Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Carrot Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Carrot Cake

    Average Rating:

    82 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 82

    Sort by:

    • on February 21, 2007

      The reason I'm giving this 3 stars is because it didn't taste like carrots. Mine tasted mostly like pineapple, which isn't bad, but I wanted carrot cake, not pineapple cake. It was nice and moist, but kind of bland without the strong carrot flavor. I also used half oil half unsweetened applesauce. I think if I make this again I will use 1/2 c oil, 1/2 c applesauce, and 1/2 c pureed carrots in addition to the grated carrots. I did not use nuts. I also used butter instead of margarine in the frosting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2007

      Very good cake, and easy to make. Used applesauce instead of oil. I had no walnuts on hand,so next time I make this, I'll have to make sure I have some!! Thamks for a great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2006

      This is a very moist cake. We loved it. Next time I am going to use less sugar and replace the oil by apple sauce. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2006

      My husband's favorite is carrot cake, and he loved this-- actually, my whole, picky family loved it! I did it just as written, but left out the nuts because I have little ones who don't like them. Next time I'll try it with applesauce... We will be using this recipe a lot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2006

      How can this recipe call for 1 1/2 cups of oil? That's a lot of oil, and tons of fat! I wish i'd made a note of another cook's suggestion to substitute applesauce for the oil. It's got to be a typo cus my cake was literally swimming in oil. Does anyone proofread these recipes?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2006

      Not much to add that has not already been said. Incredibly moist and delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2006

      Absolutely wonderful recipe. I also wasn't sure and so chose to drain the pineapple. I chose to use texas muffin tins and they came out beautiful. At the local markets I gave away sample spoonful sized bits and people headed straight over to buy some : )) It froze well and thawed like they'd just been baked. I am really delighted with this recipe. Thankyou!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2006

      Yes, another fan of this delightful cake. I have followed the recipe as directed, was not sure if the pineapples should be drained or not, ended up adding the whole can with the juices. Baked for exactly 50min in a 8X12, tured out nice and high. Forgot to add spiced to mix so sprinkeld some on top. This is so moist and lovely I didn't make the frosting, it truely doesn't need it. I will bake it again soon with the apple sauce and splenda substitution. For a vegan version I'll try it with egg substitute. Simply wonderful, many thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2006

      What a wonderful recipe!I added 1 tsp nutmeg and 1 tsp gr. cloves to add a liitle extra flavor. I also baked it in a bunt pan and had to add 10 minutes to the cooking time. This is for sure a keeper. Thanks. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2006

      I make this for my fiance and he loves it! In fact, this is going to be our wedding cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2006

      I made this cake for a birthday and everybody loved it! It was very moist and just a great tasting cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2006

      Great carrot cake! I used pecans and added in 1/2 cup of golden raisins. I also baked it in two 8 inch rounds. I only used about 1 1/2 cups of sugar and it was perfectly sweet. This cake was moist and dense and full of everything true carrot cake lovers could want.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2006

      Fantastic. I made this for my father's birthday and it was a huge hit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2005

      This cake is great. Very moist, and was very easy to make. This was my first carrot cake I have ever made and we liked it so much that this will be the recipe I use in the future. This is sure to be a Thanksgiving favorite. Thanks for the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2005

      “I brought this cake as a dessert to a dinner party and the hostess's husband went crazy over it. Mine loved it too.”

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2005

      This cake is very good. It was very easy to make, but the only problem that I had was when I cut into it. It is very oily. GOOD, but oily!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2005

      I made this for a small casual dinner party for a bunch of good friends. They raved about it. My husband told me it was the most delicious cake I have ever made. It disppeared and he said when are you going to make it again. I will file this as one of my "most favorites". Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2005

      Very tasty and moist! I followed the recipe exactly and had some problems with the baking though. After 50mins the middle was still squishy so I ended up cooking it for an additional 20-25 mins. At one point I was very worried because the edges were browning and the middle was still soft. But it tastes great and the texture is just right with the nuts and pineapple. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2005

      This is definitely the best carrot cake I've ever had. My family loved it so much and everyone in the office raved about it. Wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2005

      Yummy! I think I will try macadamia nuts next time! This is a great recipe to get creative with...I followed exactly as the recipe states and it was perfect. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Carrot Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (239 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 810.0
     
    Calories from Fat 378
    46%
    Total Fat 42.1 g
    64%
    Saturated Fat 8.6 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 67.3 mg
    22%
    Sodium 599.5 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 104.5 g
    34%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 79.3 g
    317%
    Protein 7.8 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites