10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

very, very close to the actuall recipe. However, do not add the lemon butter sauce until the mussles are done, simply toss them in it at the end, otherwise, the sauce will break.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bobby bouche March 28, 2011

This recipe is absolutely delicious! I sauteed garlic and onions until clear and soft before adding mussels, but this recipe is spot on! I have even substituted fully cooked packaged/frozen mussels,still delicious and easy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janette B. September 11, 2014

We loved this but modified it slightly. I simmered the onion until transparent then added garlic before putting the mussels in. Then I added the lemon butter sauce at the end and only used about half of it. Yummmm!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NVirginian May 13, 2013

Hubby thought these were delicious and just like Carraba's. Thanks for sharing this great recipe. (I don't eat them )

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oceanmom June 03, 2012

My husband called it "Money" and was after dips in the sauce with bread before I could even serve this! It was a wonderful addition to the menu and was met with rave reviews from all!
I highly recommend this recipe, though I substituted pesto for the fresh basil. The pesto allowed for greater color and infusion of the seasonings. This will be a regular feature. Paired with drunken pasta, it was ideal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
monicann December 24, 2010

Come close???? I couldn't tell the difference between this and the restaurant, in fact at the restaurant I had to send these back a couple of times because I thought they undercooked them....at home they come out perfect every time!!! Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
albertthegator December 22, 2009

I liked this but I don't think that the cooking time was long enough. Only about a third of the mussels (and they were all alive!) opened after the cooking time. Then I turned up the heat for about 5 minutes and they all opened. Made for Spring PAC 2009. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nif April 08, 2009

I tried this recipe today and it is absolutely fantastic! Just like Carrabba's.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lili1 September 08, 2008

These were incredibly good. Loved the hint of licorice and the lemon butter sauce was sinful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iris5555 February 23, 2008

Every time I visit Carrabba's I get the Cozze Bianco. Since I love it so much I decided to try it at home and it tasted just like the mussels from Carrabba's. I’m not an experienced cooker and in fact I have just recently started to cook. The recipe was very easy to follow and easy to make. The only hard part is cleaning the mussels. It took a while to clean them which means my mussels were in cold water for way more than 8 minutes. I found that this was not an issue but I had also bought them fresh that day. My only other suggestion is to do double or triple the sauce. With what is stated it is hard to get enough for a ¾ cup. I made this recipe with a pound and half of mussels which is just right for two people. This also goes great with the Carrabba’s bread dip and with some addition of a nice white wine this makes a nice romantic dinner for two.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
young cook February 16, 2008
Carrabba's Mussels " Cozze Bianco"