82 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was actually the first time I've ever made Carrot Cake and we loved it. So moist and the icing was creamy. I shared it with others and they loved it to. *Instead of using milk, I used Half & Half and for nuts I used Walnuts. Thanks for this wonderful recipe!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amber Robinson November 04, 2002

This is THE best carrot cake I and anyone who has tried it here,..has tasted. So easy to make...and it doesnt even need the icing (if your not an icing person)because it is just SO moist and delicious...thankyou Bertha...youve made me look like a good cook.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle in Australia August 19, 2002

Absolutely awesome! I don't think I've ever tasted a better carrot cake, and everyone who has tasted it agrees! Terrific flavour, and so moist - YUMMO! It made an absolute monster of a cake - we spent days eating our way through it. Definite keeper - thanks Bertha!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teemaru January 25, 2004

By far the best carrot cake recipe ever! Note, do bake it in the 9x13 pan. I tried to do a layer cake and it was just too dense and moist for that....so this is great as a container cake, not for a standalone layer cake. Definitely gets all five stars, this one, according to my hubby, is a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs.Lillian Newman May 14, 2003

I made this cake for my DH birthday and everyone loved it. I used round cake pans though and this was enough to make an impressive three layer cake. The icing was sufficient to cover the entire cake and in between the layers. The only change I made to the ingredients was that I left out nuts, due to allergies in some family members. My sister said she wants another one in 26 days, just in time for her birthday. Thanks for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoriInIndiana April 25, 2003

My family LOVED this! I took someone's advice from this site, and reduced the sugar in the icing. It turned out perfect! We couldn't get enough of it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VanessaV103 April 18, 2003

I made a test cake for my family and friends before I was to take it for Easter dinner and it was a big hit. It is super easy to make and taste great.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy Etelamaki April 17, 2003

This was very easy to make and delicious. I followed the recipe exactly except I just used one cup of oil, three tsp of cinnamon, and added a handful of raisins instead of nuts. Oh, and unlike some others, I did drain the crushed pineapple before adding. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly - but took the cake out of the oven maybe 5 mins early (toothpick came out clean) - didn't even bother with the frosting - was delicious "as is"!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michaelk69 April 12, 2014

This was the first carrot cake I've ever made, and I wasn't disappointed...it was a super recipe and the whole family enjoyed it...used Pillsbury cream cheese icing to save a little time, and it just happened to be very good...Thanks for sharing this...it's a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SharonP April 04, 2014

Best carrot cake I have made. I did not even use the icing because I made vanilla ice cream instead.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greg: Barrow, Alaska November 14, 2011
Carrot Cake