Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Carrot and Ginger Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Carrot and Ginger Soup

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on March 25, 2010

      I love this recipe, it is so fresh tasting! A great cream soup alternative which is elegant. I use olive oil rather than butter to make it even healthier, but have made it with butter (extra yum) for special occasions. Sometimes I use baby carrots and don't pre-slice, just make sure they are cooked until soft. Serve with a lime wedge to squeeze over just before eating for a real treat!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2003

      This is not a thick soup but rather one that is good for a summer meal. We ended up grating cheese into it and it should be eaten with bread. Enjoyed by all.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2013

      We have been making this soup now for years and I just realized that we've never posted a review. We absolutely love this soup. It's simple, it's delicious, good in all weather (especially nice in winter with toasted Italian bread loaf w/ melted cheese on top), we feel good about eating it and serving it to our kids. We love it so much that we make double, sometimes triple batches, and freeze the rest to take out (weekly in the winter). We double the broth, triple the onions and ginger, and use just over double the carrot amount. So, 12 c. of broth, 6 onions, 6 Tbs. grated ginger, 4lb. of carrots and we do 1/4c. butter with 1/4c. coconut oil. The most tedious part is peeling the 4 pounds of carrots. The onions I put into the food processor with the thickest slicer attachment (otherwise they're mush and don't cook nicely) so that makes quick work of those. We like to slightly caramelize the onions before adding in the ginger as well. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2011

      I gave this recipe 5 stars because I really thought that the soup was very good in regard to the effort required to make it. Very simple. I made the soup exactly as is although I probably added a bit more ginger than called for. To serve, I floated a clementine slice in the bowl and it looked very nice and the small amount of orange added a subtle but very nice flavor to the soup. I must credit the poster that suggest lime for that idea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2010

      Very good. Very easy to make even when I realized I didn't have a peeler and had to peel the carrots with a parring knife. Very yummy.

      This soup freezes very well!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2009

      This was yummy. I made a double batch and divided it up into single portions so that I could take it to work for lunch (heated up and served with bread and spread). I didn't use butter in the soup, instead I used a little sunflower oil. A keeper. Thank you:-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2008

      This was very good! I was out of stock, so I tossed some chicken bouillon cubes into 6 c water . I also had to omit the onions, since one of my guests is allergic. However, she did give the go ahead to add onion powder, so I sprinkled that in liberally. It was easy and delicious, and I bet it can only be better with the onions (as I love them!) I cooked the carrots in advance, so as to avoid slicing them, and it worked wonderfully. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2008

      Quick, simple and easy to prepare - doubled for church soup supper. Made it with veggie broth so all were so able to eat it. For the kids we called it "Ginger's Rabbit Food Soup" and they liked it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2007

      This is a great soup. Minor alterations - I added 2 packets of sugar twin and 1/2 tbsp. orange rind. I found that 2 tbsp. of fresh ginger was just a little too much, the taste was a touch strong. Very smooth and my guests enjoyed it. Thanks. Bangers n'Mash.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2007

      Really nice flavor. Easy to prepare. I added a heaping teaspoon of brown sugar because my carrots were old, left out salt and pepper as broth was salted and we enjoy adding pepper at the table. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2006

      Wow, perfect almost fat free soup! I cooked the carrots first with the broth and then added the butter, onions with ginger mixture. Black pepper for flavor and display. A must within our friends!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2004

      I wanted to try this recipe because it didn't call for milk. A very good carrot soup, but I added about 2 Tablespoons of frozen orange juice concentrate and sugar twin brown sugar to taste. My carrots were not sweet enough and the orange juice and brown sugar gave it a "just right" flavor for me. The ginger really makes this recipe, I didn't have fresh so I used powered ginger. Tasted great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2004

      This was different and very good. The ginger gives it a nice sweet taste. I enjoyed this recipe, thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Carrot and Ginger Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (301 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 163.1
     
    Calories from Fat 73
    45%
    Total Fat 8.1 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 4.2 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 20.6 mg
    6%
    Sodium 513.4 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.4 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 8.0 g
    32%
    Protein 5.7 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites