Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Carrabba's Spicy Sicillian Chicken Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Carrabba's Spicy Sicillian Chicken Soup

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on January 15, 2012

      Delicious soup...so much so that 3 of my 4 kids took seconds! I halved the recipe and still have plenty of leftover (or to freeze for another meal). I used red potatoes, and cut out the bad spots but other than that left the peel on. I also used petite diced canned tomatoes, 3 chicken breasts and all canned chicken broth. I added appx 3/4 of a t of white pepper and 3/4 t black pepper while cooking and passed it at the table for those that like it spicier. After all the vegetables were sweated and the ingredients added, I cooked it in a crock pot on high for 2 hours and on low for another 4.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2011

      I am not easily impressed with soups. I was IMPRESSED with this recipe. It is SOUPER yummy with lots of flavor and very spicy. I will definitely put this recipe in my recipe box.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2013

      Amazing recipe, as soon as it's all gone, I'm craving more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2013

      Recipe measurement kind of stink. You end up estimating on most of the ingredients because the writer doesn't use exact measurements. The soup overflowed a 10 quart pot. Which should not have happend for a 12 serving recipe. <br/><br/> I ended up needing to cook this in my turkey roaster because it was just too big of a quantity. That being said I was planning on canning this, altered my method after discovering I didn't have enough jars to can it all. This is way more than 12 servings. Even if you are a big eater. <br/><br/>The original recipe has a whopping 135 carbs per bowl! So your going to need to make some changes to make this more healthy. Possibly scaling back the potatoes and the pasta might be a good choice. Also adding in some zucchini or maybe some kale. To loose some of the carbs in the potato's you could use turnips or even radishes. I've made this twice now so I feel comfortable enough to experiment with it.<br/><br/>I like hot stuff but there is way too much pepper in this. I made the full recipe as is. Unlike most of the people who made a half batch. This made 9 portions of soup and 4 1 gallon zip lock freezer bags full, It would be great for a party but the pepper will need to be scaled back significantly. Start off with one tablespoon let it cook and if you feel you need more spice add more 1 teaspoon at a time later. <br/><br/>The poor rating is due to poor measurements. Being almost inedible while following the exact instructions with all the pepper. If you find yourself in the same predicament with too much pepper lemon juice and sugar will help zap some out of the spice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2013

      I really enjoyed making this soup!! I cannot have gluten so in the last 15 minutes cooking time I added one cup of basmati rice instead if pasta. I cut the recipe down and used two chicken breasts and five chicken legs. Browned the legs in my pot before sweating the veggies. Took the bones out when shredding the chicken. I love the spicy peppery taste. This is the first time I've used white pepper and I'm in love!! Posted a pic, hope it's approved :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2013

      Very close to Carrabba's! I cut the recipe in half and cooked it in a crock pot. I used canned chicken broth and omitted the green peppers. I used chicken breasts and cut them into medium sized chunks. I used too much pepper for our taste, so for us it was very spicy. This may have been caused by using a fresh jar of Penzey's black pepper, so next time I will only use 1/2 tablespoon and may add more if needed when serving. The only thing that I am not sure about is the amount of calories (756) listed for a serving. This seems too high to me and hope there's a way for someone to verify it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2013

      This recipe was really good, but it makes a TON of soup! I had my crockpot and a pressure cooker pot FULL to the brim, and I think I even omitted a potato or two. Excellent flavor, though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2013

      I was a little skeptical about this recipe because I felt it might be lacking in spices. I was totally wrong. It is delicious just the way it is! I like a lot of pepper and didn't mind it being a bit spicy... but for those who don't, I'd suggest starting with 1/2 the pepper and adding more until it gets to the level of heat you enjoy. I cut the recipe in half and it made a big pot that fed my husband & I for several meals. I'll be making this recipe again & again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Carrabba's Spicy Sicillian Chicken Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (854 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 756.0
     
    Calories from Fat 74
    90%
    Total Fat 8.3 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 49.2 mg
    16%
    Sodium 712.8 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 129.3 g
    43%
    Dietary Fiber 11.9 g
    47%
    Sugars 19.2 g
    77%
    Protein 40.6 g
    81%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites