keeper!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shygirl November 01, 2008

The cake is very moist but I would prefer if it had more spice added. I found the flavor a little bland.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mshotrod August 24, 2008

The idea of using oil bothered me so I decided to use applesauce as some had suggested in the reviews but I found the texture rubbery and too moist. The icing was very good though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kayla in Montreal July 29, 2008
Carrot Cake