48 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

After a little tweaking I have found a solution to the almost overpowering mayo flavor this dressing has the first day or 2. I always double the recipe. I use 3/4 cup mayo & 1/2 cup of buttermilk. I also add another 1/4 cup parmesan cheese after mixing. I leave the other ingredients as stated in the recipe. It makes the perfect dressing!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
unchelled August 07, 2011

This is the first time I have ever made my own salad dressing and it is so delicious! Plus super easy. I feel so fancy. I had it on a regular iceberg salad and so delish. Mine has thickened in the fridge being in there a couple days, so I could always just add a little buttermilk or milk to thin it out. It's a keeper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
My Sharona August 04, 2010

You are forgetting the 3 most important ingredients that give this dressing it's kick: terragon, white wine and anchovies (YES, anchovies!) As far as the amounts, you'll have to play around with it. My BF used to work there and told me the recipe, but I lost the paper it was written on.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1013066 November 03, 2008

The only problem with this recipe is that it makes only one cup. It is so delicious that you should really double, if not triple, it! I put everything in the blender and it was lovely. Make sure you try this

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lutie August 11, 2007

Just looking at the recipe I thought it would be just ho hum. But when I made it it was anything but so I had to give it the 5 stars. Fresh tasting cheesy lemony and better the next day. I used dried parsley as that is what I had and I thinned it just a little more with buttermilk (the real stuff) as it was just a little too thick for us. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jockey June 30, 2006

YUM YUM, Love it, and its quick n easy to make

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
secretasiandan007 June 10, 2012

This was a very good base recipe. I felt it needed a little more umph. So I fiddled with it and added a little extra lemon juice; and approximately a tsp each or so of hickory farms sweet hot mustard and worcestershire sauce and few dashes hot sauce, natures seasonings and black pepper. And now I love it even more. I doubt I will ever buy store bought again. And next time will definitely double or triple the recipe. And did I mention how easy it is to throw together? It also tastes better the next day when the flavors have had a chance to meld together.Thank you so much for posting this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doni B March 12, 2012

I really wanted to like this, but mine tasted like mayo even after a couple days in the fridge. Fun to give it a try though, just wasn't for us. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview July 05, 2011

This tasted better the a couple days after I made it..really good! I love garlic, so I put mine through a garlic press to measure the amount. It was so simple, I will be making this one all the time! Thanks for posting :) (I also used tsp dried parsley instead)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweetcakes May 20, 2011

I used the blender, and used my "low pulse setting ... it did thicken as I left it in the fridge for about 2 hours, however it tasted like pure mayonnaise ... not tasty at all

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amri92 May 19, 2011
Carrabba's House Salad Dressing (Creamy Parmesan) by Todd Wilbur