14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is not a thick soup but rather one that is good for a summer meal. We ended up grating cheese into it and it should be eaten with bread. Enjoyed by all.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Missy Wombat July 25, 2003

We have been making this soup now for years and I just realized that we've never posted a review. We absolutely love this soup. It's simple, it's delicious, good in all weather (especially nice in winter with toasted Italian bread loaf w/ melted cheese on top), we feel good about eating it and serving it to our kids. We love it so much that we make double, sometimes triple batches, and freeze the rest to take out (weekly in the winter). We double the broth, triple the onions and ginger, and use just over double the carrot amount. So, 12 c. of broth, 6 onions, 6 Tbs. grated ginger, 4lb. of carrots and we do 1/4c. butter with 1/4c. coconut oil. The most tedious part is peeling the 4 pounds of carrots. The onions I put into the food processor with the thickest slicer attachment (otherwise they're mush and don't cook nicely) so that makes quick work of those. We like to slightly caramelize the onions before adding in the ginger as well. Thanks for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
5 Mule Team June 27, 2013

I love this recipe, it is so fresh tasting! A great cream soup alternative which is elegant. I use olive oil rather than butter to make it even healthier, but have made it with butter (extra yum) for special occasions. Sometimes I use baby carrots and don't pre-slice, just make sure they are cooked until soft. Serve with a lime wedge to squeeze over just before eating for a real treat!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jdv March 25, 2010

WOW! This is fantastic soup. It is so easy to make. I chopped the onion by hand just to get it on the stove, but the ginger and the carrots I put into the food processor. They were both ready to go into the pot right on time. <br/><br/>The recipe is wonderful exactly as it is written. Next bowl I may try topping it with some hard grated cheese, as someone commented.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crisci November 22, 2014

I gave this recipe 5 stars because I really thought that the soup was very good in regard to the effort required to make it. Very simple. I made the soup exactly as is although I probably added a bit more ginger than called for. To serve, I floated a clementine slice in the bowl and it looked very nice and the small amount of orange added a subtle but very nice flavor to the soup. I must credit the poster that suggest lime for that idea.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yankeefan01 December 02, 2011

Very good. Very easy to make even when I realized I didn't have a peeler and had to peel the carrots with a parring knife. Very yummy.

This soup freezes very well!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
unicornbeauty September 28, 2010

This was yummy. I made a double batch and divided it up into single portions so that I could take it to work for lunch (heated up and served with bread and spread). I didn't use butter in the soup, instead I used a little sunflower oil. A keeper. Thank you:-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pearlesyarn February 28, 2009

This was very good! I was out of stock, so I tossed some chicken bouillon cubes into 6 c water . I also had to omit the onions, since one of my guests is allergic. However, she did give the go ahead to add onion powder, so I sprinkled that in liberally. It was easy and delicious, and I bet it can only be better with the onions (as I love them!) I cooked the carrots in advance, so as to avoid slicing them, and it worked wonderfully. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews September 27, 2008

Quick, simple and easy to prepare - doubled for church soup supper. Made it with veggie broth so all were so able to eat it. For the kids we called it "Ginger's Rabbit Food Soup" and they liked it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jib Spoon March 22, 2008

This is a great soup. Minor alterations - I added 2 packets of sugar twin and 1/2 tbsp. orange rind. I found that 2 tbsp. of fresh ginger was just a little too much, the taste was a touch strong. Very smooth and my guests enjoyed it. Thanks. Bangers n'Mash.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bangers n'Mash December 07, 2007
Carrot and Ginger Soup