8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

YUM! I made these using Splenda for the sugar and Splenda/cornstarch mix for the powered sugar. The cream cheese was 95% fat free so I was able to enjoy these little gems with a smile. It's been on the short side of forever since I have had carrot cake (DH won't eat it and I just don't like to make a big cake for me because I'll just eat it, D'oh!. Anyway, I just couldn't resist this recipe but I've been good. I had to eat one to write the review :D. Two are in the fridge and the rest are wrapped separately and in the freezer where they will be safe. I did use less sugar (Splenda) than ask for by about a quarter and I found that amount to be spot on for me. Thanks loof for a marvelous treat that I'll be enjoying now and down the road.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia September 20, 2013

Yummy bars, almost like the ones my grandma used to make. I did not use grated carrots, I was out of fresh carrots, so I used a cup of canned sliced carrots and mixed them with the sugar and oil so they were pretty mashed up. (my grandmas were made with pureed baby food carrots, so this came really close ). The only other thing I changed was that I added a bit of lemon juice to the frosting.Thanks for sharing, loof!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pammyowl April 30, 2013

These were good but a bit sweet for us. Next time I would cut back on the sugar. They were easy to make and enjoyed by all that tried them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol April 24, 2012

Very good and flavorful bars. Loaded with carrots, very moist and reminded me a little of carrot cake. I took some over to my in-laws and the rest to work. Everyone loved them. The cinnamon, carrots and pecans with the cream cheese frosting made for a delicious treat. I plan on making these again with the next couple of days. Forgot to take a picture the first time around. Will have to remember to photograph them the next time I make them. Made for March 2012 Aus/NZ Swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crafty Lady 13 March 24, 2012

Very sweet but tasty. I tried to make ours gluten free but I used brown rice flour instead of white rice flour by mistake so I think that is the reason why they came out crumbly and a bit dry. I used 1 cup of the flour plus 1/2 cup tapioca starch (I forgot to add a gum too), canola oil, alcohol free vanilla from the health food store, maybe a bit less sea salt, chopped walnuts in place of the pecans as that is what I had on hand, sweet (unsalted) butter in the icing instead of margarine to be healthier, a Danish cream cheese, I powdered my own white sugar in a coffee/spice mill to be corn free, plus I used the rest of the ingredients. I would try making these bars again with somewhat less sugar and white rice flour mixed with tapioca starch, plus a gum. Made for Please Review My Recipe: from 14 August 2011 ~

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat September 03, 2011

I made half the recipe in a loaf pan. The same cooking time as you wrote for the whole recipe. I reduced the sugar a little bit. I omitted the pecans. I got more frosting and that's perfect cause it's so good. The bars are moist, have a great taste and with the frosting it's the best. Thanks loof :) Made for Market tag game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette April 25, 2011

Followed your recipe right up to the point of putting together the icing, then I added half a cup of chopped, candied almonds to that topping! Well, I was also generous with the shredded carrots, using as I did a rounded measure! Made for some great tasting bars & will certainly make these again ~ Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Made & reviewed in 1-2-3 Hits tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike September 10, 2010

Yummy bars!!! Great way to get those veggies in for the kids. I made 1/2 of the recipe and baked in a 8 X 8 pan, so they are thinner than should be. I had to use more powdered sugar for the icing as it wasn't the right consistency. I would definitely make these again but would probably cut the sugar in half. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for Photo Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 July 07, 2010
Carrot Bars