Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Carrot Breakfast Pancakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Carrot Breakfast Pancakes

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on March 30, 2003

      Oh wow! If you guys are looking for something that's a great change of pace, you have got to try this recipe! These were moist, tender and melt-in-your-mouth delicious!!! The batter was a light orange color, but they cooked up a lovely harvest golden color. I was already half-way through mixing them up when I realized that I'd used up all of my nutmeg this week and forgot to buy more when I got groceries Friday night, so I added a pinch of allspice instead (for anyone wondering, no, allspice is not a combination spice--it is in the pimento family, with a taste somewhat like that of cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves combined). I also used a half teaspoon of cinnamon, but I think as much as we love cinnamon, I could have used up to a teaspoon and been fine. We had these as a late brunch with smoked link sausages, orange juice, milk and maple syrup. I suspect they would also be good with sorghum. love4culinary, thank you for sharing a winning pancake recipe. Even DH says he definitely wants to have these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2003

      We had these for our Sunday brunch, delicious and melt in the mouth pancakes like the others mentioned. Thank you for sharing this recipe with us love4culinary! Oh, and I forgot to mention that they did look beautiful, they colored just the way you said!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2003

      Excellent! These were light & fluffy and rich tasting. My family gobbled these up and had no clue that there were carrots in them. These were not only a good way to add some veggies to your meal, but were also great tasting pancakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2003

      GREAT pancakes! No one guessed there were carrots in there and it got 5 stars from everyone, even DH (the pancake king!) I substituted 1/2 the regular flour with oat flour and they cooked up nice and light and melt-in-your-mouth just like Cindy Lynn said.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2005

      This was an enjoyable change. I thought the carrot taste was a bit intense, but perhaps that was b/c my carrots were larger, or b/c we had carrot souffle last night. First of all, I melted the butter, although instructions did not specify that. I chopped the carrots in my little chopper, then added them to my blender. My 4 fairly large carrots made 2 cups, packed, of carrot pcs. When I added them to the blender, they mixed up so quickly that I wonder if I had needed to chop them so small first. But with just this much in my blender, it was full, so I transferred the mixture to a deep mixing bowl to add the remaining ingredients. I was pleased, too, at the nice browning that occurred while cooking, but my husband still asked about the "orange pancakes". I added a few chopped pecans to the pancakes before flipping, and they added wonderful flavor. I agree that only pure maple syrup should be enjoyed with these pancakes; it was a nice flavor compliment. If I make them again, I will try subbing 1/2 whole wheat flour and honey for the sugar.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2005

      This was my first try at making pancakes right from scratch and OH MY GOD!!! they were soooo good. Followed the recipe exactly and had them with honey and some whipped cream...ooops ;-) They were amazingly delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2004

      Excellent recipe! My husband loved this! Very light and fluffy .. These also freeze wonderfully .. I will make this again! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2004

      Oh my stars, these pancakes were just out-of-this-WORLD!...what a wonderful flavor..a great change from the everyday pancake... I had so many carrots in my fridge that had to be used up, I had this recipe in my cookbook, and I am so happy I made this...I made these for Sunday brunch for my DH, my son, and his girlfriend, I doubled the recipe, but I will have to triple it next time, everyone just gobbled these down like it was their last meal, there were nothing leftover...every pancake was eaten...thanks you so much Love4, for such a wonderful pancake recipe, my family enjoyed it so much...I will be making these again for sure, are another one of your winners for sure!....KC

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2003

      I really enjoyed these pancakes. They were incredibly filling, and I could only eat one large one. I think I added a little too much nutmeg, will try less next time. Oh, they heat up very nicely wrapped in paper towels.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2003

      We have pancakes for supper at least once/month. Your recipe was outstanding. The pancakes were light and tender with an unexpected beautiful color. I use 1/2 t. each of cinnamon and nutmeg. I was afraid of overdoing it but think I will add a little more next time. Topped with a little butter and maple syrup. Family and I thank you for sharing your recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2014

