Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Carrot Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Carrot Cake

    Average Rating:

    82 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 82

    Sort by:

    • on June 09, 2011

      Lovely! Though I substituted a handful of sultanas and a handful of ground almonds for the walnuts( which i didn't have in stock) and used rosewater instead of the vanilla (surprisingly good and interesting flavour!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2011

      Very good! I used about 2 cups of icing sugar, which I am sure is less than a pound. A pound is just way too much as far as we are concerned.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2011

      I made this carrot cake for a baby shower and it was delicious. I really had to adapt the recipe, though, after reading all of the reviews. I only used 3/4 cup of oil---1 1/2 cups just seemed way excessive. Unlike others, I didn't substitute applesauce---mainly because I didn't have any on-hand. I made it in two eight inch round pans, and had to bake it a bit longer than I anticipated, but don't worry---it'll turn out insanely moist! The only reason I gave it four stars was because I didn't follow the recipe to a "T." I also made my own cream cheese frosting, which consisted of an 8 oz. pkg of cream cheese, a stick of butter, four to five cups of powdered sugar and a bit of vanilla. Next time, I may also add just a sprinkling of cloves to the cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2011

      My husband wanted a carrot cake for his birthday yesterday. Found this recipe. I did add one more teaspoon of cinnamon. It was PERFECT!!! I love this cake! I'm just wondering if I could pass it off with a bit less oil. Anyway, thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      This was very good, but the pineapple is a little overwhelming I think. I will use this recipe again, but only add half as much pineapple, and probably crush it to more of a pulp before adding it. I brought it for a family Easter brunch and everyone liked it though. Oh, I also subsituted 1/2 c. applesauce for 1/2 c. oil, as others suggested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      I thought I had to drain the pineapple but you don't. I cooked mine 6 min longer and wish I hadn't. BUT I panicked cause the recipe didn't specify. Also, it was a bit oily tasting for me. I used a cup of oil and 1/2 cup of apple sauce. 1/8 tsp cloves and 1/8 tsp nutmeg. Just a hint of other spices. Plus, I only a 15 oz can of pineapple so that didn't help either, would have been better with more. Plus, I added 3/4 rasians.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      This was a fantastic cake! It was very easy to make and the cake was very moist. The icing was wonderful as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2008

      My friends raved about it when I brought it to our get together. Definitely a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2008

      The cake is very moist but I would prefer if it had more spice added. I found the flavor a little bland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2008

      The idea of using oil bothered me so I decided to use applesauce as some had suggested in the reviews but I found the texture rubbery and too moist. The icing was very good though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2008

      This is the best! Easy and simple .I substitute applesauce for some of the oil and add coconut and raisins. Excellent,and keeps for days.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

      Carrot cake is my favourite and this is one of the best I've tasted. I made it for my daughter's birthday party and everyone loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2007

      this is a carrot cake from the top drawer. lovely moist texture offset nicely by the crunchy walnut and pineapple. i halved the recipe since it's just the two of us - and had enough batter to fill a 9" pan + make 6 dainty muffins (which my husband will anyway sneak into his lunchbox). i frosted this using recipe #22932. (12/2/07: Note to self in case I make this again - I made this again using applesauce instead of oil, as suggested by the other reviewers, and the result was more of a pudding than a cake. We had it topped with some whipped cream and I didn't think it would hold up under cream cheese frosting)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2007

      I have never baked before, this was my first time ever. My husband don't really like sweets, but he does have one weakness, carrot cake. He's very picky so I was a little afraid of the outcome of this cake. It turned out beautifully. It smelled so good coming out of the oven I couldn't wait to taste it. My husband told me it's the best he's ever had ^ ^ I loved it too. Very tasty. I did read previous reviews and took some advice; I used applesauce instead of oil and instead of 2 cups of sugar, I used a little less than 1 1/2 cups of sugar. I also used my own recipe for icing. Thank you Bertha for this recipe, I can say that I know how to bake now ^ ^

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2007

      This was my first time making a carrot cake. I made it for my friends shower and everyone loved it! I did use the applesauce instead of oil, and left out a little of the pineapple. It was great! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2007

    • on April 28, 2007

      This turned out very moist and delicious. It was soo easy. I cheated a bit and used the carrot pulp that came out of my juicer. I purpously juiced fast so it would leave some of the moisture in the pulp. I ended up with enough to make this and some carrot muffins and some chocolate carrot/zucchini muffins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2007

      I have made this cake numerous times and each time it goes quickly! I made the cake exactly as the recipe states. Thanks for such an easy and wonderfully delicious cake!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2007

      I took the advice of previous reviewers and make the following changes: 1 cup applesauce plus 1/2 cup oil 1 1/2 cups sugar (will use even less next time) Added 1 teaspoon cloves. Drained some of the juice off the pineapple. There wasn't much guidance in making the cake, so I just threw all the ingredients into the mixer and let it beat while I oiled and floured the 9x13 pyrex dish. The batter was quite runny. I live at 4700 ft. but didn't make any changes for high altitude. The finished cake was full of flavor and very moist. I used a lot less sugar in the icing and beat the cheese, etc., until there was enough volume to cover the top of the cake. This recipe is extremely easy to make but the results are excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Dessert Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Carrot Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (239 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 810.0
     
    Calories from Fat 378
    46%
    Total Fat 42.1 g
    64%
    Saturated Fat 8.6 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 67.3 mg
    22%
    Sodium 599.5 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 104.5 g
    34%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 79.3 g
    317%
    Protein 7.8 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites