10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious soup...so much so that 3 of my 4 kids took seconds! I halved the recipe and still have plenty of leftover (or to freeze for another meal). I used red potatoes, and cut out the bad spots but other than that left the peel on. I also used petite diced canned tomatoes, 3 chicken breasts and all canned chicken broth. I added appx 3/4 of a t of white pepper and 3/4 t black pepper while cooking and passed it at the table for those that like it spicier. After all the vegetables were sweated and the ingredients added, I cooked it in a crock pot on high for 2 hours and on low for another 4.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4_6 January 15, 2012

I am not easily impressed with soups. I was IMPRESSED with this recipe. It is SOUPER yummy with lots of flavor and very spicy. I will definitely put this recipe in my recipe box.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pvink October 10, 2011

I have made this four times. Everyone lobed in our house. It make LOTS of soup, and we like having leftovers. It is better the second day, so if we have company, i make the day before, leave the ditalini out. I heat it up to sreve, and cook the pasta. We have even frozen it, and the kids loved it microwaved when my husband I left them with the sitter. A few days ago, Carraba's blog posted a recipe for this soup. I made BOTH yesterday, because we had company for the superbowl. This recipe is MUCH closer to what we get at our local Carraba's than the one on their blog! Maybe I missed something, but we will stick with this knockoff. Highly recommended. Cut recipe in half if you don't want leftovers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Notsno W. February 01, 2015

Omg i love this recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Edwin L. January 24, 2015

Amazing recipe, as soon as it's all gone, I'm craving more!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
R o b M. December 09, 2013

Recipe measurement kind of stink. You end up estimating on most of the ingredients because the writer doesn't use exact measurements. The soup overflowed a 10 quart pot. Which should not have happend for a 12 serving recipe. <br/><br/> I ended up needing to cook this in my turkey roaster because it was just too big of a quantity. That being said I was planning on canning this, altered my method after discovering I didn't have enough jars to can it all. This is way more than 12 servings. Even if you are a big eater. <br/><br/>The original recipe has a whopping 135 carbs per bowl! So your going to need to make some changes to make this more healthy. Possibly scaling back the potatoes and the pasta might be a good choice. Also adding in some zucchini or maybe some kale. To loose some of the carbs in the potato's you could use turnips or even radishes. I've made this twice now so I feel comfortable enough to experiment with it.<br/><br/>I like hot stuff but there is way too much pepper in this. I made the full recipe as is. Unlike most of the people who made a half batch. This made 9 portions of soup and 4 1 gallon zip lock freezer bags full, It would be great for a party but the pepper will need to be scaled back significantly. Start off with one tablespoon let it cook and if you feel you need more spice add more 1 teaspoon at a time later. <br/><br/>The poor rating is due to poor measurements. Being almost inedible while following the exact instructions with all the pepper. If you find yourself in the same predicament with too much pepper lemon juice and sugar will help zap some out of the spice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anomily the Kitchen Witch October 03, 2013

I really enjoyed making this soup!! I cannot have gluten so in the last 15 minutes cooking time I added one cup of basmati rice instead if pasta. I cut the recipe down and used two chicken breasts and five chicken legs. Browned the legs in my pot before sweating the veggies. Took the bones out when shredding the chicken. I love the spicy peppery taste. This is the first time I've used white pepper and I'm in love!! Posted a pic, hope it's approved :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kota V. September 25, 2013

Very close to Carrabba's! I cut the recipe in half and cooked it in a crock pot. I used canned chicken broth and omitted the green peppers. I used chicken breasts and cut them into medium sized chunks. I used too much pepper for our taste, so for us it was very spicy. This may have been caused by using a fresh jar of Penzey's black pepper, so next time I will only use 1/2 tablespoon and may add more if needed when serving. The only thing that I am not sure about is the amount of calories (756) listed for a serving. This seems too high to me and hope there's a way for someone to verify it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grgweede February 24, 2013

This recipe was really good, but it makes a TON of soup! I had my crockpot and a pressure cooker pot FULL to the brim, and I think I even omitted a potato or two. Excellent flavor, though!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sjm556 February 03, 2013

I was a little skeptical about this recipe because I felt it might be lacking in spices. I was totally wrong. It is delicious just the way it is! I like a lot of pepper and didn't mind it being a bit spicy... but for those who don't, I'd suggest starting with 1/2 the pepper and adding more until it gets to the level of heat you enjoy. I cut the recipe in half and it made a big pot that fed my husband & I for several meals. I'll be making this recipe again & again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise Richard January 08, 2013
Carrabba's Spicy Sicillian Chicken Soup