18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I would have given this 5 stars, but I would have liked it to be a little sweeter..other than that this was a good carrot bread. I think next time I will add more sugar...probably another 1/4 cup..But I am going to make a cream cheese frosting just to coat the top and this will add to the sweetness...thanks for a good recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chef FIFI February 12, 2004

This is a lovely bread! I used pineapple tidbits in place of the chunks and it proved to be just right for my taste. I served just on the warm side, with a bit of butter to bring out the flavor! Delightful, Lorac!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev July 23, 2003

This is great... I have made it for family and took it to church I got complments both places. I have one suggestion use crushed pineapple. The chunk was just to big.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jan20 June 20, 2002

Oh my gosh, I cannot wait to try the recipe. I'm so excited. We ate out a few days ago @ Mimi's and I ended up taking a loaf of this bread home. I absolutely love it, and I'm so glad I'm now able to make it @ home. Thanks so much Lorac!! *5/17/09 update* Thank you so much for the wonderful recipe. I made muffins instead of bread for my aunt and cousins while my uncle was in the hospital. They were there for 2 weeks, 24 hours a day, and the muffins were easy for them to grab and eat. They all raved and raved about how great the bread was and I was told by a couple of people that this recipe was BETTER than Mimi's. I, like many others, used crushed pineapple instead of chunks. This recipe is definitely a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NellieGirl21550 May 18, 2009

To make this bread JUST LIKE Mimi's you will need to use just 2 eggs and bake it in mini loaf pans. Also, use crushed pineapple as the others suggest. I did this and taste tested with coworkers and they swear it was dead on.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maureenmunoz January 28, 2009

Delicious. I used crushed pineapple and reduced the brown sugar to 1 1/4 cup. I baked these as muffins (12) for 25 minutes. They came out moist and light.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YungB July 16, 2008

This recipe was a BIG hit; I also substituted a cup of sugar & 1/4 cup of molasseses for the brown sugar and changed the pineapple chunks to crushed pineapple - both were really good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melodygrant February 11, 2008

I made this last night, and it was INCREDIBLE. It's been a while since I've been to Mimi's, but I thought it was a very close likeness. I substituted applesauce for half of the oil, doubled the cinnamon and increased the brown sugar to 1 1/2 c. Also, since I didn't have mini loaf pans, I baked in a traditional loaf pan for about 70 minutes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup September 21, 2006

I made them as cupcakes. I didn't add the full amount of sugar, maybe I should have because they could have been a little sweeter. Other than that they were good. No where near as moist as the ones at Mimi's

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Plumshadow September 15, 2012

I can't believe I haven't reviewed this yet. This is absolutely the best bread ever, and the most requested by my husband. Another reviewer mentioned that it didn't taste like Mimi's Cafe's, and they're right... It's IMMENSELY better! Thank you for a delicious bread!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dripdripsplat September 07, 2010
Carrot Bread ? - from Mimi's Cafe