      Delicious taste but I had a terrible time with consistency. I used a stick blender. I ended up with a VERY thick batter and added about 1/2 cup more milk to thin it and make it slightly more pourable. I used 2.75 cups cooked carrots (4 medium is pretty subjective so maybe I used too much). Added 1 tsp cinnamon. Still, I had trouble with 'wet' insides, so I turned the burner down to 3 (normally I'd use 4.5 or 5) and had to spread the batter out after I spooned/poured them on the griddle. After I used up 1/2 the batter, I added more milk again so it was my normal pancake consistency. I turned up the griddle and they were still 'wet' inside although they bubbled well before I flipped them. I turned the griddle back down for longer cooking time to see if that would resolve the 'wet' middle problem. Still not right for me. I would call these pancakes tender and moist, but not light and fluffy. I'm willing to try again, but I would guess this variety of pancake will always result in a moist inside which might just be a matter of preference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2012

      These are sooo good! I was skeptical about using carrots but these taste just like pumpkin pancakes. in place of some of the flour I used flaxseed, so mine had a slightly grainy taste that somehow tasted just perfect. I also omitted a lot of the butter and really only used maybe half a teaspoon but I don't think it affected the taste. Very good pancakes that I will be making again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2012

      These are REALLY great. I'm sort of a novise chef. Don't really know what a "dash" is, so I just threw some in. Came out great. Had some leftovers. Put them in the microwave this morning and they are still moist. Try them, you'll like them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2011

      My batter was a bit thin, and I shredded my carrots, but how perfect! I think they're BETTER ? ! ! than pumpkin pancakes too! Love there wasn't too much sugar too. Now I'm freezing some.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2010

      These were really good, I followed the recipe exactly. I think that next time I will steam the carrots a little before putting them in because there were still bits of hard carrots in mine. The taste was great though. I freeze them in small freezer bags and give them to my kids for breakfast. Nice way to sneak some veggies in on them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

      These were absolutely delicious! I made exactly as written except that I used 20 baby carrots since I didn't have regular sized carrots. I also had to add a few extra tablespoons of flour to make it a little thicker. I didn't really taste the cinnamon and nutmeg which was okay, but if you want more of that flavor be very generous. I certainly didn't mind! You also don't need much syrup on these at all. My 3 year old twins ate these on the run without butter and syrup, so that is great! I had to make up another batch right after the first batch was used up. This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2009

      Love this recipe! I was looking for something to make with carrots for my picky toddlers & they loved this. I made the recipe almost exactly as is other than substituting whole wheat flour for white. They turned out delicious. Thanks for a keeper!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2009

      Tasty breakfast, and nice to get in some veggies early. Like some others, I added a bit of allspice and clove for a nice spicy blend, and used whole wheat flour. It made a thick batter, and my kitchen smelled wonderful as it was cooking. I can imagine also adding to it -- dried fruits or nuts could be a nice addition. A heads up - I reduced the recipe and ended up with too much baking powder (and a bit of a bitter taste as a result). But I'll be making this one again in the future, just with a tad less baking powder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

      These are really moist and delicious and a great way to get more veggies in. I think my carrots were too large because this recipe did not fit in my 6 cup blender. After the carrots were blended I had to transfer it to a mixing bowl to add the dry ingredients. I added an extra 1/4 cup of milk to make the batter more pourable (probably was too stiff due to the large carrots). I spiced mine up a bit by adding a bit of ground allspice and ground cloves to the cinnamon. I made 20 4" pancakes using 1/4 cup of batter for each.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2008

      Easy, good, makes a lot. I had to fist add a bit more milk to get it to blend, then a bit more flour. I made 22 pancakes though of a variety of sizes

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Carrot Breakfast Pancakes

    Serving Size: 1 (193 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 511.0
     
    Calories from Fat 167
    32%
    Total Fat 18.5 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 10.6 g
    53%
    Cholesterol 138.4 mg
    46%
    Sodium 1358.5 mg
    56%
    Total Carbohydrate 73.0 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 15.7 g
    63%
    Protein 13.8 g
    27%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites