30 Reviews

These patties were really yummy! I, too, left out the sugar and added 1/4 ts or so chili powder and some garlic powder to make them a bit more flavourful, cause I felt they would have been a little too plain for our taste otherwise. But the dill as a basic flavour was just perfect.
The patties came together quite easily and I didnt have any problems handling them. I didnt even need the chill time at all, but that might have been because I used a flax egg and baked my patties in the oven at 200°C for 25 minutes turning once. They were crispy and nicely browned that way without any hassle. :)
THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing such a great recipe with us, Sharon!
Made and reviewed for WTTM Tag Game April 2011.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula April 18, 2011

Brought way too many carrots and was looking for creative ways to use them up when I found this recipe. I wasn't sure what to expect and kept my expectations low despite all the other reviews raving about this dish. I cannt even begin I tell you how yummy they are! For the most part I did stick to the recipee with coupe minor adjustemnts. I love garlic and the recipe looked like it was lacking flavor so I added 1/2 tsp of garlic powder, I also thoughtn the mixture looked way too soupy so I added another table spoon of flower. I did have a hard time making the patty stick together despite leaving them in fridge for over two hours, and keeping them from falling apart in the pan. I would recomanded a table spoon of bread crumbs or corn starch to help hold it together. Once I flipped the patty however the crust helped bind the party in shape. I served it with both ranch dressing and maple syrup and I can't decide which one was better. I was making this to use up some extra carrots not expecting much but I will now be buying more carrots to make this again! Two thumbs up!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mainewmn April 18, 2012

I have made these several times now. I think the best thing you could do is omit the flour and use a couple tablespoons corn starch instead. It is unreal how well these hold up using corn starch. I always add garlic because I love garlic too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Veganista August 12, 2011

oh my god, the deliciousness. I think I forgot the milk and these were still awesome! I left out the sugar too ... I can't wait to make these again! Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just the 2 of us April 21, 2010

yum yum yum yum. I refrigerated these for a few hours and then cooked in a pan. I froze the last 2 patties and cooked them up on the george foreman.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Erineight October 27, 2009

I loved the taste of these. I did have a bit of a problem of them staying in one piece as I flipped them during the cooking but perhaps I needed more chill time. I will for sure be trying these again because they tasted great. I think using the margarine is a must as cooking them that way really brought out the sweetness in the carrots. Made for Vegetarian/Vegan Tag June 2009.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah_Jayne June 11, 2009

Crisp on the outside, sloppy on the inside... I suggest adding breadcrumbs to the mixture to help it stick together (not really a problem anyway) but more importantly to absorb moisture and dry the inside. You might also want to experiment with the flavour by adding herbs/spices (e.g. parsley and/or garlic) at your discretion.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sean.van.der.smythe March 10, 2009

Vegetarian DD eating this now and is in love !! She loves the use of the cornmeal . I used Moroccan seasoning instead of dill and also grated in a small piece of leftover parsnip with a wonderful result !!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katew March 10, 2009

This is a yummy burger. I made it vegan by using an egg replacer and vegan sour cream. I was worried about the burgers not staying together, so made 20 tiny patties and used 3-4 per burger. Really yummy with fresh, homemade buns, lettuce, ketchup, and vegan mayo. Yum! Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zaar junkie January 24, 2009

In a word: YUMMY! Like a couple of earlier reviewers, for me, this is one of my GREAT FINDS on Zaar! I used baby carrots processed in my mini processor. And I was thinking I'd have to cut back on sugar as baby carrots are so sweet anyway, but there was only 1/2 teaspoon so I added it; I used brown sugar. And they weren't too sweet but I'll probably omit the sugar next time. My only addition were three cloves of garlic, also processed - with the onion. I opted for leaving these burgers refrigerated for several hours, as it makes me less nervous of the possibility of such patties and burgers just falling apart in the cooking. I used sour cream, and when cooking used butter rather than margarine as I read recently that margarine converts into transfats on cooking. These were seriously delicious! We enjoyed them with a generous dollop of Greek yoghurt, and slices of cucumber and tomato. Thank you for another great recipe, Sharon.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder November 16, 2008
Carrot Burgers