Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Carrot Bread ? - from Mimi's Cafe Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Carrot Bread ? - from Mimi's Cafe

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on February 12, 2004

      I would have given this 5 stars, but I would have liked it to be a little sweeter..other than that this was a good carrot bread. I think next time I will add more sugar...probably another 1/4 cup..But I am going to make a cream cheese frosting just to coat the top and this will add to the sweetness...thanks for a good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2003

      This is a lovely bread! I used pineapple tidbits in place of the chunks and it proved to be just right for my taste. I served just on the warm side, with a bit of butter to bring out the flavor! Delightful, Lorac!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2002

      This is great... I have made it for family and took it to church I got complments both places. I have one suggestion use crushed pineapple. The chunk was just to big.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2009

      Oh my gosh, I cannot wait to try the recipe. I'm so excited. We ate out a few days ago @ Mimi's and I ended up taking a loaf of this bread home. I absolutely love it, and I'm so glad I'm now able to make it @ home. Thanks so much Lorac!! *5/17/09 update* Thank you so much for the wonderful recipe. I made muffins instead of bread for my aunt and cousins while my uncle was in the hospital. They were there for 2 weeks, 24 hours a day, and the muffins were easy for them to grab and eat. They all raved and raved about how great the bread was and I was told by a couple of people that this recipe was BETTER than Mimi's. I, like many others, used crushed pineapple instead of chunks. This recipe is definitely a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      To make this bread JUST LIKE Mimi's you will need to use just 2 eggs and bake it in mini loaf pans. Also, use crushed pineapple as the others suggest. I did this and taste tested with coworkers and they swear it was dead on.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2008

      Delicious. I used crushed pineapple and reduced the brown sugar to 1 1/4 cup. I baked these as muffins (12) for 25 minutes. They came out moist and light.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      This recipe was a BIG hit; I also substituted a cup of sugar & 1/4 cup of molasseses for the brown sugar and changed the pineapple chunks to crushed pineapple - both were really good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2006

      I made this last night, and it was INCREDIBLE. It's been a while since I've been to Mimi's, but I thought it was a very close likeness. I substituted applesauce for half of the oil, doubled the cinnamon and increased the brown sugar to 1 1/2 c. Also, since I didn't have mini loaf pans, I baked in a traditional loaf pan for about 70 minutes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2012

      I made them as cupcakes. I didn't add the full amount of sugar, maybe I should have because they could have been a little sweeter. Other than that they were good. No where near as moist as the ones at Mimi's

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2010

      I can't believe I haven't reviewed this yet. This is absolutely the best bread ever, and the most requested by my husband. Another reviewer mentioned that it didn't taste like Mimi's Cafe's, and they're right... It's IMMENSELY better! Thank you for a delicious bread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2009

      I loved this bread. It is very yummy, I had one small problem though. The center of the bread fell in the middle while baking I am not exactly sure why, none the less i will definetly make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      great

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      As with some others, I ended up using crushed pinapple and added a bit more walnuts (just because I like them). This was a great recipe and very close to the ones served at Mimi's Cafe, as the title suggests. I even whipped up some butter spread to go with it which was nice, since Mimi's usually gives you a bit also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2008

      This is a wonderful carrot bread! Nice, moist and flavorable. I am not sure if it was something I did or if my new range oven was the cause of having to bake this bread longer than what the recipe called for but it did turn out great. Dh ate half the loaf before I could put it away. I will be making this bread several times I am most certain. Thanks for sharing the recipe! Made for Lorac's cookathon '08. We all hope you get well soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2006

      This was an okay recipe- I am not going to rate it because I changed it around quite a bit. I subsituted applesauce for the oil, used 3/4 whole wheat flour and 3/4 white, and used 6 egg whites instead of 3 eggs. The one thing I didn't care for was the pineapple chunks, next time I will either leave them out, or used crushed pineapple which I will drain really, really well (and maybe even ring out in a chesecloth?) I also baked these in muffin tins instead of a bread pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2005

      This was a very moist and very delicious bread. Although it really doesn't taste anything like the bread at Mimi's (I had Mimi's the night before making this). It was very good. I did find it a bit oily for my taste, so I will be making it with applesauce in the future. I will make this again, but will change the name in my mind since it really doesn't taste anything like Mimi's to me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2005

      Very good recipe. I use dried cranberries instead of raisin...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2004

      This carrot bread is wonderfully moist and delicious. I also added a bit more sugar and didnt have the pineapple, but it is still great. My kids (10 and 6) loved it also. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Carrot Bread ? - from Mimi's Cafe

    Serving Size: 1 (107 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 404.4
     
    Calories from Fat 204
    50%
    Total Fat 22.7 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 3.0 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 46.5 mg
    15%
    Sodium 296.4 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 48.2 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 33.1 g
    132%
    Protein 4.3 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites